We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
Review of Mehndi

Mehndi
Reserve with OpenTable
Mehndi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 156 Restaurants in Morristown
Price range: US$40 - US$60
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cattano Avenue
Transit: 0.8 miles to NJ Transit
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I generally really like Indian food and all the interesting spices. The aroma at the restaurant was good but each of the dishes were bland and very similar tasting. One okra dish that we ordered had next to no okra in it! Chicken vindaloo, which is generally fairly spicy, was boring. Not a good value at all.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoodFoodLoverYum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    32
    11
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
151 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A great place in an odd location in Morristown. It's located within an office building, but once you step inside, you totally forget you just walked through a lobby. It's contemporary, sleek, and chique. Lots of seating space to hang with the girls or snuggle up with your better half. The bar is equipped with fine wine and liquors to quench anyone's thirst. But those who are willing to try something new are the ones who are going to be most pleased with this private lounge. I tried the Raspberry Lemongrass Martini and was instantly hooked. The staff are very attentive and are eager to please, so don't hesitate. We ordered appetizers (Spring Rolls and Calamari). Be sure to try some. DJ starts to play at around 9 pm on Fridays and Saturdays. The dance floor can accommodate approximately 20 - 25 people. Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taurus044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
178 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“can't wait to go again”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

such good food and drinks. i had this drink which was very refreshing. SM23 Mule
prairie vodka, ginger beer, lemongrass syrup, bird’s eye chili, club soda, lemongrass

this was the app - Assorted Vegetable Pakoras (Frit ters) 8
SPINACH, ONION, CAULIFLOWER, EGGPLANT, POTATO, & GREEN CHILI

dinner was Gosht Vindaloo 17
PAN-ROASTED LAMB, POTATO, CASHEWNUT & TOMATO-BASED SAUCE, CINNAMON, VINEGAR

everything was great, perfectly cooked and the spicy wasn't too spicy although i did start to get pretty hot.

i will definitely be back even though our server was weird. seemed like he was high and he mumbled so we had to ask him what he was saying every time he came to the table

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lolo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My Journey into India. . .”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Usually in Morristown you get lots of Italian or Sushi but this is a real gem. Good authentic indian food, good service and good ambiance Definitely a good night out! Plus they validate parking!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melscherzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Slow service, mediocre food”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We arrived around 9pm and the waiter took awhile to take our order. He had a "couldn't care less attitude". Food arrived fairly promptly but was very mediocre. Nobody asked how we liked our food ( whether we wanted mild or hot) . Food was very mild and we re European and like I hot. Meal for two cost $70.00. Expensive since we shared an entree and a starter!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mehndi also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morris Plains, Morris County
 

Been to Mehndi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing