We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another local gem”

Macculloch Hall Historic Museum & Gardens
Ranked #12 of 29 things to do in Morristown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located in downtown Morristown, N.J., Macculloch Hall has been part of the local community for over 200 years, first as the home to community-minded residents, George and Louisa Macculloch (1775-1858, 1785-1863), and since 1950, as a not-for-profit museum and garden. Founder W. Parsons Todd (1877-1976) endowed MHHM as a resource for all Morristown and Morris County residents. A Federal brick mansion, Macculloch Hall was built in 1810 by George Perrott Macculloch (1775-1858), the "Father of the Morris Canal." Today this historic house and decorative arts museum comprises nine period rooms, two exhibition galleries, a dedicated classroom, and an expansive formal garden, which is open to the public free of charge.
Morristown
Level Contributor
206 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Another local gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stopped in on rainy Halloween day about mid afternoon. My friend and I got a personal tour of the Hall which is three floors showcasing furniture, household items/collections and generally an accounting of the home's occupants and social peers through these displays.

We were warmly greeted upon arrival and got a tour by a knowledgeable young lady who definitely has passion for her role in sharing history with guests. This was my second time visiting but it had been awhile. My plan is to go back sometime in warmer weather to view the gardens.

There is I a new separate portion of the museum highlighting more recent historical NJ history. I rather thought this didn't fit with the rest of the museum.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NJLeoOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Very nice historic house filled with history of Morristown, NJ and lovely art work.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

Have lived in Morristown for 30 years, getting ready to move and first visit to Macculloch Hall Historical Museum. Very nice tour of the house with a lot of history of the area, beautiful historic collection of furniture, household items and art work. Nice Nast exhibit. Gardens even in early spring are very nice.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoqual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Enjoyable 90 minutes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

It was raining -- and we like antiques, so we tried Macculloch. We were pleasantly surprised to see so many beautiful and interesting antiques from the Parson's collection. While we have visited many period homes and museums, we saw items at Macculloch that we had never seen before. There are some excellent examples of WIndsor chairs -- so many varieties! -- and the Thomas Nast collection is quite interesting. The garden, though mostly spent, was pretty. Would love to see it during the summer! We are recommending Macculloch to friends and family in NJ area. PS -- Docent had good stories about local history and was both interesting and accommodating.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank alvalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lee, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Added knowledge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012 via mobile

We decided to see what Macculloch museum had to offer. My husband and I were very pleasantly surprised. After visiting many museums we never thought a small local museum could add to our knowledge about the little things. The docent was incredible and kept making us want to know more. The garden is lovely and allows for a very calming & relaxing respite.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
in NJ
Level Contributor
306 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We went to see the Civil War exhibit (Gone for Soldier) parked on the street (in front of the Thomas Nast house as it happens) We were greeted & asked if we wanted the house tour, we weren't sure & the woman encouraged us to register as she said it was included in the admission price which was 8.00 per person for us. There were civil war re-enactors there & they really added to the experience. The woman in particular was very engaging & had a lot to share, loved the collapsible cup & the bone cutlery. The exhibit was on the small side, but interesting & we did go on the house tour, which we enjoyed. There is a room reserved for Thomas Nast's drawings, which you can see on your own. Be aware there was no AC & it can get very warm.There is a small array of gifts to buy & a lovely garden to tour.
If you go on the tour there are stairs, & the garden would be difficult to tour if you are in a wheelchair.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Kitsaattheshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Macculloch Hall Historic Museum & Gardens also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Macculloch Hall Historic Museum & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing