We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired old building with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cliftonville Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Tired old building with great staff”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

At first sight the hotel looks shabby so the lavish art nouveau reception was a welcome surprise, this must have been special once upon a time, that had faded but not been quite extinguished. The receptionist too harked back to an earlier time and was absolutely charming and welcoming, indeed all the staff were first class.

Nothing gets away though from the hotel being run down. For one night the small single was adequate – it had a sea view, a shower room, a little wardrobe and a tiny table, but the only place to sit was on the bed. The room had been updated, though in a very basic fashion, the art nouveau stopped at the top of the stairs. At least, at half the price of the double, it was far better priced than it would be in most hotels.

However prices are high…..an executive double here is £190 a night, while a few miles along the coast at the Victoria at Holkham, which at least looks top class, charges only £10 more, Wells too looked far more attractive than did Cromer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your review. As you quite rightly say the Hotel is an old building and as such requires continual refurbishment. As you say, we are currently updating the bedrooms and the Hotel is undergoing a full refurbishment programme. Your comments are very welcome as we always strive to provide excellent value. I also thank you for your comments with regard to the staff who pride themselves in providing excellent customer services. Our charges are in line with the standard Cromer Prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    151
    61
    27
    21
See reviews for
91
217
30
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We both needed a break from the stress of life. On a whim we decided on a weekend by the sea. I wanted to see the sea and all the rooms in the Cliftonville offered sea views, this was my number one priority. My number two priority was character, presuming that any hotel has the necessities for a good night's sleep.
I found both in the Cliftonville. The hotel is located perfectly for sea views and convenience to the amenities of Cromer. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. The Edwardian building had all the character I needed and the welcome friendly and efficient. Breakfast was perfect and not one of the staff let us down.
We had a wonderful stress free weekend and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your short break with us and look forward to welcoming back to the Cliftonville again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I have just returned from a short break and it coudn't have been more pleasant. My single executive room was large and very clean with excellent fresh looking decoration.
The hotel's Edwardian vestibule was really welcoming, as were all of the staff.
Breakfast was excellent and there was even gluten-free toast which, I being a Coeliac, was very welcome.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: For a good single room, ask for no 24.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bra863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

we booked for three nights but stayed 2, £150 per night is a very high price for a basically run down hotel, I suggest management spot check room cleanliness, ours was not clean, thick dust, dirty mirrors very uncomfortable beds . on a plus food good in Bistro, staff very friendly

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marion o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are currently underdoing a complete refurbishment of all our rooms and continually updating the decoration. We would love to welcome you back to The Cliftonville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterborogh
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed for 2 days the food was very nice the staff are really nice and good fun.
the bed is not really very soft and the room well very clean but looked tired needs redecorating nice bright colours bed covers old worn I know you don't want to lose the old world charm!! but things do need to be bright and inviting! the bathroom was ok but we had a crow nesting just outside the window not very nice sorry about this review but it has to be said I am sure I will go again but not just yet .keep upgrading its the only way.ps the TVs are to small

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nanajo560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I stayed one night in what was described as an Executive Single room. This was a large room that had been divided in half so was long and narrow with only a small gap between the end of the bed and the wall. That wouldn't have mattered until I discovered that the bed was only 5' 9" long and I am 5' 9" tall so spent the night trying to avoid my feet hanging over the end of the bed. The length of the bed wasn't mentioned on booking. The room was clean and if the bed had been long enough, it would have been comfortable, with a view over the bay. It was just as well the heating was on as it was a cold day for June and there were gaps in the windows causing a draught.
The dining experience was depressing. I was shown to a table in an almost empty restaurant behind the door when there were several empty tables in pleasant positions in window bays. When I asked for one of these it was grudgingly agreed to. The food was very nice although not much in the way of locally sourced fish. The whole thing was grossly overpriced when compared to the accommodation I stayed in during the rest of my stay.

Room Tip: Check the length of the bed! Looking from the outside, higher rooms seem to have UPVC double glazed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are currently undergoing a complete refurbishment of the Hotel and will take your comments on board. With regard to the pricing, the prices are in line with the standard prices in Cromer. Thank you for your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We traveled from London to this special place and found it to be excellent! The hotel transports you back in time. The interior is just lovely with all of the stained glass and woodwork. The room itself was gorgeous - with a window overlooking the North Sea. Very clean with nice bedding. The beds were rather hard but have found that to be true in most UK hotels. The room was very quiet. I loved, loved that it actually had a real room key! We ate at the Bistro and found the food to be absolutely wonderful and the service to be impeccable. Loved Miles the host at the Bistro. Strongly recommend this place if you want a lovely weekend in a real place. The service was wonderful at the front desk as well. We called and they actually held a room for us without a credit card as a guarantee!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeananne56132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
1.1 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
736 reviews
0.6 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
352 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
7.2 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
610 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliftonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliftonville Hotel

Property: The Cliftonville Hotel
Address: Seafront 29 Runton Road, Cromer NR27 9AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliftonville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliftonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliftonville Hotel Cromer
The Cliftonville Hotel Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing