We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced with very poor rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cliftonville Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Don't normally write reviews but this hotel is completely overpriced for the standard of room on offer for £150. This is good example of poor British hotel hospitality how can the owners think the tired decor is acceptable for the price!

Bathroom especially poor terrible shower

Not recommend im afraid I shall not be returning

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Psilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

very nice lunch, loved the sweet and it was good value. the tables were well set apart and service was really nice. nice atmosphere and reception helpful and happy. the only gripe is that although the silver service is nice, they could have left the veg at the table in case we wanted more (we did)

Room Tip: the hotel is very nice, in the old style but has a brasserie
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterattwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I had one night here as I toured around with my dog, booked using 'laterooms'. Lovely staff, hotel is in a great location right on the sea. I'd asked for a quiet room so I escaped some of the traffic noise (it's quite a busy promenade road) but I still got the promised sea view from my bed. Room was fine - fairly compact but well equipped. And it's so lovely to walk straight out onto the prom and sands before breakfast. I wouldn't go there for a romantic break, but as a stop on my solo tour with Barney-the-dog, it worked extremely well.

Room Tip: I think I would want to be higher up than first floor if I went back again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anonNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

It was our first time at the hotel.Our room was spacious with sea view and comforably furnished.
TheStaff were very friendly and attentive.
The Menu was very varied with fresh local vegetables and sea food

Room Tip: room 34 with 180 degree sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hovis2239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the end of May and enjoyed every minute.
Our room overlooked the sea and was clean and comfortable, although I did have a bit of a problem with the shower.
All the staff were friendly, polite, attentive and competant.
The meals were delicious and filling, and the service was helpful and attentive without being obtrusive.
We will go again - a great place to relax.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We visited for one night in May, and were surprised by how consistently cheerful and helpful all the staff were. Clearly the owners of the family run hotel were about as even they came over at one point to ensure we were enjoying our stay.
We had planned to go out in Cromer for dinner, but the food in the Bistro looked so nice (and it was clearly popular) we decided to stay, and it proved to be the right choice. When asked, our waiter recommended some absolutely delicious dishes, and even the wine and dessert were lovely. We had Mackerel paté, Cromer Crab, Roast Duck d'Orange and Hake (so fresh they hadn't had time to add it to the menu).
Breakfast (included in the B&B rate) was also delicious... you can tell that the hotel uses good quality local ingredients.
The room itself was lovely (44), spacious, sea view, and clean. The water pressure for the shower was a bit pathetic, but still good enough to shower in.

We honestly couldn't have asked for more, and left feeling more like we had spent a night with friends than in a hotel. Lovely staff, great food, and the lovely relaxing surroundings of Cromer to enjoy.

Room Tip: Room 44 is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjg101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a group booking and from the minate we arrived, the service was excellent. all the rooms that we had booked had sea views and the qualityof the rooms was first class. Our meals were very good quality. The service through out all the meals was exceptional.All the staff were very helpfull and friendly and they always had a smile for you.We all enjoyed our stay, we have booked again for next year.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geofftvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
1.1 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
811 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
802 reviews
0 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
700 reviews
8.5 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
971 reviews
2 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliftonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliftonville Hotel

Address: Seafront 29 Runton Road, Cromer NR27 9AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range: £111 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliftonville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliftonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliftonville Hotel Cromer
The Cliftonville Hotel Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing