We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay on the 14th and 15th March 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Virginia Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We telephoned Virginia Court Hotel direct on the 13th March 2014. The receptionist gave us the dates we wanted together with exceptional accommodation in their very comfortable suite. On arrival we found the hotel had good parking facilities in a tree lined quiet road close to the sea, Cromer town and the pier which houses a theatre. We received a warm welcome. The food was exceptional and to our surprise there was no problem presenting excellent varied vegetarian dishes. To sum up the hotel is warm, clean, comfortable, bright and a pleasure to stay in. In fact before we left we booked up to stay for another long weekend in May this year.

Room Tip: We stayed in the south side of the hotel and it was very quiet, warm and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hi Paulette,

Many thanks for the positive review about all aspects of your stay. I think the biggest compliment was the fact you booked to return again for the May Crab & Lobster festival before completing your first stay.

We have many regular guests that come time after time to enjoy all that Cromer has to offer and its always nice when new guests join the club, so to speak!

Hopefully you will have a great Motorbike ride down in May, will save you a suitable space in the carpark!

Kind Regards

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

Had a one night last minute stay at the weekend what a beautiful place everything was just as described and more, fantastic decor very clean and staff couldn't be better especially Jo who seemed to magically appear every time you wanted something food amazing only down side if we stayed for a week I would be alot heavier. Once again thanks for a much needed recharge of batteries.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moppytrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hi, thanks for writing a review following your last minute stay in Cromer. As you discovered it is always best to speak direct with the hotel Receptionists as they can sometimes offer lower rates than online bookings!
We have one or two guests that mention they always go home heavier after a week long stay with us but we must be doing something right as they keep coming back!
Once again thanks for staying and we look forward to hearing from you when you next fancy a quick break to Cromer.

kind regards

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Our visits to Cromer has a feeling best described as special. My wife and l, when we visit Cromer, choose to enhance our enjoyment by staying at Virginia Court Hotel. It is comfortable, well managed and the staff, without exception, are very attentive and professional. Well done once again. My wife and l, together with friends, look forward to our next visit in May.

Room Tip: Just discuss your requirements with the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveAlbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hello Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to write another review on us following your recent early spring break with us. Glad to see everyone is still looking after you as we would expect!.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again soon for the annual Folk Festival held 9 - 11th May.

Best wishes

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed as a last minute booking - Hotel is very well situated close to the town centre & the seafront. Nice building and very well presented downstairs. Room was a decent size (and with a bath!).

Ate in the restaurant and despite there being a big group in the service was very good and food was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pog_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your visit in February just as we reopened after our winter break during which time we took the opportunity to redecorate our bar/lounge area and refresh some of our bedrooms. Always good to hear that one of our regular group meals didn't impact upon the quality of your meal or its service.

We hope to see you again next time you visit the area.

Many thanks for staying with us.

Kind Regards

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was my third stay at the Virginia Court Hotel and again it turned out to be an excellent experience. We stayed three nights and decided to take advantage of the Bed, Breakfast and Dinner rate. The food is excellent and the menu and quality of the meals can't be beaten in the Cromer area.

Very friendly and professional staff who make you feel welcome. The hotel has ample parking and is close to the town centre and an easy walk to the Pier.

We visited Cromer as a family and booked four rooms at the Virginia Court Hotel. Each room was clean and well appointed. Tea and coffee making facilities in each bedroom.

A nice sized lounge and bar on the ground floor. A good place to stay for business, family get togethers, or holidaying in Norfolk.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NearRadwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review us once again following your 3rd visit to our hotel in Cromer for a pre Christmas family get together. As always it was a pleasure hosting your annual family getaway.

As you know our Dinner Bed & Breakfast rates offer great value and our Chefs are always pleased to hear one of the main reasons guests return id because of the food they deliver.

We look forward to welcoming you back again later in the year.

Best wishes to you all

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Recently stayed 3 nights to photograph Norfolk coast and the Broads. Hotel is located in a lovely residential area just a few minutes walk from town centre and promenade. Hotel staff were excellent during check in and throughout the duration of my stay. Room (22) was of acceptable proportions very clean an tidy. The bed and pillows were however particularly uncomfortable for my liking. Services like WiFi and TV also proved to be poor WiFi in particular was unusable in this room despite the wifi extender being right outside the room? Wifi would have been A good alternative in the evenings to the 'flaky' TV reception.
Breakfast was a typical standard fare nevertheless it was wholesome, well prepared and prompt using a a variety of local produce. Likewise the evening meals were delicious and again of excellent quality with good choices and reasonably priced.
All in all this hotel makes really comfortable base for a stay in Norfolk whether its just the "seaside experience" or to explore further afield. The coast line drive through the small villages of Blakeney, Cley next the Sea and on to Hunstanton is highly recommended as is traveling inland to the The Broads area in particularly I would recommend driving to both Thurne and How Hill if Windmills are you thing.

Room Tip: If internet connectivity is needed for business or recreation your room selection in particular may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review following your stay here last December.
Its always pleasing when guests recommend us to others and enjoy their experience with us overall although naturally I was disappointed to hear of your experiences with the comfort level of the bed you experienced (beds are always difficult for hotels - one persons 'hard' is someone elses 'soft'. Also of your problems with the complimentary wifi and tv signals although as you mention it is known to be flaky in our area. We have installed a new system of wifi extenders throughout the building over the winter closure however so hopefully our free wi fi service will work better next time you are in the area taking photographs of the stunning North Norfolk countryside all within a short drive from Cromer.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area and your feedback regarding the new wi-fi system.

kind Regards

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed at the hotel for three nights. Despite the fact that the owners were away and the hotel was very quiet, the staff were very attentive and nothing was to much trouble. Reporting a broken floor tile in our en suite led to an immediate offer of a room change, the full menu was available and the food was excellent. Room was a good size, warm, well furnished, towels good quality, water hot and shower good. The place was very clean and the public rooms very comfortable. The hotel is ideal for exploring the town on foot being only a couple of minutes walk from "The Gangway" that leads to the RNLI museum and the beach. The owners clearly trust their staff and with good reason. Only one small thing would have improved the room and that was a comfortable chair. Otherwise this place is faultless and well worth the visit. if I am back in this area again this will be my first choice for an overnight stop or longer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gas65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
756 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
530 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#2 of 7 in Cromer
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Court Hotel

Address: Cliff Avenue, Cromer NR27 0AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range: £104 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginia Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Virginia Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Va Court
Virginia Court Hotel Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing