We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Virginia Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a very pleasant traditional hotel with a nice atmosphere and excellent staff. I think I read the description 'contemporary' somewhere, and I suppose relative to most of Cromer it probably is! But you - or at least we - don't go to Cromer to be contemporary, and this place provides a good base to explore the old-fashioned seaside delights of the town and the beautiful coastline. Our room was bit on the small side, which might be because we got a special offer deal, but was very clean and comfortable.

Also definitely worth a mention was the particularly delicious breakfast, with homemade muesli and jams and hot food cooked to order. We also tried the restaurant for an evening meal, which was good but not faultless (cold cheese!), and quite good value with house wine a reasonable £14.
.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALISON W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
There are newer reviews for Virginia Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have just got back from a £99 KGB B&B deal with three other couples. We could not have received better service in a 5 star hotel and the breakfasts were superb! We ate in the hotel on the first night and were served a very high quality meal. There were no complaints on that score! We'd have been happy to eat in both nights.

My only personal little niggle was that whilst the bed was very comfortable, it was only a normal double whereas we are used to a 5 foot bed. Otherwise the room and bathroom (Room 22) whilst not large, were very clean and the shower was tremendous!

The hotel is in a quiet road only a very short walk from the centre of town and the pier and sea. We look forward to seeing another such deal! Thanks to you all - you deserve your no. 1 spot in Cromer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Long Suffering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed at Virginia Court Hotel for just the one night hoping to be able to capture sunrise and sunset. however, it was too foggy so didn't get any good images. But we will be back to this hotel in the very near future. It is not surprising it is the number one in Cromer. It deserves this accolade. It was spotlessly clean,tastefully decorated, extremely friendly staff, excellent food. The car parking was ample and only minutes from the sea front. The road was quiet and the hotel is in a perfect location. The bed was very comfortable, as was the furniture in the suite we had.
The only small moan was that it would have been nice to have had bottled water, although it was written in the guest information book that the water was fine to drink, which we did. Also, would have been nice to have ceiling fan.
We look forward to staying at this hotel again in the very near future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C12jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

After reading other reviews I was confident this would be a solid, safe place for a weekend break with my girlfriend; I was proved right.

The room was spacious, well-decorated and comfortable, plus there was a lovely hot shower :) Every single interaction with staff was great - it's not stretching the truth to say that they clearly take customer service very seriously!

We only ate breakfast in the restaurant so can't pass judgement on the evening meal food, but the breakfasts were fab and the home made jams to die for.

A 5-minute walk got us into town and we enjoyed the scenery, local bars and restaurants (missed out on Paul Daniels' show on the pier, but every cloud and all that...!).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank al_ads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the hotel and had a very clean room excellebt service from very attentive staff and ate probarbly the best hotel food of anywhere we have visited over the past 2 years.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianP833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We have recently returned from Virginia Court. We LOVE this place and have been a few times now. For me, the three most important things when staying away from home are a comfortable bed, a hot and powerful shower and a good breakfast. Although a basic ask, we rarely find anywhere that satisfies all three requests! Virginia Court ticks all these boxes and way more. Our Children (3 and 8) love coming too, mainly because the staff are all so helpful and friendly, they always have fun ideas of places to go/things to do. We feel very relaxed when staying here because whilst it's child friendly it's still very clean and stylish (just because we have kids doesn't mean we have lost our need for nice surroundings and good food!) It's not full of children and every time we have been there has been a nice mix of people of all ages.
We tend to have dinner, bed and breakfast when we come, not only is it easier with the kids but the food (and wine) is superb and fussy little ones are very well catered for!
The location is perfect, it's a really pretty end of town, just a short (2 min) walk to the boating lake, beach and then town centre. It feels really safe for the children as there is just one road to cross and then it's pretty much pedestrianised all the way to the beach/pier.
There is no contest when coming to Cromer, Virginia Court is the only place to stay and we can't wait to return soon!

Room Tip: If you are coming with kids room 6 and 7 are interconnecting so you get some luxury space of your ow...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ge0rgeMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed 2 nights midweek via KGB deal.Arrived early to a warm welcome and our room being ready.The room was clean,comfortable and a decent size.The hotel is located close to the town centre,beach and all amenities.Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful.We had breakfast and our evening meal in the small dining room at the front of the hotel as it was'nt very busy.The food was mainly local produce and very nice.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel and we were disturbed by the dustman on 1 occasion
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reginaldEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
742 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
524 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
749 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Court Hotel

Address: Cliff Avenue, Cromer NR27 0AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range: £111 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginia Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Virginia Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Va Court
Virginia Court Hotel Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing