We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cliftonville Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Called in after 8pm on Good Friday evening to see if a room was available and was thrilled to get an executive room at standard room price. Room was spacious and well equiped for this standard of hotel. The real surprise was the excellent quality of food in the brasserie and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Will plan to stay here the next time I visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

Although the Hotel is an excellent one, with great views at the front, excellent better quality larger rooms, a very good service there are two things that spoilt the experience of Half Board and these were as follows:-
1/ When ordering the Roast Beef for Sunday evening dinner it was served with NO roast potatoes. When this subject was brought up it was stated that they were available at lunchtime but not in the evening - WHY? I ordered the Roast Lamb on the Tuesday and, yes you may have guessed it, no roast potatoes again!!!
2/ As my wife and I were at the seaside we, of course, settled for the fish and chips on the Friday and, unfortunately, we discovered that this was the worst meal of the week as it was more batter than fish (which was not identified) and the chips were very nondescript.
However apart from these irksome details the food was usually of excellent quality.

Room Tip: Take the corner suite on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I am appalled that the previous rather dubious review has been allowed; to say it is inaccurate in every sense would be an understatement.
I have stayed and eaten at the Cliftonville more times than I can remember; and I have never had a room that is not immaculately clean and very well presented and I can assure you there certainly is no smell of damp or anything similar. The food is of the highest quality and the staff the most helpful and efficient.
I have recommended the Cliftonville to many people and not one of them has ever been disapointed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherryH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We booked 3 nights over the valentines weekend in a standard double room and got one of the best rooms we ve ever had and lucky enough to get one with the round turret so view was spectacular, en suite was huge.
Bed and bedding immaculate and very comfortable, staff were extrememly friendly and helpful and food was excellent.
The front of house manager should be on the stage, hilariously funny guy.
Down side if any was the first mornings full english where the bacon and sausage were overcooked and dry, however the second morning we asked for them both to be cooked less and the reaction to our request was very obliging and the result was perfect.
If you dont tell them something is wrong they cant correct it.
Will definately recommend to family, friends etc and will return without a doubt.

Room Tip: We had room 23 which I maybe shouldnt tell anyone cos I dont want to loose it when I book next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

One of many hotels that have stayed in the past. We had a double room on the front over looking the sea. Nothing wrong with the accomadation however what was ok in 1960 is not what we expect today. Room was small but adequate. The bathroom was clean but needed updating.
Main dinning room was wonderful and the breakfast very good.
The bistro provided an enjoyable meal.

Room Tip: Sea view good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Probably our 6th visit so you can guess we like it! The Cliftonville has great views over the sea and bags of charicter. It's a family run hotel and the staff are so friendly and helpful - they actualy want you to feel at home and this is reflected at all levels from 'Owners to "odd-job" man.
The food is excellant - good coice and no stinting on quantity.

Room Tip: Look at the website and check that you are getting a good sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gradedgrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed there last August (2011), Carnival week. When our WC became blocked we were given another room ( very close by) to spend one night while the WC was attended to (didn't have to move our belongings) and when the problem couldn't be solved, moved lock, stock and barrel to a very nice family room, with no extra charge. The staff couldn't have been more acommodationg, and all with very good grace. Top class customer service. Car parking a bit limited in high season, although in the three years we have stayed there I've never had problem finding space, but there is a pay carpark closeby. Very accommodating for families with children, even very young ones. Will certainly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: My advice is to tell the hotel what you want and they will try to meet your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
1.1 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
774 reviews
0.6 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
534 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
0.0 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliftonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliftonville Hotel

Address: Seafront 29 Runton Road, Cromer NR27 9AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range: £126 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliftonville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliftonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliftonville Hotel Cromer
The Cliftonville Hotel Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing