We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend”
Review of The Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Madison Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Camillus, New York
1 review
“Great Weekend”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We were impressed with the service and staff,beginning with the planning of our weekend visit to the area,to the dining experiences,services and directions to various sites.As a former resident of the area (30+years ago),I was amazed at all of building and new highways.We especially appreciated the knowledge of the staff in reference to the historical sites.
The accomaditions were "top shelf".We would highly recommend this magnificent hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 752FrankG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for posting comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to hear that you were impressed with the service and the staff as well as the "top shelf" accomodations. Thank you for recommending the Madison Hotel and for calling the property magnificent. We look forward to having you as a guest whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    216
    84
    24
    12
See reviews for
210
187
47
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Our family was visiting the Universities in the area and it seemed like a perfect destination. The hotel and staff exceeded our expectations. The Madison Hotel is neatly landscaped and unassuming from the exterior, establishing the personal, private experience. The interior feels like a comfortable, well visited mansion, with tile foyer, Victorian woodwork, leather chairs and every amenity. As you walk in to the lobby, you are first greeted by the doorman, then the hotel staff, and finally a small buffet of cookies, coffee and lemonade. The rooms are large, well appointed and well maintained. The robust continental breakfast is held in the lobby and all guests meet and mingle while seated at small tables, the fireplace area or the spacious patio. An interesting convenience is it's proximity to the NJ transit line at Convent Station.

Room Tip: Adjoining rooms are available for families, a real benefit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for posting comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. It was nice to hear the hotel and staff exceeded your expectations and that the rooms were large well appointed and well maintained. I was also happy to hear you enjoyed our welcome treats of cookies and lemonade that we serve during prime check in time as well as our coffee, tea and hot chocolate served 24 hours a day. We hope you enjoyed your visits to the local universities and hope you will stay with us whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a wedding and was very pleased with our experience. The historic hotel is beautifully decorated. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The room was very clean and comfortable, equipped with a Keurig for that early morning cup of coffee. Even though they offer a continental breakfast, we opted for the Sunday brunch in Rod's, which is in the hotel. Food was outrageous. Would recommend it to anyone for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckie217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for posting comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. I am glad you were very pleased with your experience and found the staff friendly and accomodating and the room very clean and comfortable. We all appreciate you saying the hotel is lovely and we appreciate you recommending us. Please stay with us again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband and I loved the Madison. We were invited to a conference in Morris township. The hotel was recommended by the conference host and we were not disappointed. The staff was very accommodating and Diana was the best. I felt like I was staying at a very homey mansion. As we had arrived by train we had no local transportation and staff provided a shuttle to the local Century 21.
My husband determined that attempting to take three trains back to JFk that we would need car service. Karen then arranged for us to be picked up. We have stayed at some very upscale hotels (kimpton, Hilton, Sheraton, etc.) but value for dollar I would have to say The Madison is a Hotel of Excellence.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NettaHollinsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for posting comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. I am glad you had a wonderful, relaxing experience and that you found the staff accomodating and Dianna the best. In addition, your comment that the Madison Hotel is a "Hotel of Excellence" is much appreciated. We hope you will stay with us whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I was at the hotel for 2 weeks and it was quite comfortable/ great workout facility/ wonderful staff/ free wi-fi/ always free, fresh coffee in the lobby/ spacious rooms/ very convenient to Drew University

Room Tip: I prefer first floor - easy access, and closer to spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for your business and for posting comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate it. Over the two weeks you stayed with us you had many opportunities to experience all that our staff and facility had to offer and it was wonderful to read your qoute, "Great staff and service" because it means that we are consistently providing both a great product and great service which is obviously what we want to do. Thank you again and we look forward to having you as a guest whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I stayed at The Madison Hotel while attending an Archivists Conference at Drew University. It is a lovely small hotel with every service and comfort. It also is beautifully decorated and landscaped. The room was spacious and very comfortable.
While there on a Friday and Saturday night, I noted two weddings and was told by one of the guests that The Madison was a popular venue for weddings and anniversary parties. There are two very fine places to eat attached to the Hotel and the train station to Penn Station in New York is one block away at the back of the Hotel. There is a lovely indoor swimming pool and an exercise room. I especially enjoyed the breakfast in the Lobby area. And there are beautiful places to walk. THis hotel is located in a very nice residential area.
The service was friendly and efficient by all of the staff I encountered.
When I come back to the New York area, this is where I will come to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate it. It was truly a pleasure reading about the things you enjoyed about our property. Thank you for sharing and we look forward to having you as a guest whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballwin, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

If so, stay at the Madison in Morristown, New Jersey. Lovely hotel. Comfy beds. Quality breakfast with real flatware and dishes. Quiet, clean rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. The courtyard was fabulous, very relaxing and beautiful with lots of flowers and trees. We stayed 2 nights and it was definitely one of the top (if not the top) hotel experiences we've ever had. The pool area was very clean, but a little too warm. This hotel seemed to host lots of weddings, but we weren't bothered at all by the events. We'd definitely return if we're ever in the area again.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the beautiful courtyard. It was a pricey hotel, but we Loved it! There w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 83Dana77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for posting comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed our comfy beds, quality breakfast, quiet and clean rooms as well as our friendly, helpful staff. FYI, the courtyard is one of my favorite things about the property also. You should see it in the spring when the flowers first bloom. I am glad you had such a wonderful experience and look forward to your return if you ever visit NYC or northern NJ again.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morristown
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Morristown Inn
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Morristown
Hyatt Regency Morristown
#5 of 5 in Morristown
933 reviews
1.2 mi away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#3 of 5 in Morristown
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
1.5 mi away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
5.2 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hotel

Property: The Madison Hotel
Address: 1 Convent Rd, Morristown, NJ 07960-6922
Region: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
#1 Business Hotel in Morristown
#1 Family Hotel in Morristown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Madison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Morristown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing