We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice! Different”

GK's Red Dog Tavern
Ranked #7 of 159 Restaurants in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice! Different”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Not too many choices in the menu, but a lot of times for food on the run but tasty, this was excellent. Nice selection of beers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vens007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    59
    30
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good spot for informal meal”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Food was good, as was service. It was rather noisy, however, and a little hard to carry on a conversation.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank hmmullett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Providence, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Food and Drink”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We hadn't been here in a while so we decided to stop in. We were seated right away in a booth and the wait staff was very good. We had the open faced turkey and the chicken pot pie and the portions were more than enough. We will be going back again for sure.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Det963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
836 reviews
510 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Noisy, But Good Food”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Noisy, But Good Food

Last Friday night we checked out GK’s Red Dog Tavern, which is located in the same building as Rod’s Steak & Seafood Grill, and also where the old railroad dining cars are located. The tavern, which is on the right as you enter the reception area of this lavishly decorated restaurant complex, used to be the site of the original Rod’s Ranch House which had a log exterior. Boy, have things changed since the 50’s, especially the prices.

We found Red Dog’s to be very crowded and noisy which made it extremely difficult to enjoy or hear what any one was saying at our table of four. On the brighter side, all our diners were very good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MitchPhyllis65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Amazing Food & Service”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Great place for a burger, appetizers and drinks with friends. The chef: Gustavo is not only an amazing cook but an artist, too. Awesome presentation of each dish and delicious flavors. Our waiter was also really cool and helpful. We'll definitely go back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carowilson85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed GK's Red Dog Tavern also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to GK's Red Dog Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing