We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Cromer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliftonville Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Old World Cromer”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Must have been a fantastic place in its hey day, but a little tired around the edges now, with just a lack of thought in any of its refurbishment of bedrooms or maybe money? Wasn't keen on the idea of dogs being allowed in (daft idea!) and sure enough, when I booked in, there was a barking dog at reception! I have never been able to fathom out the 'take a dog on holiday' mentality, surely a kennels is more appropriate? That way normal people wouldn't have to put up with them on the promenade etc. The Brasserie was too expensive and only average in quality, but I found this with Cromer in general; it seems, as a holiday resort, to think that it can charge the earth for food and this is all very odd! Bar was okay, but no great choice of beer. Staff were all top rate and welcoming, professional and they all seemed happy and more importantly as a British guest, they all were English, whereas many other hotels fall into the Eastern European trap, which denies the locals employment. I liked the hotel, but my room, despite having a great sea view, was very noisy, with traffic and the shower-room was dark and had an odd smell! All in all, an old hotel, with a lot of charm, looking a bit tatty and worn, but with fabulous staff, but a bit pricey to book full price.

Room Tip: If you book a sea view, go for a high floor, as the main road to Hunstanton runs outside and can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK-Hospitality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    149
    61
    27
    20
See reviews for
88
214
30
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

A gem of a hotel on the north Norfolk coast.

Yes it's true. It is old fashioned but what is wrong with that? The staff are all friendly. Great bar man who takes pride in his clean pipes and serves the best pint in Cromer.

I stayed on 2 occasions in 2 different rooms, a double and a single, both were clean tidy and well kept. Big enough for 1 or 2 people. Tv with free view and wait for it....plugs by the bed!!!!!

Breakfast was great, a bit of self service plus cooked (full English, veg English, fish....) ordered and cooked fresh.

Good prices and amazing location.

There is no reason what so ever not to book here

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrandkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review of our Hotel. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your visits to Cromer and have had great pleasure in passing on your comments to the staff, particularly the barman!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOWIE
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My mum and i really enjoyed our short break at this hotel.
The rooms were nicely decorated and the sea views were spectacular.
Restaurants and bars serve food til late and the breakfast is really good value.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and the fellow guests were all friendly and enjoying their stay.
Excellent value an dyes i will return.

Room Tip: Pets and well behaved children are welcome Good car park too Close to town and facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TowieTips4Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We've just returned from a blissful 3 night stay for our anniversary. Th

Our room number 34 was on the third floor ... so the lift was welcomed. On entering into our room we were greeted with a basket of flowers (stunning), a box of dairy box, bottle of white wine and a mascot from their restaurant Bolton's Restaurant. How lovely!

This hotel has a world of charm and is somewhat dated but scores on their friendliness and superb sea views. Yes, this isnt your usual boutique hotel but actually liked the fact it was stuck in a time zone for a change. The staff were more than friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

The sea views, which of an evening were breathtaking as the sunset made up for the the dated facilities and in need of modernising.

The breakfast for us, was dissappointing. A bowl of prunes, grapefruit or cereal boxes! There was no pastries or yogurt out or neither a bin to put your cereal rubbish. The cooked breakfast was the winner ... always piping hot and sausages to die for! Plenty of juices to choose from along with tea/coffee. Breakfast was an early riser for us as M-S you had to be down there by 9.30 and Sundays by 10.00 ... when you work hard all week we would have liked a 10.30/11 cut off!

For us, we did like its charm and so much could be done with the hotel to bring it into the 21st century but sympathetically. Old antique furniture and luxury bedrooms would see the clientelle change from the average age at the moment being 75+.

Would we go back ... probably not. We like our modern facilities where theres the use of a power shower and not a drizzle out of a hose, and a mattress that had more springs poking through that you dare not more!

We had an enjoyable stay were location and ease of parking and a stones throw from the beach make this hotel an ideal stayover. It suited us for a change this time but would definately book back at the Red Lion.

Room Tip: Room 34 has lovely sea views but low ceiling leading down the corridor to the ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RozBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for your latest review of your stay with us.

We are so pleased you appreciated the complimentary gifts following your previous generous review.

We are delighted you feel the staff are friendly and attentive but concerned you found the breakfast disappointing. As you quite rightly say the breakfasts are cooked to order and we only use local produce. We have had no other complaints regarding the opening hours of the breakfast restaurant.

We are an Edwardian Hotel and, therefore, do try to maintain the original features. We are currently undergoing a full refurbishment programme of the bedrooms whilst keeping the traditional style and charm and enjoy welcoming regular clientele back to Cromer.

We are pleased you enjoyed the location of the Hotel with its glorious sea views.

Thank you once again for your throughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Felt a little nervous staying with our two dogs but didn't need to. The staff couldn't have been more dog friendly. Our dogs were treated like kings. This is the only time I have seen a dog menu in which we had to choose our dogs evenng meal. They opted for a roast dinner. We could eat in the bar area with them which was lovely, light and comfortable. This is a family run hotel. You can tell as it is very personal amd has an old world charm. Food was very reasonably priced and nice. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front for a lovely view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review of our Hotel.
We are delighted that your dogs felt they were treated like Kings!
As you say we pride ourselves in being 'dog friendly' and we are very grateful for your kind words.

We provide a dog's meal so they enjoy their stay with us too!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We chose this hotel initially because dogs were welcome! Sandy our Jack Russell had and evening meal and a blanket was provided for her. From the minute we walked into the hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful, Our room was clean, comfortable, breakfast was lovely. We would stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 1st floor, but there's a lift so views were good, but probably better on 2nd or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hilary823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted that you and your Sandy enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel. The staff are all very friendly, it's nice to get decent customer service for a change and find a Hotel with local people running things. Everywhere is clean and tidy, rooms and décor are a little dated, but that's what we expected. Food was of a good standard throughout. Convenient parking at the Hotel, great sea views, just the right location for walking into town or along the promenade.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you so much for your kind remarks. We do pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service at all times and thank you for your review. We are currently undertaking a full refurbishment of our Bedrooms as you will see from the more recent photographs.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Cliftonville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
1.1 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
724 reviews
0.6 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
348 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
596 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
18.7 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliftonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliftonville Hotel

Property: The Cliftonville Hotel
Address: Seafront 29 Runton Road, Cromer NR27 9AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliftonville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Cliftonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliftonville Hotel Cromer
The Cliftonville Hotel Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing