We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and welcoming!”
Review of The Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Madison Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming and welcoming!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The first thing that struck my husband and I was the charming exterior, which when lit up in the evening, is even more attractive. Once inside we were impressed by the beautiful lobby decor. Our room was comfortable, clean, and elegant. Best of all, was the friendly greeting and disposition of the staff. No request was too small or too large for them. The manager on duty, Ms. Scareon, was especially helpful and kind. This was our first visit to The Madison Hotel. We came to see a show at the Mayo Performing Arts Center (also a must-see theater). We plan to return often!! Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your business and your kind words. I showed your review to Nadia and she as well as I was very appreciative. I was thrilled to hear you found the lobby beautiful, and the guestroom clean, comfortable and elegant. We are very excited to hear you will return often and look forward to having you as a guest whenever you do.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    214
    83
    24
    12
See reviews for
208
186
47
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
256 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The minute you enter the lobby your know that you are in a first class property. You will not be disappointed, the rooms are nicely decorated, clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel provides a nice continental plus breakfast. There are 2 restaurants at the hotel one which provides fine dining , and the other which has a bar menu with casual dining.

Room Tip: If the occasional sound of train whistle bothers you ask for a room where you will not hear the soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryR37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for saying we are a first class, nicely decorated property with clean and well maintained rooms, a good complimentary breakfast and helpful and friendly staff. We appreciate your business and kind words and look forward to having you as a guest whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I recently stayed here for my birthday and got the birthday package, what a deal! When I walked in the hotel I was thrilled to see how beautiful it was. The fireplace was a nice touch. Because it was my birthday they upgraded me. The room was AMAZING! They had a huge continental breakfast and it was delicious. The staff was so friendly and Rebecca was great. I definitely will be returning again! No wonder why they are number one in the Morristown area!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Happy Birthday! I am glad to hear you chose to celebrate with us. It was a pleasure reading that you found the breakfast delicious, the room amazing and the staff friendly. I will be sure to make sure Rebecca sees your post. I know she will be very appreciative. We look forward to you returning and we hope to see you soon.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This 75 year old hotel has maintained all the warmth and hospitality of a bygone era, but has incorporated all the technology that our modern life demands. What a great weekend with superb food and service. Don't miss this outstanding establishment if you ever visit Morristown and its surrounds. Great venue for weddings!

Room Tip: All the rooms, especially on the fourth floor, are void of any traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thud200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your business and your kind words. We all really appreciate it. We look forward to having you as a guest whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This was our first trip to Madison. Our oldest child will be a university student nearby in the fall and we will definitely make this our regular hotel when we visit the area. The lobby area was so beautiful and inviting, yet the rooms were modern and restful. Very nice visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhyllisBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We are thrilled to hear you will be a regular visitor at The Madison Hotel when your oldest child attends a local university. We are the hotel of choice for many family and friends of students or faculty that attend Drew University, Fairleigh Dickinson University, Seton Hall University and Seton Hall University and look forward to having you spend some time with us. Thank you for your business and your comments. We hope to see you soon.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Hotel is very clean and the lobby tastefully decorated as was the room. The huge bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The downside was that the doors had to be slammed shut which proved noisy during the night and you could hear other residents quite clearly as they passed in the corridor. The heating system wasn't great as it is fan assisted heat only so was unable to have them on even low during the night as they were too noisy. It was the middle of a very cold spell so ambient heating was needed. The breakfast although very good was in the lobby and therefore seating was sparse and ended up eating breakfast on my knee on a sofa amongst people checking out! We used the restaurant in the evening which was rather expensive, as was the wine the cheapest being around $40 for a bottle of house wine. In spite of the downs i would probably stay again as it was close to the train station and therefore handy for a day trip to New York. The staff were very friendly and the service in the restaurant was very good although we did seem to wait a long time for the food to arrive.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineYaxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate your business and we were thrilled to read you found the hotel very clean and tastefully decorated, the bed the most comfortable you ever slept in, the breakfast good and the staff helpful and very friendly. We look forward to you staying with us again and hope you will do so whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover Plains, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. My husband and I stayed over a Saturday night, and wished we had the time to stay much longer. We checked reviews before coming, and saw some that were not good. I don't know how anyone could ever say something bad about this hotel. Everything was perfect, especially the staff. We ate at the restaurant, Rod's Steakhouse. That too was a great experience. The food, the atmosphere, even the price was just right. And to top off our stay, the free continental breakfast was incredible, fresh fruit,delicious coffee, pastries, Danish, etc., all fresh and high quality. We will definitely be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tess1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you from one former resident of Dutchess County, NY to a current resident. Thanks for making the trip down and staying with us. We all truly appreciate the business. No worries about a few negative comments, although we try to perfect for everyone sometimes we may fall short. In spite of that we have been voted by Trip Advisor guests the number one ranked full service hotel in Morristown for over three years now and we are the number ranked full service hotel in all of Morris County by a wide margin. Thank you for saying we are one of the nicest hotels you have stayed in, with an excellent staff and an incredible free breakfast with fresh, high quality food. In addition, it was great to hear that your dinner in our restaurant Rod's was a great experience. We look forward to you staying with us again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morristown
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Morristown Inn
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Morristown
Hyatt Regency Morristown
#4 of 5 in Morristown
907 reviews
1.2 mi away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#3 of 5 in Morristown
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
1.5 mi away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
5.2 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hotel

Property: The Madison Hotel
Address: 1 Convent Rd, Morristown, NJ 07960-6922
Region: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Morristown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
#1 Family Hotel in Morristown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Madison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Morristown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing