We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cliftonville Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Character hotel”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

An Edwardian hotel with some lovely features of this period such as stained glass. The food was substantial and tasty(including very generous packed lunches). My only complaint is the endless repetition of (loud) music over the tannoy which is totally out of character with the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bryan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Front Office Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay here at the Hotel. We were so glad to hear that you found the food tasty and substantial especially the packed lunches we provided.

With regard to your comment on the music, this is something we will take under advisement and certainly look into.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future,

Kind Regards

Byron Brooks
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    151
    61
    27
    20
See reviews for
90
217
30
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A very nice weekend visit to Cromer lucky with the weather, the hotel very nice but does need soma very needed T L C , we would go again, the staff are very friendly , felt a bit let down with the sirloin steak meal a bit expensive for what it was, but overall we enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Cannot really help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Front Office Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was please to hear that you had a nice visit to Cromer and the hotel was very nice, as you could imagine with such an old building we are always on a continuous rolling renovation programme and at present are in the process of renovating all of our Bedrooms.

I was sorry that you felt let down by your Sirloin steak, as a restaurant we pride ourselves on using local produce, sourced from local businesses and will look into the quality of the product.

We are glad to hear that you will like to come again for another visit and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Byron Brooks
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very dog friendly. The dogs got such nice dinners we were tempted to eat them ourselves. The staff were really helpful and friendly and the hotel has old world charm with lovely views of the sea. You can eat in the bar with dogs but order off the restaurant menu if you like. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Front Office Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are always very pleased to hear when guests have had a relaxing time at the hotel.

Other guests are always telling us that they worry about taking their dogs away with them. So hopefully your comments will eliminate some of that worry, we try to be as dog friendly as we can.

Thank you also, for your comments regarding the staff and the hotel, where we will hopefully be welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Byron Brooks
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We have stayed at the Cliftonville Hotel many times over some 20 years, the last few, three times a year, always for 6-7 nights.
Sometimes the outside could do with a tidy / sweep up, to pick up litter, bottles etc. once a day. Food and service always good.

Room Tip: We always book one of two rooms, because some are a bit small. All are sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank BDSI2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Front Office Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We were very glad to hear that you have been visiting us over the years and you have always found the food and service good.

With regards to your comments on the outside, this is something we have taken a look into and will be implementing procedures to maintain the outside areas.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Byron Brooks
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have stayed at the cliftonville many many times over the years it is the best hotel in Cromer. I highly recommend this
Hotel.always first class.always made welcome food excellent staff great rooms
Modern bright and spotless

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pt1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Front Office Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your visits to the hotel over the years and hope that you have many more planned.

Thank you for recommending us and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Byron Brooks
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Quite expensive for one night but you get what you paid for. Food excellent and very clean in general. Parking was tight and ended up on the road but no problem. Would have prefered a walk in shower rather than a bath to stand in but booked quite late so limited choice. Overall it was a very pleasant experience and the staff were very polite including the owner who took time to talk to everyone during dinner which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Front Office Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your Review and sharing you experience with us.

We were so glad to hear that you had a pleasant time, found the food to be excellent and the staff very polite, the hospitality of our staff and quality of our food is something we pride ourselves on.

We do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,

Kind Regards

Byron Brooks
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOWIE
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Awoken in the early hours by water dripping on my pillow. Room 24 had a leak, rain water was running in through a crack in the ceiling. Had to be evacuated, unfortunately I had unpacked as was staying 3 nights. It resembled a supermarket sweep of all my clothes, toiletries and belongings, throwing them in the corridor to return to the room for another armful, in fear the ceiling was about to give way.
Thank goodness duty manager lived on site and was quick to respond. Not offered a refund for the inconvenience. Even overcharged so reluctant to return.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 24 - check the crack in the ceiling above the bed. Avoid Room 25 - Walk in shower is tin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TowieTips4Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your review. Yes, as you say, it was an unfortunate event where there was a storm resulting in a dripping ceiling for which we apologise. Our Duty Manager was on the scene within 3 minutes, apologised and relocated you immediately to an upgraded room. This event happened on your first night and you were then able to enjoy the remainder of your 3 nights with us. Following your visit we responded to your letter of concern and have offered you a complimentary 2 night stay with us to be taken at your convenience. We do hope to welcome you back to the Cliftonville in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
1.1 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
736 reviews
0.6 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
350 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
7.2 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
610 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliftonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliftonville Hotel

Property: The Cliftonville Hotel
Address: Seafront 29 Runton Road, Cromer NR27 9AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliftonville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliftonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliftonville Hotel Cromer
The Cliftonville Hotel Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing