We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a walk....Great for a mountain bike”
Review of Lewis Morris Park

Lewis Morris Park
Ranked #8 of 29 things to do in Morristown
Attraction details
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
699 reviews
335 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Good for a walk....Great for a mountain bike”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Today we walked on a part of the Patriot's trail. I am always looking for a new place to go, so Lewis Morris was a first. It's Eastern woodlands with ups and downs, with some wide sections, and all of it marked with blazes. It was peace and quiet with only 3 bikers and 4 hikers. Sunrise Lake would be worth a visit in the summer for a swim. The entire place is well maintained.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mountain Biking”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great Moderate Single Track Mountain Biking - Just Fun. Can rent a bike at Martys Reliable Cycle! This is the biggest attraction for our friends who come for the weekend to stay and play. Dogs allowed on leash

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always a Pleasure”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

It's history in our backyard. You really stop and think that this is where our heritage was started. The calm walk and the gentle environment was not the case when Washington's troops were camped here. Definitely see the movie about life at the camp. I have never seen winters in NJ qute the same. Heat, medicine, boots were all lacking. I love the herb garden at all times of th year.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahRebeccaCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendham, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice selection of loop trails”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We hike here regularly. The selection of loop trails lets us make our hikes longer or shorter. The trails are well-maintained by the park, though the mountain bikes do some damage. We don't mind sharing the trail with them, if they don't leave trash behind (a peeve). There is a dog park that is popular with dog owners, and every halloween dogs in costume reign.

Groups regularly use the picnic facilities and the baseball diamonds. Sunset Lake has a small imported sand beach and a life guard for swimmers, though we have never swum there.

Our interest is primarily in the trails.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great open land area.”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

good for any sport, nice open grounds, lake atmosphere, as well as bike terrains. Also have a dog park, cool for kids to just watch them play together, behind a fence.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank lou d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lewis Morris Park also viewed

 

Been to Lewis Morris Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing