We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Relaxing, busy time i've ever had!!!”
Review of The Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Madison Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Let me start by saying how very beautiful the city of Morristown was for me! Being from a city like Chicago, although beautiful in it's own way, it is very important for me to "get away from it all" from time to time. While this was a very busy ministry conference trip for me, the beauty, nostalgic atmosphere, and the friendly nature of the staff at the Madison Hotel constantly gave me a feeling of peace and relaxation, which made my busy time at our conference go so much more smoothly. While some hotels can be hit or miss in terms of their courtesy and attending to your expectations, I can honestly say that at no point did I encounter any problem that wasn't met with a smile and a quick resolution, and with our conference being held elsewhere, the 24/7 FREE access to the business center was such a life saver for me! In all, my travel this time was without my wife, but The Madison is at the very top of my list for a return trip, this time as a romantic getaway, for it has romance written all over it! Thank you to all of the staff!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear you found the hotel peaceful and relaxing and look forward to having you and your wife as guests in the future. We have two great packages that you and your wife might enjoy called the Romance Package and the Restore the Magic Package. Feel free to visit our website for further details and thanks again for your kind words.

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 850 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

A large, family-owned hotel. Very nice rooms, extremely comfortable beds. Friendly, helpful staff. Very popular for weddings, parties and meetings, but still retains it's warm charm and friendly atmosphere. Elegant furnishings and a lovely fireplace in the lobby, with comfy seating and an old world feel about it. Some other nice touches:- free continental breakfast; free loan of kindles or books; free coffee 24 hours; free internet in the lobby. There is an indoor pool, hot tub and a work-out room. The hotel has two main restaurants, "Rod's" an upscale steakhouse and the "Red Dog" pub. There are also some renovated Victorian railway cars which have been turned into dining rooms - very nice. Outdoor seating and fire-places in the courtyard. We ate at Rod's and the food was outstanding, as was the service. They have live music Saturday nights. Sunday brunch was also excellent and reasonably priced with great selections (we were very impressed by the freshness of the fruits and salads), and everything was beautifully presented - we ate till we couldn't move! We had a very enjoyable stay, and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njhounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

What a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. I am glad you were able to partake in all that our property had to offer and even if you did not partake you were aware of all the available amenities and the overall value included in your nightly room rate. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We look forward to having you as a guest again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The hotel is not very conveniently located, so if you do not have a car, you should not tay here. Though I must say the convent train station is 2 mins walk. The staff is friendly and helpful, the room is adequate and functional. Though the mini bar in my room was not stocked. The breakfast could have been more elaborate, there are simply no hot options.

Ate dinner at Rods next to the hotel and that was a expensive (USD 95 per person, without drinks and dessert) but good meal.

Room Tip: The higher floors are better....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VnKl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. I see you booked through Expedia and you mentioned the lack of a hot breakfast and a mini bar so my question is did something on their website lead you to believe that we had stocked mini bars and complimentary hot breakfast. I am sure you would have enjoyed your stay even more if you had the correct information and expectations. The room you were in did have a refrigerator and microwave and of course our highly regarded complimentary continental breakfast as advertised on our website so I am not sure where you received your information. In the future if you would like traditional hot breakfast items they are available for a nominal fair price in Rod's Steak and Seafood Grille. In addition, we have a second restaurant named GK's Red Dog Tavern that has many lower priced standard tavern entrees. I believe you ate in our award winning, fine dining restaurant and I was happy to hear you enjoyed your meal. Lastly, I am sorry my front desk did not make you aware of the entertainment in Rod's Steak and Seafood Grille or the myriad of possibilities available in Madison, Morristown or even NYC which is only a short train ride away for even less money then it would cost in gas and parking fees if you were to drive there. So, I hope with this additional information that you will stay with us again and you will be able to grade us Excellent instead of Very Good. Thank you and hopefully we will see you soon.

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Nothing else to say, but don't hesitate to stay here. There are no odd smells in the lobbies, the sheets on the bed were truly white and crisp, the carpeting vacuumed, and the Happy Hour bar cute and retro-feeling. Came in for one night as had tickets to a concert at a neighborhood venue, just 2 miles away and super convenient! Didn't get up early enough to take advantage of the continental breakfast, but considering the quality and overall ambiance of this hotel, i would bet it's a hit. If you are looking for truly modern amenities and a huge his and hers bath, this isn't for you. Suffice it to say it was wonderfully classic, clean and comfortable :)

Room Tip: Fourth floor is a good bet to find quiet and a location away from the busy street outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for providing such wonderful feedback: "Loved this hotel: classy, elegant, attentive staff, a delight" and "don't hesitate to stay here" as well as "wonderfully classic, clean and comfortable". We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our friends were married in the beautiful conservatory section of the hotel, which was decorated in gorgeous fall colors. The cocktail party was in an adjacent large room, which was also decorated beautifully, including a swan ice sculpture. The hors d'oeuvres were delicious, the drinks varied and plentiful; the servers and bar tender were attentive and professional. The wedding dinner included a choice of beef, seafood or chicken, again very good. The rooms are extremely clean and the beds are very comfortable, with firm mattresses. The indoor pool and the hot tub are the cleanest I have every seen, and again, beautifully decorated. The "continental" breakfast is very generous, with cereal, yogerts, bagels, croissants, muffins, fruit, juices, toaster, and lots of coffee. The reception area had a huge fireplace and lots of very comfortable seating for groups to congregate in. The staff is polite, friendly, professional, and attentive. I recommend this hotel for anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ardende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

What are pleasure to read how much you enjoyed the hotel and the wedding that was held here. Thank you for saying the guestrooms where extremely clean with comfortable beds, the pool and hot tub were the cleanest you have ever seen, the breakfast was generous and the staff was polite, friendly, professional and attentive and most importantly that you would recommend us to anyone. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will stay with us again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ in the future.

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very nice and clean room. Friendly front desk. The restaurant inside is awesome. One of the best steaks I ate. My wife tried their seafood also was impressed.
The pricing for NJ was a steal. A lot of free parking.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank kremlinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your business and are happy you found the room nice and clean, the front desk staff friendly and the restaurant awesome with one of the best steaks you have ever had. Rod's Steak and Seafood Grille is an award winning restaurant and I am glad you were able to partake in some of its delicious entrees. Thank you again and we look forward to having you as a guest whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We recently spent a Saturday night at the Madison Hotel, as we were in the area to visit Shanghai Jazz in Madison, and decided to make it an overnight "Date Night" rather than drive home after the performance. We were very impressed with this hotel's service, facilities and value. Comments on specific aspects follow:

Check-in/check-out: Seamless. Our prepaid reservation was recognized immediately at check-in, as soon as I gave our last name. There was no waiting for check-out on Sunday morning; we simply dropped off our key cards and departed.

Common areas: Lobby and hallways are immaculate and well-appointed. The lobby is especially nice - we enjoyed coffee by the fireplace. Low, popcorn-tile ceilings in hallways do slightly undercut the otherwise luxurious, antebellum look of the property. Event spaces are very attractive, especially the glass-enclosed Conservatory, which is understandably popular for medium-sized weddings. The main ballroom, which accommodates a larger crowd, might be a bit dark.

Amenities: The small gym is pleasantly bright, and has the standard hotel equipment: mostly aerobic, plus a universal rig for simple weight-training; a single TV serves all stations. The adjacent pool/spa area is bright and clean, with no heavy chlorine scent. The jets in the whirlpool are rather weak, so don't expect much relief for aching muscles.

Room: We had a third-floor room with king bed, facing the small interior courtyard. The room was clean, large and well-supplied with K-cup coffees and teas. Bed was comfortable - maybe a bit on the soft side for some tastes. Noise was not bad, considering the presence of a wedding party down the hall, the elevators nearby and the train station up the road. I wouldn't call the walls thick - just adequate. The bathroom was quite nice: modern, comfortable and stocked with good-quality toiletries (though the blood-orange additives were a bit harsh for my sensitive skin). Dual-mode shower head is a nice touch; the water pressure seemed a bit low to get the full benefit from the shower-massage head. Climate control was responsive - we turned up the heat as the night turned chilly, and everything worked well.

Extras: Free hot beverages are available 24/7 in the lobby, and seem to be refilled regularly. We were pleasantly surprised by the complimentary breakfast: lots of good fresh fruit and decent baked goods with nice jams and preserves. There were hard-boiled eggs, but no other hot entrees - a relief for us, because we ate too much all weekend anyway. We did not eat at the hotel restaurants; they seem rather pricey for the area.

Overall: Some purists may be put off by the faux-Confederate decor of the Madison. If you want the real thing, drive to Virginia. For a Holiday Inn price, this is about as close as you will get to Southern hospitality in Northern Jersey. Kudos to the Madison. We'll be back!

Note to fellow cheapskates: We booked through P*******e, naming our own price at a level that I consider an all-time date-night bargain.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard seem to be a safe choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigblueblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We truly appreciate it and look forward to having you as a guest whenever you are ready for another date night. Thank you for staying with us and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Scott McArthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morristown
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Morristown
Hyatt Regency Morristown
#5 of 5 in Morristown
1,028 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Morristown Inn
1.6 mi away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#3 of 5 in Morristown
412 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
10.1 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hotel

Address: 1 Convent Rd, Morristown, NJ 07960-6922
Region: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
#1 Business Hotel in Morristown
#1 Family Hotel in Morristown
Price Range: £110 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Madison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Morristown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing