We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cliftonville Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cromer Country Club by Diamond Resorts(Cromer)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$60
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sandcliff Guest House(Cromer)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Red Lion(Cromer)
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sea Marge Hotel(Overstrand)
US$142
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$307
US$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maltings Hotel(Weybourne)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
The Manor Hotel(Mundesley)
US$158
US$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveller rating
216
161
64
31
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
216
161
64
31
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewexecutive roomedwardian buildingbistro menustained glassbar snackssingle roommain restaurantwindow seatroast dinnerreception areafamily run hotelcromer crabsmoked haddockout of seasoncooked foodvery pleasant stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 494 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

First and foremost - the staff at this hotel are lovely and cannot be faulted. Special note goes to Max, Dan and Oscar who were brilliant dining room staff. The housekeepers do a really thorough job and always have a smile for the guests too.

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel on many occasion but felt that this time the breakfast selection was its downfall. Options listed on the menu weren't available (Special K & Crunchy Nut Cornflakes), leaving just the basics available (cornflakes, fruit & fibre, Rice Krispies). Gone were the individual boxes, in some cases, replaced by cheap plastic dispensers that spilt and crushed cereal in all directions! Croissants weren't available until day 3 (although once again present on the menu) and that was after we'd asked for them previously, only to be told they hadn't got any. The yogurt was this time in a bowl to help yourself from which is a downhill step in my opinion as it leaves it open for flies to settle on. Herbal teas had been removed from the menu but were available when we asked for them.

The evening meals were good but the menu wasn't as varied as in previous years. Choices seemed to be the same on the first two days and then days 3 & 4 were again duplicates of each other. Desserts are my passion but the choices were far fewer and less varied than in previous years.

The room we stayed in had been updated but without thought to practicality. The repositioning of the bed did give a lovely view out to sea but left us tripping up over each other when trying to move round the room. Its position also meant the wardrobe door couldn't be fully opened either. Perhaps the owners should spend a night in each of their revamped rooms to see first hand their practicality?

I hope this hotel doesn't go downhill for the sake of a few penny pinching ideas as it's a truly lovely place to stay, ideally situated and the staff are brilliant. We have been to the nearby Sea Marge Hotel in Overstrand and it shines head and shoulders above this hotel at present for both its breakfast and evening meals. Hopefully improvements will be made to the menus here and we will once again be satisfied customers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Magpies82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Owner at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you so much again for taking the time and trouble of reviewing our hotel and I’m so glad that the staff were as always a pleasure to you. I see that you have stayed with us before and very glad to see you have come back and stayed with again and I do hope we can iron out a few small matters which disappointed you and then hopefully you will come back again.

I’m so sorry that the new style breakfast service was not to your liking this has been done as a way of purely modernising our breakfast service and not as a cost cutting measure. I’m sure you appreciated the added extras of beautiful bowl of fresh fruit salad every morning, a choice of two luxury thick and creamy locally produced yoghurts and the extra crunchy granola all of which have been requested by guests in the past and have now been implement on a day to day basis. I do take on board the change in cereals and agree with you that perhaps we will now go back to the individual boxed varieties with a full selection. We have also put back the wooden herbal tea box with the 17 different varieties.

With regards to the evening meal we have not reduced the number of choices that we offer, still offering 16 starters (5 daily specials that change each day) 21 main courses (8 daily specials that change each day) 6 homemade desserts (of which 4 change every day) plus a choice of 9 Ronaldo’s homemade ice creams and sorbets. The reason that we keep the Fresh Crab and Lobster, Sirloin and Rump Steak, Pasta dishes and Seasonal Salads the same every day was because of the feedback from customers was that they would like to have these choices available on each night of their stay rather than feel they may not be on for a second evening. But I will speak to the chef to make sure that a full change on the daily specials menu is made to avoid duplication.

I do hope that you can see that we have invested a great deal of time and money into the building, updating the bedrooms to give a modern fell whilst enhancing the beautiful sea views, that we are lucky enough to have and also the investment into the main Edwardian dining room brining it more up to date whilst still enhancing this beautiful room

We thank you for your time and trouble in helping us to improve our service, to be the very best it can we take all comments both good and bad and try to improve our service and we look forward to welcoming you back to us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed with my 90 year old father who loved the Edwardian elegance downstairs. Rooms varied - we ended up in two lovely seafront rooms, having booked Executive sea view. Had to ask for the first room offerred to be changed as it was small, very hot with full sun on large window, view mainly of car park, though sea could also be seen (Room 9). Having said that, the request to change was met easily and cheerfully. Breakfast was the usual full English or cereal, fruit etc. - average. No doubt picky people will be able to find something to criticise - this is a large old building and it isn't perfect. It is probably a little under staffed. Shower is rather desultory. But everyone was super helpful, it was clean, comfortable, good beds, free wi-fi, nice lounge area and great location for town and sea front. Would definitely come again.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 9 - small, stuffy. Room 37 at top on 3rd floor, lift plus a bit of a walk, but comfy, lovely view, full bath as well as shower. Room 3 on 1st floor a bit larger but shower only.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Front Office Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We were sorry to here that you felt disappointed with the first room you were offered and was happy to hear that the matter was resolved efficiently by the reception team and you ended up with a lovely room.

We are glad that you enjoyed the amenities at the hotel and thank you for your kind words regarding the staff being helpful, we will pass on your comments to them,

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Byron Brooks
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have just stayed at the Cliftonville hotel for 3 nights, very happy with our stay. Food was of a very good standard, staff friendly. The view from our room 34 was super just about 180 degrees of the North sea. Although the hotel is of course very old the management have ensured it gives a clean and well kept look.

Room Tip: try no 34 it is great
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelboyBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Front Office Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are always very pleased to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay at the hotel.

As you say the views from the hotel are super and one of our best selling points, also the hotel is a wonderful building and we try our best to keep its Edwardian elegance whilst still keeping up to date with the modern traveller.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you again to the hotel in the future,

Yours Sincerely

Byron Brooks
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just stayed at this hotel in Cromer for 2 nights and found it to be lovely. The staff are very welcoming, friendly and efficient and the food was consistently of high quality. We stayed in room 23 which had stunning views across Cromer gardens the sea and Pier. My husband is in a wheelchair and managed to manoeuvre around most of the bedroom and en-suite really well but couldn't get passed the bed to look out of the bay window, which was a little disappointing. Although the hotel is Edwardian and looks old, it benefits from keeping it's charming character and quaint atmosphere. We found it to be really clean throughout all areas and the added Bistro brings a modern twist mixed with the past. The disabled toilet on the ground floor has excellent access. The best thing about the hotel is the kind and helpful team of staff and its idyllic location. All-in-all, my husband had a wonderful time and we will definitely return again.

Room Tip: If in a wheelchair, ensure there is plenty of space in the bedroom to manoeuvre around all areas.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Front Office Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for your very kind words. It is always a pleasure to hear when our guests have enjoyed their time at the hotel.

Room 23 does indeed have some wonderful views overlooking Cromer Pier and Sea and we were sorry to hear of your disappointment with the room. As you can imagine as an old Edwardian building we do have rooms of various sizes and when you decide to join us again please mention this when making your reservation and a member of the Reception team will be able to advise you on what room would best suit your needs.

We would also like to thank you for your lovely and kind words with regards to the food and staff at the hotel. The whole team prides themselves on the hospitality and service they provide and will enjoy reading your comments.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel on your return,

Yours Sincerely


Byron Brooks
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Nice view and position but outdated, the old furniture ambiance and thin walls didn't made a good impression. Noisy maids woke us up every morning and windows and curtains could use a wash.
Too pricey for the offered condition.
Breakfast ok, not too divers and the orders mixed up.
Wouldn't stay there a next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alyd_alyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer20, Front Office Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are always thankful for any feedback we receive from guests and we were sorry to hear of your disappointment.

All of your comments have been noted with regards to the noise in the morning caused by the maids and have spoken to the Housekeeping team concerning this matter and we would like apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused.

We would also like to assure you that we will focus on your comments regarding Breakfast and address the issues mentions.

We do hope that you will reconsider staying with us when next in the area,

Yours Sincerely


Byron Brooks
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews