We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Virginia Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just spent the bank holiday in this hotel and we couldn't of chosen a better place to stay. Just a short walk to the sea front and shops. The owners were very friendly. The entire place was nice and clean and well maintained throughout. We dined here on the Sunday evening and both enjoyed our meals. the breakfast was delicious too. I would highly recommend this place to all my friends.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gallyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for recommending us to all your friends and writing this positive review, we are all pleased you found us to be a little gem. Our team all work very hard to try and ensure our guests have a great experience here in Cromer. We hope to see you again when you next fancy a relaxing break at the coast.

Best wishes

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    91
    17
    10
    1
See reviews for
45
222
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The twin room allocated was so small that my companion had to leave her walking frame outside in the corridor. The hotel was aware of her condition.
We had to keep asking for the ramp for the front door to be put in place. The entrance is wide enough for this ramp to be in place all day causing no inconvenience to other guests. It made each trip into the hotel a major procedure.
Upon asking for a clean hand towel, I was told to refer to the handbook in the room on allocation of towels. So in effect I was denied a clean towel.
Overall, a thoughtless ,insensitive approach to visitor care.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zadamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay with us, a first for you but one of many for your disabled friend. I was naturally disappointed to read your comments however your disabled friend has stayed with us on numerous times over the past few years, usually in the same room you occupied. As such she is presumably happy with our access arrangements in and out of the building and bedroom layout, which is limited due to the size of the footprint of the room at the time it was built. We treat all our guests as individuals and make sure we discuss our room layouts and suitability for any potential visit if we are made aware of any issues that may impact upon their experience depending upon their own individual needs.
We take great pride in our levels of customer service, which is usually appreciated by our many diverse guests as you will see from the vast majority of reviews on this site. I am sorry we failed to meet your expectations.

Kind Regards

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, comfortable bed, great location, easy parking, excellent breakfast. A first time stay but this hotel ticked all the boxes for me and I will certainly have no hesitation in choosing it again when visiting Cromer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryce222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
I am pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that it ticked all the right boxes for you. We have many solo guests stay with us either in our single rooms or in a double room for single occupancy and always do our best to ensure they feel welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Have visited this hotel regularly for many years. Well furnished rooms - clean and well maintained. Food especially breakfast excellently presented and well prepared. Situate in a quiet residential area with private parking and easy access to town, sea front and beach. Staff give excellent service and are very friendly, cheerful and helpful. Will definitely be returning again as soon as possible

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Bryan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your most recent stay with us. It is always a good boost for staff morale when their efforts are appreciated, especially from a regular returning guest.

I am pleased that we continue to delight and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Once again many thanks for the positive review.

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Love Cromer - Love Virginia Court Hotel !!The hotel 's location is outstanding, service good and the room lovely.We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay and will ,hopefully, stay again. Breakfast was excellent - the only downside,I feel, was that the menu and the food for evening meals was a 'little limited', a 'little unimaginative' - but that's being a bit 'crabby' - overall "excellent"

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60fergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay with us. Naturally we are all pleased you enjoyed the service and found the room lovely. We are proud to have won the Visit Britain Best Breakfast award for the past 4 years and so I am glad you enjoyed the breakfasts. I am sorry you found the evening meals to be a little unimaginative, our Head Chef has worked at the hotel for many years and has selected the most popular menu items to be on the menu knowing our regular customers and the food they enjoy, naturally Cromer Crab features heavily in the Summer as this is one of the main reasons people travel to Cromer for the sweetest crabs in the UK!

Best wishes and hope to see you again next time you are in the area.

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Had a great two nights at the Virginia Court Hotel it is walking distance to beach and shops,
staff very helpful.The hotel was clean and comfortable the breakfast was good. We were lucky with the weather and Cromer was wonderful

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Lynne,

Thanks for your kind words following your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future for another great stay.

Best wishes

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Excellent service from cheerful staff. Room was very comfortable , lashings of hot water from the ample shower. Dining experience is wonderful, superb quality food. Left nothing to be desired. This is our second stay and hope to return again and again. Love Cromer and surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCHowner, Owner at Virginia Court Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Polly,

Many thanks for writing a review following your recent second stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the evening meals and the lashings of hot water as well as the excellent service from our wonderful team of staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for a third time when you next fancy a relaxing quiet break by the sea here in Cromer, as you say there is always something on offer in North Norfolk no matter what season you pay a visit

Once again many thanks for the review

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
735 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
1.9 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
7.7 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
606 reviews
8.0 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Court Hotel

Property: Virginia Court Hotel
Address: Cliff Avenue, Cromer NR27 0AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginia Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Virginia Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Va Court
Virginia Court Hotel Cromer, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing