We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Madison Hotel”
Review of The Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Madison Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
“The Madison Hotel”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I frequently stay at the Madison. It is comfortable and cozy. The rooms have recently been upgraded which makes it equal to any other fine hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel offers a local shuttle service which saves on car rentals. I recently stayed there with my family and they all loved it! I can't say enough about the Madison Hotel and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyPR_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. It was to pleasure reading that your family enjoyed their stay and you found the hotel comfortable and cozy with staff that is "extremely helpful and friendly". Also, I cannot thank you enough for your loyalty to The Madison Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again and again.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    216
    84
    24
    12
See reviews for
210
187
47
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Madison is simply a great hotel. Superb location, staff, decor, amenities, comfort, etc. The on premise dining options are simply outstanding. This hotel represents everything that you could want in a hotel and I enthusiastically recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay. We truly appreciate it and I cannot thank you enough for recommending us. We look forward to having you as a guest whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stay here often. The staff doesn't turn over like it does in many chains, so when you walk in, there's usually someone there who remembers you.
One of the bonuses of this place is the facilities, from a gym, a pool and one of the best restaurants all in one building, it's a complete place to stay.

One of the things I truly enjoy is the staff. From the moment I check-in, till time to go, it's an effortless action. There are two people who work the front desk that I believe deserve a note of appreciation; Christine the Room Mgr and Nadia who seems to work 24 hours a day. These two have helped me in countless ways throughout multiple stays. One night in particular Nadia went above and beyond to get me a last minute meal from the chef - even though technically it was past the closing hour of the kitchen staff. Christine makes checking in a pleasurable experience while making me feel like I'm a co-owner. A nod to Megan too, she can find anything in that computer system, especially when blessed with a last name like mine that might be spelled in multiple ways.

Room service always shows up hot too! Now when was the last time you got hot food in a chain hotel?!

Thank you Madison Hotel Staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the North Parking Lot if you want to sleep late on weekends or Restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintlySins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review, I cannot tell you how proud I am of ALL my team members and to read how beautifully you recognized Christine, Nadia and Megan made me even prouder. I will make sure each one of them gets a chance to read your review and I know they will be very happy and excited to see what you have to say. I cannot agree with you more in regards to The Madison Hotel, I am blessed with a beautiful product, with two outstanding restaurants, excellent amenities and a staff dedicated to making each and every one of our guests feel special, like they are at there home away from home. I don't understand why anyone would stay anywhere else! We truly appreciate your business and look forward to having you as a guest whenever you visit northern NJ or NYC.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very comfortable. The rooms are a nice size and offers a table and comfortable chair suitable for longer stays. The restaurants in the hotel are also very good and offers both fine dining as well as pub fair. My only critical comment is that the continental breakfast could be better to accommodate business travelers but overall this is a small complaint.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hawkeye4245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate it. We are glad you found the hotel comfortable, the rooms a nice size and the restaurants very good. For an alternative to our complimentary deluxe cold breakfast buffet we do serve breakfast in our fine dining restaurant for a nominal fee. We hope you will stay with us whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The first thing that struck my husband and I was the charming exterior, which when lit up in the evening, is even more attractive. Once inside we were impressed by the beautiful lobby decor. Our room was comfortable, clean, and elegant. Best of all, was the friendly greeting and disposition of the staff. No request was too small or too large for them. The manager on duty, Ms. Scareon, was especially helpful and kind. This was our first visit to The Madison Hotel. We came to see a show at the Mayo Performing Arts Center (also a must-see theater). We plan to return often!! Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your business and your kind words. I showed your review to Nadia and she as well as I was very appreciative. I was thrilled to hear you found the lobby beautiful, and the guestroom clean, comfortable and elegant. We are very excited to hear you will return often and look forward to having you as a guest whenever you do.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The minute you enter the lobby your know that you are in a first class property. You will not be disappointed, the rooms are nicely decorated, clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel provides a nice continental plus breakfast. There are 2 restaurants at the hotel one which provides fine dining , and the other which has a bar menu with casual dining.

Room Tip: If the occasional sound of train whistle bothers you ask for a room where you will not hear the soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryR37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for saying we are a first class, nicely decorated property with clean and well maintained rooms, a good complimentary breakfast and helpful and friendly staff. We appreciate your business and kind words and look forward to having you as a guest whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I recently stayed here for my birthday and got the birthday package, what a deal! When I walked in the hotel I was thrilled to see how beautiful it was. The fireplace was a nice touch. Because it was my birthday they upgraded me. The room was AMAZING! They had a huge continental breakfast and it was delicious. The staff was so friendly and Rebecca was great. I definitely will be returning again! No wonder why they are number one in the Morristown area!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Happy Birthday! I am glad to hear you chose to celebrate with us. It was a pleasure reading that you found the breakfast delicious, the room amazing and the staff friendly. I will be sure to make sure Rebecca sees your post. I know she will be very appreciative. We look forward to you returning and we hope to see you soon.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morristown
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Morristown Inn
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Morristown
Hyatt Regency Morristown
#5 of 5 in Morristown
933 reviews
1.2 mi away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#3 of 5 in Morristown
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
1.5 mi away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
5.2 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hotel

Property: The Madison Hotel
Address: 1 Convent Rd, Morristown, NJ 07960-6922
Region: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morristown
#1 Business Hotel in Morristown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Madison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Morristown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing