We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madison Hotel”
Review of The Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Madison Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Madison Hotel”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend and cannot say enough about how great our experience was! We were greeted warmly and sincerely by Wally the bartender at the tavern who although very busy took some time to chat with us about things to do in Morristown, and the upcoming World Cup.Our room was beautiful and all the staff pleasant and professional. Having the train station across the street makes it so convenient to try out the bars and restaurants and historical sites of Morristown.

Room Tip: We got a great rate through booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamilu626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words. We all appreciate them (especially Wally) and were glad to read that you found our rooms beautiful, our staff pleasant and professional and our location relative to the train very convenient. We look forward to having you as a guest again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    217
    85
    24
    12
See reviews for
215
187
48
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

An old colonial building in a great setting and location. Rooms were large and very good, hotel is very large and had wedding receptions every day which made it busy. The breakfast in the price is probably the worst ever, better to go to the restaurant and pat extra for a great breakfast and good service. Steaks are great at the bar area too. Train to New York just across the car park.

Room Tip: Get breakfast in the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinc265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate it and hope you will stay with us again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were met at the Madison Hotel by Christinia P. She very happy to see us and answered all our questions with patience and did an awesome job with custoner service. We werenew to the area and her directions were spot-on. The hotel is beautiful, the service was top-notch. We will definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone wanting to visit NYC as it is located right next to rail service that takes you to downtown NYC. Christine gave us all the times and trains necessary to make our visit to the city go smoothly.

Room Tip: We don't think you can go wrong with this hotel! They have 2 onsight restaurants to choose from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
It was truly a pleasure reading your comments about our hotel. We are thrilled that you found the hotel beautiful with top notch service. Thank you for recognizing Christine, I made sure she saw your comment and she really appreciated it. We look forward to having you as a guest again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

a third stay at this lovely hotel..always very welcoming for reunions at Drew University in nearby Madison, NJ. The train to NYC convenient from the station just outside the hotel entrance. Beautiful setting, indoor pool, central courtyard, gorgeous landscape, comfortable beds, refrigerator and microwave in the room...staff super helpful and accommodating...wonderful place for wedding reception and other events. Restaurant on the grounds and Madison's downtown very close by. The breakfast is a favorite...NY bagels, rolls, sweets, fruit, yogurt, etc. etc and the best coffee!!....

Room Tip: a room away from the ballrooms is best...we like rooms above the first floor and overlooking the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tentative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. It was truly a pleasure reading that you found the hotel lovely, classy and cozy with a super helpful and accommodating staff, good breakfast and a easy commute from NYC. We appreciate you returning and hope you will continue to do so in the future. Please fell free to reach out to me if I may ever be of service.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, VA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We enjoyed an overnight at the Madison. We had a lovely room with a modern bathroom. All was clean and elegant. Breakfast was continental, but substantial. The hotel had the elegance of the past, but beautifully appointed with modern conveniences. It had a lovely pool and sun type room. This would be a great place for a wedding which i am certain they do plenty of. We did get one of those non-refundable internet rates which worked out fine for us,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. I was thrilled to read that you described the room as being lovely, clean and elegant and that you found the hotel beautifully appointed with modern conveniences and the elegance of the past. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to you returning whenever you visit northern NJ or NYC.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pomfret, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The very convenient N.J. transit train from Penn Station took us to Convent Station. As we
got off from the train we could see the hotel. It is a very short and easy walk from the station. We are alumni of Drew University and the Madison Hotel was perfect for our recent reunion weekend. It is pleasant, decorated in a lovely classic style, comfortable , and a very reasonable price for such a wonderful hotel. I love the pool and my husband and I both enjoyed the breakfast. This was our second stay and we will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyGeorge_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We really were very proud the be the host hotel for the Drew University Reunion and thrilled to hear you say that you would definitely stay with us again. As you said, our location is perfect for those arriving by train from NYC and we look forward to having you as a guest again in the near future.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

we spent three nights at this hotel for a family wedding. the rate for the wedding nights was great ($129) but not for any extra nite.
the hotel is decorated in a older style but everything is clean and nice. the rooms are big and clean and we had a very good sleep. bathrooms are really modern and nice
the venue for the wedding, the conservatory, was really amazing! it was a great choice for a family wedding and we will have great pictures and memories of the day..
the continental breakfast has lots of good choices, the only problem is that there is very little space for sitting and when we were there, with all the wedding and events going on at the same time, it was very crowded and hard to find a place to stay. they should have a designated space for breakfast and not use the lobby as there is not enough space/tables. also, since there is no space to sit, guests will use the patio outside which means a lot of noise for all the rooms facing the patio (impossible to sleep after 8am with all the noise on Sunday!).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessaX9220AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
I am glad you enjoyed the wedding in the Conservatory. It really is a special experience and I am thrilled that the bride and groom chose our hotel for their very special day. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We hope you will return and stay with us again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morristown
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Morristown Inn
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Morristown
Hyatt Regency Morristown
#5 of 5 in Morristown
939 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#3 of 5 in Morristown
367 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
5.2 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hotel

Property: The Madison Hotel
Address: 1 Convent Rd, Morristown, NJ 07960-6922
Region: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Morristown
#1 Family Hotel in Morristown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Madison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Morristown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing