We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliftonville Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing Stay”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My wife and I decided to have a two night break here just after the Christmas holiday. We had stayed here previously and really enjoyed the experience. However, this time we were dismayed to discover that the hotel seemed to be rather rundown since we last visited. The carpet of our room was old and worn, the bed cover was stained with, presumably coffee and the shower head caked in black mould.
Our breakfasts' were not as we had received previously and feel mightily disappointed by the whole experience, it is unlikely that we would stay here again until major renovation works have been carried out and more consideration given to the breakfast menu.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for your thoughts. Since your last stay with us we have started a full refurbishment of all the rooms and far way through. We have had new carpets laid and new bed linens and complete redecoration. We are hoping to be more modern but keeping our traditional style.
I apologise regarding your disappointment with breakfast. We do have a varied selection of hot and cold breakfast food cooked freshly to order along with a full continental option. I would be happy to discuss this further with you if you could give me a call as we always strive to improve our standards and service. I do hope that you will visit us again but thank you for taking the time to write your review we are always happy to received honest feedback. Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    148
    61
    27
    20
See reviews for
88
214
29
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The hotel is Edwardian in age. The hotel has a formal restaurant, a bistro and bar snacks. the hotel welcomes everybody and the food is good. The hotel is not snobbish. I stayed there once, and have eaten there on many occasions. Rooms are comfortable but a bit basic, not ultra 5 star,but warm and adequate. The road traffic can disturb sleep asthe hotel is located on a hill. (Cars rev upto ascend the hill).

Room Tip: Get a room high up for the best seas views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Rooms clean and decorated to a very good standard. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good restaurant and bar area. Great central location. Close to the town, beach and pier. Parking available. All rooms face the sea and pier.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stayed here April 2013. Nice hotel, pleasant staff, couldn't really fault it apart from the lack of atmosphere in the bar. Definitely needs a tv or some background music to liven the place up a bit. Room was as expected, sea view etc. Price was fair, so all in all it deserves a 4 rating.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveb182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northants
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This was our first visit to Cromer and we selected the Cliftonville after reading about it on the Cromer website. Most of the positive reviews are spot on,yes it is expensive we paid £210 for two nights B&B in March with drinks and a food bill of £123 added to that. But despite the expense we felt we just about got value for money. The food in the Bistro was first class, a different menu each night. The local Brancaster mussels were quite superb as was the lamb and Sea Bass although the Dover Sole was slightly spoiled by the use of copious amounts of butter. Breakfast was lovely and all the food was served on hot plates and was delicious. The staff were magnificent helpful, polite and friendly they were a real plus mark for the hotel. Our room was on the second floor and had a lovely view. The room was fairly basic but did have a couple of flaws. The bed was uncomfortable, the bathroom a little tardy a broken window, grouting missing and scuffed paintwork and a shower that was lovely and hot but a devil to turn off. But on the plus side it was clean, very warm and lovely and cosy. For us the charm of the Cliftonville was its staff and the atmosphere which was very relaxing, yes it is a little expensive but for us we had a really nice couple of days with superb food, excellent service and lovely experience and a place we will stay in again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank after8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Having booked for the above evening we were unsure what to expect given we werent staying at this hotel (we were staying outside of Cromer). We need not have worried! The staff are a credit to the hotel; friendly, professional and even wearing red tombola hats and matching waistcoats.

The room for the venue was a tad large given there were only 22 diners but the food and soloist made up for this airy space. Our table was well presented with streamers, balloons and red serviettes as well as our menu choice nicely placed with two love hearts. The food was exceptional ... good quality and plenty of it ... to my husbands delight!

We cant praise this hotel highly enough ... yes its dated given today is very much on the contemporary but sometimes old values are the best along with politeness and helpness from the staff. We will certainly be booking to stay here next time we visit Cromer!
Well Done to everyone involved with the Valentine's Dinner Dance ... not your fault numbers were low!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RozBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

What a fantastic night away at this hotel out of season. The sign says "well behaved children and dogs welcome". We had a big room for my wife and I, two children and two Cocker Spaniels. Lots to eat, and lots of nice walks along the beach. The restaurant catered for us all both evening meal and breakfast - if anything too much!!! The dogs loved their Roast chicken Vegetables with Gravy!!!

We will go back again and do not believe all the notes on here. Yes the hotel is a bit dated in places but not unclean at all.

The staff are lovely.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
1.1 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
722 reviews
0.6 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
0.4 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
716 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliftonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliftonville Hotel

Property: The Cliftonville Hotel
Address: Seafront 29 Runton Road, Cromer NR27 9AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliftonville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliftonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliftonville Hotel Cromer
The Cliftonville Hotel Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing