We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Morristown National Historical Park, Washington Headquarters and Museum
Ranked #3 of 29 things to do in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sandcastles in Morristown NJ”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Sandcastle of George Washington is on the lawn next to Morris county Court house for short time. It was sculpted yesterday during the Annual Morristown Fall Festival. Morris Twp Destination Stop with a football of course for Football Season.

On view for only 3 to 4 weeks depending on weather conditions of course., Worth a view for locals. Enjoy

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    38
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
489 reviews
282 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Visitors can pick up passes for the house tour at the visitor center gift shop. While you wait, you can view two galleries on the first floor, as well as a 20 minute video and gallery in the basement. The house tour guide was nice and the historical facts were interesting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank honestrealreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Washington's Headquarters”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I went to this site because I love history. I found the 50 minute tour to be insightful and interesting. The museum is small but it appears that an expansion is planned. The gift shop too is tiny but very well stocked. Overall, I would recommend to those who are interested in American history.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gleter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great experience when combined with Ford tour (part of grounds and price).”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Interesting museum with some great artifacts. I enjoyed seeing things I've seen before only in photos (Washings bust and portrait). Having read about the revolutionary war I found it interesting to see the writings that sparked the revolution. Surprisingly there are only 3 parts open and a video on tv explaining the history. It's clearly a work in progress and has much more potential. When mixed with the Ford Mansion tour (included and close) it's definitely worth the money and interesting. It's not as huge as some other NPS locations, and without the mansion tour it would be a little light, but both together is a great experience.

I brought my kids (6 & 5). They enjoyed some things but had a hard time slowing down enough to appreciate it (no surprise there). Kids can enjoy it but it takes a bit of help from the parent (not problem). I printed and brought the Jr Ranger workbook. They were engaged for most of it (puzzles and making a park) and had fun finding how many George Washingtons were in the museum. At the end they both really lit up to get a real certificate and badge to be a Jr Ranger. Worth my time printing it by far. I'd recommend this and the walking trails of the soldiers encampment (a few miles away) I'm sure the kids would love the mix (I did nto make the trails part). Overall the museum and Ford tour were worthwhile for kids and they did say they had fun. I sure enjoyed it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilot8766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monclova, ohio
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Washington Headquarters Quick History Lesson”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The Headquarters tour was a short walk through history, and a reality check on the 'luxurious' quarters that were shared! Great way to make history come alive!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morristown National Historical Park, Washington Headquarters and Museum also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Morristown National Historical Park, Washington Headquarters and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing