We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHORT BREAK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliftonville Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SHORT BREAK”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

we booked for three nights but stayed 2, £150 per night is a very high price for a basically run down hotel, I suggest management spot check room cleanliness, ours was not clean, thick dust, dirty mirrors very uncomfortable beds . on a plus food good in Bistro, staff very friendly

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marion o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are currently underdoing a complete refurbishment of all our rooms and continually updating the decoration. We would love to welcome you back to The Cliftonville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    142
    56
    27
    20
See reviews for
84
200
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
peterborogh
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed for 2 days the food was very nice the staff are really nice and good fun.
the bed is not really very soft and the room well very clean but looked tired needs redecorating nice bright colours bed covers old worn I know you don't want to lose the old world charm!! but things do need to be bright and inviting! the bathroom was ok but we had a crow nesting just outside the window not very nice sorry about this review but it has to be said I am sure I will go again but not just yet .keep upgrading its the only way.ps the TVs are to small

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nanajo560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I stayed one night in what was described as an Executive Single room. This was a large room that had been divided in half so was long and narrow with only a small gap between the end of the bed and the wall. That wouldn't have mattered until I discovered that the bed was only 5' 9" long and I am 5' 9" tall so spent the night trying to avoid my feet hanging over the end of the bed. The length of the bed wasn't mentioned on booking. The room was clean and if the bed had been long enough, it would have been comfortable, with a view over the bay. It was just as well the heating was on as it was a cold day for June and there were gaps in the windows causing a draught.
The dining experience was depressing. I was shown to a table in an almost empty restaurant behind the door when there were several empty tables in pleasant positions in window bays. When I asked for one of these it was grudgingly agreed to. The food was very nice although not much in the way of locally sourced fish. The whole thing was grossly overpriced when compared to the accommodation I stayed in during the rest of my stay.

Room Tip: Check the length of the bed! Looking from the outside, higher rooms seem to have UPVC double glazed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are currently undergoing a complete refurbishment of the Hotel and will take your comments on board. With regard to the pricing, the prices are in line with the standard prices in Cromer. Thank you for your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We traveled from London to this special place and found it to be excellent! The hotel transports you back in time. The interior is just lovely with all of the stained glass and woodwork. The room itself was gorgeous - with a window overlooking the North Sea. Very clean with nice bedding. The beds were rather hard but have found that to be true in most UK hotels. The room was very quiet. I loved, loved that it actually had a real room key! We ate at the Bistro and found the food to be absolutely wonderful and the service to be impeccable. Loved Miles the host at the Bistro. Strongly recommend this place if you want a lovely weekend in a real place. The service was wonderful at the front desk as well. We called and they actually held a room for us without a credit card as a guarantee!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeananne56132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Must have been a fantastic place in its hey day, but a little tired around the edges now, with just a lack of thought in any of its refurbishment of bedrooms or maybe money? Wasn't keen on the idea of dogs being allowed in (daft idea!) and sure enough, when I booked in, there was a barking dog at reception! I have never been able to fathom out the 'take a dog on holiday' mentality, surely a kennels is more appropriate? That way normal people wouldn't have to put up with them on the promenade etc. The Brasserie was too expensive and only average in quality, but I found this with Cromer in general; it seems, as a holiday resort, to think that it can charge the earth for food and this is all very odd! Bar was okay, but no great choice of beer. Staff were all top rate and welcoming, professional and they all seemed happy and more importantly as a British guest, they all were English, whereas many other hotels fall into the Eastern European trap, which denies the locals employment. I liked the hotel, but my room, despite having a great sea view, was very noisy, with traffic and the shower-room was dark and had an odd smell! All in all, an old hotel, with a lot of charm, looking a bit tatty and worn, but with fabulous staff, but a bit pricey to book full price.

Room Tip: If you book a sea view, go for a high floor, as the main road to Hunstanton runs outside and can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK-Hospitality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

A gem of a hotel on the north Norfolk coast.

Yes it's true. It is old fashioned but what is wrong with that? The staff are all friendly. Great bar man who takes pride in his clean pipes and serves the best pint in Cromer.

I stayed on 2 occasions in 2 different rooms, a double and a single, both were clean tidy and well kept. Big enough for 1 or 2 people. Tv with free view and wait for it....plugs by the bed!!!!!

Breakfast was great, a bit of self service plus cooked (full English, veg English, fish....) ordered and cooked fresh.

Good prices and amazing location.

There is no reason what so ever not to book here

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrandkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review of our Hotel. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your visits to Cromer and have had great pleasure in passing on your comments to the staff, particularly the barman!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOWIE
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My mum and i really enjoyed our short break at this hotel.
The rooms were nicely decorated and the sea views were spectacular.
Restaurants and bars serve food til late and the breakfast is really good value.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and the fellow guests were all friendly and enjoying their stay.
Excellent value an dyes i will return.

Room Tip: Pets and well behaved children are welcome Good car park too Close to town and facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TowieTips4Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cromer hotels
1.1 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
681 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
686 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#6 of 7 in Cromer
301 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliftonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliftonville Hotel

Property: The Cliftonville Hotel
Address: Seafront 29 Runton Road, Cromer NR27 9AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliftonville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliftonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliftonville Hotel Cromer
The Cliftonville Hotel Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing