We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic Meets Contemporary”
Review of The Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Madison Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Classic Meets Contemporary”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel is an older hotel and is classy looking from the outside. I was impressed by the service and the room. The bathroom toiletries are very good and a joy to use. It is true that this hotel is practically right next to the Convent Station NJ Transit train station. That is a plus for business travelers. This hotel also sits in an area where there are in the insurance business. I recommend this hotel especially for those business travelers.

A few points which can be pros or cons:
.After seeing this hotel and the entrance you will expect valet service and a bellhop. There were none at the ready even though there is a bellhop; he must be called upon to assist.
.The continental breakfast is okay. No meat provided and the hard boiled eggs had no taste. That was a first, perhaps they were not fresh? The fresh fruit was a major plus with many fresh blueberries.
.This hotel is used for many weddings and receptions. It is a nice place for them. We were there in June so the weekends are packed. This means not too many parking spaces are available. If you are handicapped there probably will be no spaces available if you arrive on a Saturday evening. Just be aware of this. We did and we had to park far.

Otherwise, enjoy this facility.

Room Tip: If a train whistle bothers you, ask for a room away from the train station. On the weekends, a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gstabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We really enjoyed your photos and appreciate your feedback. In response to your comment about hard boiled eggs I have throughout my life always found them to be rather bland tasting. For that reason and at our guests request we have always provided salt and pepper as a condiment to add a little flavor to them. If you have another condiment you recommend please let me know. Thanks again, I am thrilled that you were impressed with the service and look forward to having you as a guest again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    210
    81
    24
    12
See reviews for
204
182
47
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saco, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It was so nice to stay at a hotel that was unique (in other words, not part of a chain). The hotel was very attractive with beautiful decor throughout. Service was totally efficient and a terrific continental breakfast. Price was also very reasonable. Although his was a few miles off our route, I would definitely go out if my way to stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was excellent with no special request
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 730mh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We were thrilled to read that you found the hotel attractive with beautiful décor, the service efficient, the continental breakfast terrific and the price reasonable. We look forward to having you as a guest again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Thank you from the front desk, service desk down to the hotel maids and the G.K. Red Dog Tavern Staff. We definitely agree with their statement "Memorable Stay in a Classically Elegant Atmosphere". There is not much around the hotel but the Hotel itself gives you enough to see and do for a few days. The ambiance is unique. Loved it. Would go back and stay just because. I didn't offer comments on the Breakfast because we didn't have time to get any but it smelled and looked appetizing. I would love to have a small gathering here. See picture.

Room Tip: If they have a wedding reception and you go to sleep early you may want a room away from the pool si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vens007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate it and look forward to having you stay with us again. When you do please ask someone about all there is to see within a mile or two from the hotel in Morristown and/or Madison. You can even take the train for a nominal charge and be there in about 10 minutes. I am sire you will find enough to do and see to keep you busy. Thanks again and please visit soon.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I had the pleasure to stay at the Madison this week while traveling for business. This is my third stay at this property and it never disappoints. The hotel is truly a grande dame in beauty and the staff is friendly, helpful, and down to earth. Compared to other places that I stay for business travel, The Madison is heads above the rest. I highly recommend this property whenever you are staying in the Northern New Jersey area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeM581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank for your taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor as well as your loyalty to our hotel. We appreciate you returning to stay with us on a consistent basis and look forward to having you as a guest frequently in the future. I am glad we never have disappointed you in the past and I know we will all try our best to make sure we never do in the future.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We spent 2 days here and took the train to New York I day and spent a night there. The hotel held our bags till we returned. It is a beautiful hotel and so close to the train station. We walked to get the train and they also have a good complimentary breakfast with fresh fruit and nice bakery items and more. It was wonderful. The only complaint I have is the people at the front desk are not very friendly. They acted like they were annoyed they had to check you in and out. No smiles and friendly banter. Just did not make you feel welcome. Everything else was great and wonderful comfortable beds. Would stay there again, just don't expect much from the people at the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 409Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay. We all really appreciate them and are thrilled that you would stay with us again. I am sorry about the reception you received from our front desk staff and would love to hear more about it. Please call me at 862-345-5500 or email me at smcarthur@themadisonhotel.com and let me know what day and time you checked in. I truly apologize and as you can see from reading most of the other reviews below yours it truly is completely out of character for our team members to act that way. They are normally one of the best parts about staying with us based on what other guests have said (in fact many guests have been so impressed that they mentioned employees by name) so I really am interested in getting to the bottom of this so it never happens again. Again, I apologize and look forward to your response. We look forward to having you as a guest again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

When we were planning our wedding for June 9, 1984, we were searching for a hotel to stay after the wedding. I would occasionally drive pass the Madison Hotel and absolutely be loving the colonial look of the hotel and area. So, we booked our first night at the Madison and had a beautiful first night. On our fifth anniversary, 10th, 20th and occasionally an anniversary here and there we would return to the Madison and continued to have an awesome experience. This year is our 30th anniversary and we, again planned to spend the night at the Madison. Well, they gave us the MOST beautiful "Presidential Suite" for the evening that I will never forget!!!! I am still reliving that experience. Thank you Madison Hotel management for a beautiful 30th anniversary gift! :*** We also have absolutely LOVED the food at Rod's Ranch House and appreciate the "Romantic Package" that is available. We have recommended the Madison Hotel to everyone we know who is getting married and having an anniversary. Thank you, Scott! never met you, but want to sincerely THANK YOU! Rich and Karen Callahan

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in were beautiful, but this anniversary, wow, the "Presidential Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Happy 30th anniversary Rich and Karen! Best wishes for a healthy and happy future. It is truly our pleasure to celebrate with you not only your wedding 30 years ago but all your other milestones since then. We appreciate your loyalty and we are glad that on this special day we were able to upgrade you into our Presidential/Bridal Suite. We are glad you enjoyed it and appreciate your recommendations. Please feel free to reach out to me whenever we can be of service to you and we look forward to having you as a guest again and again.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend and cannot say enough about how great our experience was! We were greeted warmly and sincerely by Wally the bartender at the tavern who although very busy took some time to chat with us about things to do in Morristown, and the upcoming World Cup.Our room was beautiful and all the staff pleasant and professional. Having the train station across the street makes it so convenient to try out the bars and restaurants and historical sites of Morristown.

Room Tip: We got a great rate through booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamilu626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words. We all appreciate them (especially Wally) and were glad to read that you found our rooms beautiful, our staff pleasant and professional and our location relative to the train very convenient. We look forward to having you as a guest again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morristown
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Morristown
Hyatt Regency Morristown
#4 of 5 in Morristown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Morristown Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#2 of 5 in Morristown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
5.2 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hotel

Property: The Madison Hotel
Address: 1 Convent Rd, Morristown, NJ 07960-6922
Region: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morristown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
#1 Business Hotel in Morristown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Madison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Morristown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing