We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable”
Review of The Grove

The Grove
Reserve with OpenTable
The Grove is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 84 Restaurants in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$47
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly enjoyable”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Alright, it's not Michelin star but then neither are the prices. We had three course dinner as part of an extended winter accommodation deal - bed, breakfast and evening meal for £150 which was extremely good value. An excellent menu, locally sourced where possible, beautifully cooked, well presented and a small but carefully selected wine list. We could not fault the service either so, all in all, highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnIP31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegrovecromer, Owner at The Grove, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hello John

Many thanks for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed both your dinner and your stay. Our dinner bed and breakfast rate has been very popular and happily everyone who has taken advantage of it has been delighted.

Best wishes and we look forward to seeing you again.

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    43
    27
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north walsham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Easter Disappointment”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Most Sunday's we go out for lunch, and over the years have tried lots of different places, and had lots of really lovely experiences. This weekend we tried the Grove at Cromer as we have never visited before. We arrived twenty minutes early and asked if we could have a drink at the bar, and we were shown into a lounge that was very dated, after a while we were bought a glass of sparkling wine, followed by a a pre starter, that was just put in front of us with no explanation of what it was . We then had to ask if we could have a beer, and we're served two beers, after placing our order, twice we were asked if we wanted to go to our table, despite us asking if we could finish our drinks, we gave in, and were shown to our table.
Then we waited for twenty minutes for our starter to arrive, also we had to ask twice for the wine list. As for the food, I had a goats cheese tart ,which was average, and my partner had quail ,which was over cooked and bland, both were served with red cabbage, for mains I had belly of pork which was again over cooked and chewy,and my partner had sea bass and monkfish, the sea bass was fried on both sides, so there was very little flesh, it was more like a crisp, and greasy, both mains were again served with red cabbage, other guests were also making comments about red cabbage being served with whatever meal was ordered.
We ordered summer pudding and apple and cinnamon tart for desert, and they were ok, nothing exceptional, the meal itself was £33 per head, and including the wine and two beers,the total came to over £90, this was really expensive for what we received, and the overall experience was not a good one. We will not be returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegrovecromer, Owner at The Grove, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hello Steve

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your time with us. Charlie and myself have gone through the service with the staff involved as you can imagine.

I'm happy to report that all the other diners for Easter Sunday lunch complimented us on both the food and the service, which of course doesn't alleviate your concerns however.

Best wishes

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Accomodation, staff and food”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have just returned from a weekend at The Grove. We are 6 adults (3couples) and 3 dogs. We stayed in the barn, which was warm and cosy with comfortable beds and living space. The grounds are lovely with an indoor pool and games room. The beach and Cromer town centre are a short walk away. We ate in the restaurant one night and had breakfast there the last morning. The food was amazing, we could have eaten there for days such was the variety, and the quality was excellent. The staff were really lovely, especially Beth and Richard. The atmosphere is laid back and friendly but the quality and the service is first class. We are looking through our diaries to return...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegrovecromer, Owner at The Grove, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hello Annette

Thank you for leaving such a kind review and it was a pleasure to have you and your friends with us last weekend.

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us; we do have a steady stream of guests from our barn conversions come into the restaurant and it is a nice alternative to self catering sometimes.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Very best wishes

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Family get together”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We had a wonderful meal on Saturday 15 March at The Grove. The food was delicious, the staff friendly and attentive and the ambience amazing. There was a good choice of wines at competitive prices.There were eight of us altogether and everyone said what a lovely evening it had been. I'm sure we will return when we stay in Cromer again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank symmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegrovecromer, Owner at The Grove, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hello from the Grove

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We do like having large parties in for dinner and I know that all the staff very much enjoyed having your group in.

Charlie sources our wines from two local vinters, Peter Graham and Blaise Le Mesurier, and we are delighted with what they have found in their cellars for us.

We would love to see you again when you are next in the area - please do give us a call!

Best wishes

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb!!!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My wife and I had lunch at The Grove, delightful setting, welcoming dining room and the food was exceptional. Steak cooked to mouth watering perfection, simply stunning!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kent_Laws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegrovecromer, Owner at The Grove, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hello Kent

It was kind of you to leave such a nice review and the staff and I are very appreciative of your nice words. We get all of our steak from Icarus Hines and we do receive plenty of compliments, which just goes to show how good local butchers can be.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grove also viewed

 

Been to The Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing