We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good "express" lunch value”
Review of Malay

Malay
Ranked #28 of 156 Restaurants in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
sparta, nj
Level Contributor
559 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Good "express" lunch value”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Can't beat the express lunch menu for $8.95 from 11:30 am to 3 pm. Got pad Thai which came with cup of soup with tofu, carrots, cabbage in light broth; main entree (choice of shrimp, chicken or vegetarian); and 2 small spring rolls with plum sauce. Very tasty. My daughter had the lettuce rolls with chicken, served with soup, two spring rolls, and white rice. She thought her meal was good. Fast. Inexpensive. Arrived 1 pm and numerous diners there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank b d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This isn't the best Thai food we have had but it is decent. The service is friendly and prompt, the only thing that I wasn't happy about is that the entries were not brought out together, we had to wait about 5 mins for the second entree thus th first started to get cold.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florham Park, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Thai”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The authentic Thai dishes at Malay are the best I have had in New Jersey. Service is excellent and you even get complimentary delicious cookies as a treat after your meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
179 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Warmed me up on a cold Wednesday night!”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Was looking for something different for dinner, and found Malay. The restaurant was pretty quiet when I arrived around 7pm, but got busier as the night progressed. The duck salad was amazing! Light yet tasty dressing on the lettuce topped with a large grilled duck breast. Being 5 degrees outside, I opted for the chicken and shrimp curry soup. It was delicious! Chock full of shredded chicken and noodles with 5-6 good size shrimp in a curried coconut milk broth. Very reasonable prices for a wonderful dinner. A complimentary peanut cookie at the end of dinner was a nice touch! I'll be back again soon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SPG-BA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“the real thing”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

outstanding Thai and Malaysian offerings in a chic modern interior Malay has everything going for it. The staff and service is excellent and the food consistently outstanding. I have been here five or six times and have never been disappointed.
The appetizers like roti canai, Malaysian curry puffs and the Thai lettuce wrap are so good that two of have ordered all three .
All the dishes are well spiced- those of you who want mind blowing heat may want more pepper on the side but this a menu that is full of assertive and distinctive flavors and it won't disappoint you.
you can't go wrong with any of the red or green curry dishes or the Thai Basil but you should try the Belcan Sauce string beans- the shrimp sauce is described as "pungent and spicy" and it is in truly unique and delicious way. The Malaysian Buddhist Delight is a lightly flavored dish and the vegetables shine- a perfect foil to the strong flavors of other dishes. I was surprised to find Szechuan Mapo Bean curd on the menu- it was a good as I have ever had.
Seafood is well prepared and there is red snapper, flounder, sea bass, shrimp and squid prepared in curry, in Blecan and Penang sauce, Thai sauce... the list goes on.

Malay is a BYO and it can get crowded and a little noisy when it's full. It's also a terrifically authentic restaurant with a menu that is worth exploring.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJ51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malay also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Malay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing