We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service lovely food”
Review of The Grand Cafe

The Grand Cafe
Ranked #22 of 159 Restaurants in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good service lovely food”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Went to Morristown for lunch and found this lovely restaurant, sat outside under cover and asked if we were ok for lunch menu as it was quite late for lunch. Staff were very helpful and the food, we all had salads with extra chicken or steak, very nice and tasty, plus the steak was cooked as we had asked for it. Good wine, and overall a thoroughly lovely time. Not a cheap lunch but very good value. I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morningchorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    21
    10
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful! A real gem.”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I keep looking for good restaurants. We live in Summit (one good restaurant - Roots) and decided to try out a few restaurants in Morristown. Most have been VERY disappointing and we almost gave up. Then we went to The Grand Cafe. We've traveled all over the world... this is a great place. Old world gentility... great service... beautiful atmosphere... wonderful food. Everything was perfect. We felt so spoiled we didn't want to leave. I'll be bringing my mother back here next week. It's our new "go to" place. Reasonably price for the quality! (I'm REALLY sick and tired of what passes for restaurants these days... so glad we found this.)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank justmyopinion4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendham, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Great service and food. Classic décor and very attentive service. Food was well prepared and presented. Each course arrived just at the right time. Been to 6 continents and have eaten in some of the best restaurants. I would not hesitate to recommend.
Those looking for the most food quantity for the $ vs quality their is a Blimpies just down the street.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dionysus58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motown
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch was a flop”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Live in town and with so many other good restaurants in town this place has to do better. Its down on its heels from the decor to the desserts. Over priced.

Helpful?
Thank Tensoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield Beach
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

As a new area local, I looked forwarded to dining here and was very disppointed in the food quality. While the dishes appear to be creative, the food was overcooked and overseasoned.
However the service is impeccable and old school. The dining room is old fashioned and that is refreshing if you are into nostalgia. Sincerely hope in future it improves as would love to return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grand Cafe also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to The Grand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing