We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Reception Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cliftonville Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We have just returned from a Xmas break at the Cliftonville, I must say the reception area, open fire has a great feel about it, along with the staff who were always cheerful and helpful, but the room we had for 2, was only ever designed for 1 person, TV reception was awful, a complaint on the whole floor, just nice to watch whilst getting ready to go out. The last thing was the set menu, why do they have to surcharge certain items, was not cheap to stay here, sure there was no need for that. As I said its a wonderful hotel,full of character, could be a setting for a 'Miss Marple episode, we will return, but will be more selective on the room.

Room Tip: First are probably the best, 'have a look before you book'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0bc353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights in the honeymoon suite. The hotel has character but in need of some refurbishment. The reception staff are very pleasant and helpful. The room large but very basic and poor lighting. Not somewhere a new bride would feel special. The room is in need of an update to make it a special room. The bathroom tiles were dirty and the shower rusty, and the showerhead didn’t fix on very easily.
There are great views from the round seat in the turret (see photos) and its only a short walk into town.
There were a few things that didn't work eg lights etc, and on completion of the form for maintenance, these were rectified the same day.

Breakfast was plentiful very greasy, and there was grease on the walls in the bistro. We tried to book the Westcliffe restaurant on 2 consecutive nights, and on the second night were told "it's not worth us opening it for just a few guests". We did have the three course meal on the 3rd night which was average. 'The Grove' on Overstrand road has an excellent restaurant and only a short taxi ride away, as is the Thai restaurant in town, within walking distance.

We were lucky to be there at the Forties weekend held in Weybourne, Holt and Sheringham, which was pretty spectacular.

Overall we were disappointed in the whole experience for the money that we paid.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is nothing special but does have really good views across Cromer and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NottsVacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Just got back from staying at this great hotel not been to Cromer before. Bearing in mind the awful weather last week the hotel stood up to the fierce winds brilliantly. Great position with great views I had a sea view. Coffee and tea available in the room a lovely bath was great to have available
The room was comfortable clean and well furnished a single room was all I required ample
The food was excellent silver service to very good quality and enjoyed it very much
Breakfast was not the best buffet still good quality food just prefer waitress service
The bar area was very comfortable the staff were very attentive in all areas of the hotel.
Would recommend this hotel to others wanting to stay in Cromer

Room Tip: Higher floors quiet good views old type of lift but works well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teeheeitismee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Went with friends midweek , a very tempting menu with good choices and recommendations for dishes of the day. Staff attentive friendly first class service! The starters, main and dessert courses all beautifully cooked and presentented. Highly recommended I will certainly visit again a little gem on Cromer seafront .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larkowsky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

we stayed for two nights on an organised trip, we found the hotel very clean and warm and the staff very pleasant and always trying to help ,would not hesitate to stay there again , the only issue we would have is the coffee on the final breakfast was not very good but this is only a minor detail

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staff17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

All of the public rooms were cold. However, the bedrooms were warm BUT, to find only a standard sized bed in this day and age is totally unacceptable.
The food served was very mixed, ie some of it was nice and some of it was, frankly, poor. I had better not get started on the quality of the coffee !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan-janetmillward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for your review following your coach group visit to the Cliftonville Hotel. We always welcome feedback. However, I was disapponited to receive this as we have had a very complimentary email from your Group organiser saying everyone was very happy and they are booked in for 2014. In hindsight if you had mentioned any problems during your stay I would have done my utmost to rectify them at the time. I am sorry that you found the public rooms cold but as you know it is an old building and when the north easterly wind blows it is difficult to keep the rooms warm despite having an open fire. I see that you were unhappy with your room but as you will see from another review in November they loved that room. It is just personal taste. I hope that you will join the group again in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night with my adult son. We had a single room each. The rooms were nicely appointed with comfortable beds, en-suite facilities and wonderful sea views. The hotel is charming with a nice mix of old and new. The staff are pleasant, accommodating and welcoming. The food is of a good standard and the prices and room rates are extremely reasonable. The hotel is a short stroll to the centre of Cromer and positioned opposite the beautiful sea front and near the lovely pier. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return and recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view - Fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
1.1 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
800 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#2 of 7 in Cromer
793 reviews
0 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
688 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
547 reviews
2 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliftonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliftonville Hotel

Address: Seafront 29 Runton Road, Cromer NR27 9AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range: £107 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliftonville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliftonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliftonville Hotel Cromer
The Cliftonville Hotel Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing