We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese in a charming setting”

Cottage II Hunan & Szechuan
Ranked #43 of 159 Restaurants in Morristown
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Chinese in a charming setting”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is our favorite Chinese restaurant in town. We dine in and take out. Their dishes are fresh, tasty, with generous portions. A good value and if dining in, a nice atmosphere with white tablecloths and a hot pot of tea on each table.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    4
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Popular lunch place in morristown”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The place never disappoints and the food is consistently good. A pleasant lunch for a decent price with regular Chinese (some Thai) fare in the American style. I cannot count the lunches my colleagues and I had in the place. Returning is an endorsement in itself.....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SATUL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“mediocre food with a lot of insults on the side”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The food is hit and miss, okay at best. And on the more expensive side. I did not enjoy being dismissed by the person who said he was the manager when I tried to correct an order. Then the yelling. I left this situation feeling intimidated and quite frankly a little concerned. If you do want to take a chance with the mercurial folk at the Cottage II with the hope of getting some just passable/okay food, be prepared for some anger from the staff if they mess up your order and (god forbid) try to correct it to get what you actually ordered. Go in a group, be confident and try not to be intimidated, expect some yelling and some false accusations. Maybe this is normal in Morristown NJ service industry. I'd love to hear what others have experienced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Syd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Our go to place”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We have a favorite items here we get almost every time we go and they are always great! We've brought friends here too who enjoyed it. It's a BYOB which is nice. Somtimes you have to wait for a table but it's always worth it. Sevice is ok but the food makes up for it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank monkeyboobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Knolls, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Awful service”
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

I called at 2pm and asked if they deliver to Cedar Knolls. The man said yes. I called to order at 445 and a different man answers and says they dont deliver here. I explained I was told you do today by one of your co workers. I asked him to check. He said he doesnt believe he comes here and he flat out refused to even ask whomever it was that I spoke with. There are plenty of other places that are local and deliver that at least make an attempt at customer service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cottage II Hunan & Szechuan also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Cottage II Hunan & Szechuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing