We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky and charming”
Review of Morris Museum

Morris Museum
Ranked #7 of 29 things to do in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Quirky and charming”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

If you love seeing carefully curated collections of (somewhat random) fascinating things that were gathered together by someone who was passionately interested in each individual subject, you will LOVE this museum! For instance, in one afternoon at this museum you could watch an amazing demonstration of how antique musical automata work, followed by a visit to a thriving bee colony, followed by a walk into a room filled with brilliantly-colored phosphorescent rocks. There is not much in the way of less-interesting, related information; the bees, and the brilliant displays next to them about bees, were not next to other displays about ants and termites and weevils and other social insects of the world. That was fine by me. To me, everything in the museum was randomly fascinating. If you go, try to go at a time that will include 2pm, because that's when a docent will give you a tour through the musical automata, and that is a wonderful experience. Our docent today was Shep, who was utterly charming. When he started up the musical instruments, it was truly magical - I felt like I was standing in a dance hall from 100 years ago. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paige W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    36
    13
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family friendly & accessible museum”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

There are so many wonderful exhibits that rotate through the Morris Museum. The permanent collections are great also. There are often interactive exhibits and then there's the ever popular train exhibit. The Murdoch (permanent) Automata are fabulous. There are also many on-site and outreach educational programs, lectures and a small theatre. It is well with the trip for everyone.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank unjeriajackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice day trip”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We took our elementary-aged kids to this museum and we all enjoyed it. It was interesting for adults, and also had some interactive exhibits for kids. There's a variety of exhibits to keep it interesting. We spent about 2-3 hours there.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EYK999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Waster of Time”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nothing for younger kids to do-very boring-wasted our money in there-literally in there for under 10 minutes

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The automata are fascinating!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We'd heard about this museum shortly after the movie "Hugo" came out, and we went to see the Automata exhibit. I was amazed by the massive collection, and we took the guided tour through the exhibit which involved watching some of the machines working. This was really cool, and I highly recommend it--however, this might not be for little ones. Some of the automatons might be a bit intimidating for kids, and they might not appreciate the advanced mechanics of them.

The only reason I'm not giving a full five stars was that the rest of the museum seemed a little lacking, especially after seeing the automata exhibit. Looking at other reviews, it seems like perhaps we missed some very interesting temporary exhibits, so I would absolutely recommend this museum.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank weemurree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morris Museum also viewed

 
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Morris Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing