We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, Spotless Hotel and didnt want to leave.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cliftonville Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We booked 3 nights over the valentines weekend in a standard double room and got one of the best rooms we ve ever had and lucky enough to get one with the round turret so view was spectacular, en suite was huge.
Bed and bedding immaculate and very comfortable, staff were extrememly friendly and helpful and food was excellent.
The front of house manager should be on the stage, hilariously funny guy.
Down side if any was the first mornings full english where the bacon and sausage were overcooked and dry, however the second morning we asked for them both to be cooked less and the reaction to our request was very obliging and the result was perfect.
If you dont tell them something is wrong they cant correct it.
Will definately recommend to family, friends etc and will return without a doubt.

Room Tip: We had room 23 which I maybe shouldnt tell anyone cos I dont want to loose it when I book next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2012

One of many hotels that have stayed in the past. We had a double room on the front over looking the sea. Nothing wrong with the accomadation however what was ok in 1960 is not what we expect today. Room was small but adequate. The bathroom was clean but needed updating.
Main dinning room was wonderful and the breakfast very good.
The bistro provided an enjoyable meal.

Room Tip: Sea view good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Probably our 6th visit so you can guess we like it! The Cliftonville has great views over the sea and bags of charicter. It's a family run hotel and the staff are so friendly and helpful - they actualy want you to feel at home and this is reflected at all levels from 'Owners to "odd-job" man.
The food is excellant - good coice and no stinting on quantity.

Room Tip: Look at the website and check that you are getting a good sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gradedgrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed there last August (2011), Carnival week. When our WC became blocked we were given another room ( very close by) to spend one night while the WC was attended to (didn't have to move our belongings) and when the problem couldn't be solved, moved lock, stock and barrel to a very nice family room, with no extra charge. The staff couldn't have been more acommodationg, and all with very good grace. Top class customer service. Car parking a bit limited in high season, although in the three years we have stayed there I've never had problem finding space, but there is a pay carpark closeby. Very accommodating for families with children, even very young ones. Will certainly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: My advice is to tell the hotel what you want and they will try to meet your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at this lovely hotel from 29 December 2011-1 January 2012 . The young man on reception was a model of how to welcome guests. Polite, helpful and patient. In fact all the staff were attentive, friendly and offered superb service. The food was good and on New Year's Eve it was magnificent. The rooms were clean and comfortable and my only gripe was that the tv was too small. That aside I would recommend anyone to visit this charming place which is full of character and where everyone, from the front desk to the cleaning staff goes out of their way to make you feel that you are indeed 'a guest'

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Nice location not far from the centre of Cromer. Room was very clean and comfortable, but what what really sets this hotel apart is the staff. Very amicable at check-in and the girl at breakfast was very amiable too.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank London_boy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This lovely Edwardian hotel is one of those conundrums; it looks good, but potential ruined by the operators. We stayed here on the nights of 30 September and 1 October, as Cromer was where we happened to arrive at lunchtime on a very hot late autumn day and the hotel had a commanding view out over the channel which we thought was lovely. The young woman who checked us in was very professional and helpful but from then on it was all downhill.

Our first night was in a nice room but we had to move out on the second day as the room (#4) was pre-booked for the next night, which was fine, we could understand that. We were also shown the room we would move into which was #24.

For the same £150 we moved into a much smaller sized room (#9) with a King-single bed that would sleep one person but not both of us. The lady on reception essentially told us that she had so many people waiting for rooms that we could take it or leave it. I queried the same price for the two extremely different sized rooms. We should have left it but after travelling through Europe for over 7 weeks, we were in need of a nice restful couple of days before moving on to a self-catering apartment in Aldeburgh. Then we waited in limbo, from 9am until 2pm without a room and then my husband had to ask where our luggage had got to. Being registered guests without a room for over 5 hours we thought was extremely presumptious on the part of the management.

I had my laptop with me and checked the rates and found that they were meant to change on October 1, and as we hadn’t been told this, the lady at the desk indicated that we could have a reduction of £20 on the 3rd night which was the 2nd of October. Prices varied Cliftonville's website. I don’t know if this is legal when prices on the internet vary from reception.

Our first room Number 4 was large and spacious with two single beds together in European style and our second #9 more like a box room with a King Single bed. My husband got pillows from the conference room and slept on the floor as the bed was so narrow. All these issues don’t equate to a £150 room anywhere in the world no matter what the view. At £150 it was puzzling that there was such a variable difference in sizing of rooms and we wondered how management could justify this.

TV reception was extremely poor on a tiny little screen on a very old fashioned TV, and the loo packed up and needed a manager to come up and give something in the cistern a good bang.

The food in Bolton’s Bistro was bland, unimaginative and poorly cooked …an example was the lobster swimming in fatty cheese sauce, which we just couldn’t eat.

This hotel may fulfil needs of a target British clientele, but why should they suffer expensive prices and poor food, just “because”. Time to get your act together Cliftonville Hotel and truthfully reflect those three stars.

Room Tip: Number 4 is a very nice room which you should be happy with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Viaggio46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
1.1 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
759 reviews
0.6 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
363 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
530 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
4.5 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliftonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliftonville Hotel

Address: Seafront 29 Runton Road, Cromer NR27 9AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range: £126 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliftonville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliftonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliftonville Hotel Cromer
The Cliftonville Hotel Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing