We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“carribean hideaway in morristown nj”

Hibiscus Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 156 Restaurants in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Hibiscus is a unique find! Located in the heart of Morristown inside the Morristown Inn; a one of it’s kind, Hibiscus boasts a unique concept providing the first upscale but cozy Caribbean restaurant in New Jersey , the first in a hotel & the only place for Caribbean in town. Hibiscus prepares & presents for it's guests five star quality meals at unbelievably affordable prices. Never before have you had Traditional American & Authentic Island Cuisine (Jamaican) at it's best all in one place. Come & enjoy from Authentic Jamaican Jerk Chicken served with traditional rice & beans & fried plantains to our famous Rasta Pasta made with lightly seasoned Jerk chicken breast, sundried tomatoes & broccoli in a light cream sauce over penne or capellini to Steak House quality steaks, perfectly prepared & served with our gourmet mashed potatoes & vegetables al dente, Complete your evening with our to die for, Jamaican Rum flavored Bread Pudding & Cup of our renowned blue mountain peak coffee
new jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“carribean hideaway in morristown nj”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This restaurant is located in the basement at the Best Western in Morristown nj.
At first , seeing the Best Western decor can make you second guest the restaurant. Go on Jazz or Caribean night.
Very romantic and Jazz night has a live singer. Food is great (Oxtail, stew chicken).
Threw down my knife and fork and used my Fingers. Schedule reservation online for convenience.
After dinner take a stroll , through downtown Morristown or spend a night at the Hyatt Morristown

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    72
    18
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, New Jersey
Level Contributor
176 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worth Trying”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Dinner twice at this BYOB this year; yesterday with Groupon. Basement of Best Western, not much for atmosphere. Had Calamari and Jerk Chicken appetizers- both very good. Entrees-sea bass special. Also very good. Don't miss the Festival (roll). Recommend for a change of pace. Note-can't use Groupon on friday.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hoyaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinnelon, New Jersey
1 review
“You Need to Try This Place!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

What a find! We went to Hibiscus with another couple using a groupon. Toni, our server, gave us excellent service and spot-on recommendations and we were not disappointed. The calamari appetizer was crispy, spicy & delicious. Our entrees included the oxtail, salmon stuffed with crab, the curry seafood platter and the pork chop special. All dishes were perfectly prepared and delicious. This was a memorable meal and we will be back for sure. Thanks Toni!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue9119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Jamaican”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Once you get past that it is in the basement of the Best Western Hotel, you an expect to get pretty authentic Jamaican food. Go for the food not the decor and it is BYOB Went as a group who knows what authentic food should taste like..some dishes were perfect. The others the spice was cut down a little bit to ensure the majority can enjoy. Between the festival, curried chicken, jerk chicken were spot on. The Oxtail and curried goat were good, but toned down a bit.
The service was average, but the staff was very knowledgable of the food and associated culture.
If you're looking for authentic Jamaican food or something different, give it a try.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guy_from_newj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florham Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Change of Pace”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We wanted to try a different restaurant in Morristown. We had heard of Hibiscus but had never gone there to eat before. We had a little trouble finding it because its located in the lower level of the Best Western. I just happened to see a small sign in front of the motel! We ventured in to check it out. The menu is American/Italian and Carribean, but we werent able to be seated. Reservations are definitely required on Friday nights for jazz music, and Saturday nights for contemporary music played by an excellent pianist/vocalist. The owner was sorry about the seating situation so we said that we'd be back another time. Two weeks later, we MADE reservations and WERE seated. The owner had remembered us and was sincerely glad that we kept our word and came back. The dining area is small and cozy and the atmosphere was warm and relaxing. I had the Rasta Pasta, which was zitti with red sauce, chicken strips and vegetables and the serving was just the perfect amount of food. My wife had the Encrusted Chilean Sea Bass over mashed potatoes and deep fried onion strips. Both meals were delicious. The owner spent a good deal of time describing the items on the menu and the specials and is a really pleasant person to talk with. For dessert we shared a Jamaican Rum Bread Pudding that was delicious. Will definitely become a regular here. Prices were moderate and its a BYOB so dont forget the wine!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hibiscus Restaurant also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Hibiscus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing