We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible dinner”
Review of Caffe India

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Caffe India
Ranked #61 of 159 Restaurants in Morristown
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
182 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Horrible dinner”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This has to be the worst indian restaurant I've ever visited. First, the papadam was soggy. The onion mixture I put on top literally caused the papadam to bend and the onions slid off. I started with the onion Bhajia. Described as string of onions, it was a ball of onions dipped and batter and fried. Unfortunately, it wasn't fried long enough, so it was also soggy. I ordered the Tandoori Dinner, and it was also disappointing. 5 small pieces of meat on a sizzling platter with onions for $19.95. I kept waiting for rice, but no rice came with the meal. I've never been to an Indian restaurant where rice wasn't served with every entree. The roti was horrible! It was wafer thin with absolutely no flavor. My iced tea was never refilled either. I don't think there is a single positive thing I can say about this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SPG-BA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    1
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mendham, NJ
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Consistently very good and friendly”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We love this place and the people who run it. All are attentive and helpful. Ask the owner what he recommends, and he will ask enough about your tastes to come up with the perfect dish. We dine here more often than any other restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Indian food in Morristown!”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

While passing through Morristown last weekend we decided at the last minute to stop for dinner at Caffe India. We were seated promptly and efficiently, and we found many enticing options on the menu. Appetizers were brought quickly and were absolutely wonderful... we chose the tandoori assorted appetizers along with an order of vegetable samosas. Everything was delicious and the samosas were not the least bit greasy, which was a huge plus for us.

Our meals were outstanding and the servings were plentiful without being oversized. My chicken tikka masala was flavorful and had just the right amount of spice. The naan was fresh and hot, and the garlic naan was out of this world with a generous (yet not overwhelming) supply of freshly crushed garlic.

The waitstaff was attentive and personable, making the whole experience worthwhile. We'd love to stop in once again the next time we're in Morristown. Caffe India is a winner in our book!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nygns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Excellent for the lunch buffet, an incredible value, to dinner with friends and family. Nice range of traditional dishes, including some that are a good match for those less adventurous, or being introducted to Indian. Not nice for Caffe India, but nice for you...no liquor license...so bring your own. Simple and clean upscale casual atmophere. Near courthouse.

I've eaten in Indian restaurants throughout New York City, New Jersey..and India, and rarely enjoyed better. 9 out of 10.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EastSide22ZD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian cuisine with decent prices”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We've been searching for decent Indian food since moving to Morris county in 2010, and finally have been very pleased with Caffe India. Their dishes are consistently good. We love the chicken tikka masala, eggplant bhurta and biryani. Their Naan is always good. Pleasant staff, good service. Prices a bit lower than Mendhi and similar quality food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMikeinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe India also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morris Plains, Morris County
 
Madison, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Caffe India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing