We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Madison Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Elegant Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had a fire at our apartment and needed a place to stay for the night. I booked the place online sight unseen and when we pulled up to the hotel we were wowed by its grandeur. This place is very elegant.The room was very large. We had 2 beds that were large as well as extremely comfortable. We didnt get a chance to use the amenities but did a quick tour prior to checking out. The pool area and atrium was gorgeous. There is plenty of parking onsite. We did participate in the free breakfast. Although there was not hot food station, there was hot water for oatmeal and hot chocolate. The buffet consisted of fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, cereal, pastries, breads, and protein bars. Its close to the train station to Penn and to local colleges and universities. We booked this place online through hotwire and paid a fraction of the regular price which made everything even better for us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaman411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
I am so glad to hear we were able to be there for you in your time of need. We are so sorry to hear about the fire. We all hope things turned out okay. Thank you for your kind words and we all look forward to having you as a guest again under better circumstances.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    203
    81
    23
    12
See reviews for
201
181
47
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colubus, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Nice old, hotel. Common areas quaint, great pool, and good restaurants. Rooms so-so: spacious, beds comfortable, older furniture beat up, tiles moldy, wallpaper peeling off. Wedding held the night we checked in. Loud, thumping base all evening and screaming kids in the halls. Hotel Shouldn't put guests with children on first floor during weddings or anyone not at wedding, for that matter. Kids and mom couldn't sleep until after midnight.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank navenr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for making me aware of your concerns. You are correct in saying that we should not put non wedding guests on the first floor and in almost all cases we do our best not too. In addition, parts of the first floor are far away from where weddings are held so in those instances it could be very quiet in those areas. I am not sure what situation caused you to be where you were however we would have been happy to move you if you desired. All you had to do was ask. I would love for you to call me at 862-345-5500 and tell me what room you stayed in. Upon receipt of this review I sent multiple people from two different departments to check all rooms on the first floor and after hearing their feedback I need your help in clarifying some things. As you can see from the many reviews listed prior to yours what you experienced is not something we hear very often if ever. However we take complaints very seriously so I really want to get to the bottom of it. I am truly sorry you had trouble sleeping and I look forward to speaking with you.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
209 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I wasn't sure what to expect as I booked this room as an overnight when attending a wedding there. What a pleasant surprise. The hotel was beautiful; a perfect balance of antique and modern. I felt like I was a personal guest in a millionaire’s mansion. The staff was very welcoming, the room was spacious and the amenities in the room were excellent. I loved walking around the property and observing so many little details that make the Madison Hotel special. The room also comes with breakfast included in the morning. My only minor recommendation would be to have some type of hot breakfast entree available such as an omelet station or the like. The price value for what you receive here is excellent. This hotel is a great example of slow down and take the time to smell the roses. If you do you'll really enjoy the Madison Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaloneBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your business and your feedback. We appreciate it and hope that you will visit us again for either meals, an overnight stay or both, In an effort to keep the price reasonable we do not offer hot items on the complimentary breakfast but as you know you are hard pressed to go away hungry with what we do offer. However if you would like something hot the restaurant offers
a full assortment of breakfast items for a nominal fee. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayonne, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel is so elegant. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. We really enjoyed staying here and will be back! The amenities are incredible and the breakfast was just perfect. Staff is friendly and I'm so glad we chose the Madison Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to your return.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central PA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Started out looking at booking price elevated $100 over last week's price. Price dropped at 5 pm day before, really wanted to try this place. Turns out there was a big wedding going on, inflated the price. Some guests arrived at lobby at 11 pm and were turned away.
Huge parking lot, 2 min walk to NJ Transit Convent Station- 1hour to NY with no changes. Pool & Gym great, 2 restaurants, 1 casual, 1 formal. Free breakfast a little light. Bed was fantastic, slept great. Quiet, safe neighborhood. Unlike a chain, great history, antiques everywhere. Even 2 railcars! Probably beautiful at the holidays. Will return if the rate is right.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hogandoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We were thrilled to read you were pleasantly surprised and look forward to having you as a guest again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ (the hotel does look quite beautiful during the holiday season and we decorate the day after Thanksgiving so please plan on returning in early December - the lobby, ballroom and Conservatory are stunning).

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

One of the best Hotel stays I've ever had. We were greeted at the door by a bellman who was happy to greet us warmly and load our bags. The warmness continued once we checked in the front desk staff was also welcoming and friendly. We were greeted with delicious cookies and tea in the front lobby. The bellman saw us to our room, unloaded our bags, and wished us a nice stay.

The room was lovely. It was extremely clean and beautifully furnished. We had more than enough towels in the bathroom, a magnifying make up mirror, and beautiful granite sink and counter tops.

When setting up a wake up call, we spoke to an actual person at the front desk. At the time of our wake up, again an actual person was on the other end of the phone with a great wake up call to include the forecast, breakfast times, and other useful information. Breakfast was a simple continental breakfast but more than adequate.

As for the Hotel, it was on beautiful grounds with well manicured lawns. The reason for our stay was a wedding. The wedding was held in the conservatory -- a beautiful setting, the food was absolutely delicious. To continue the theme of great service, the wait staff and bartenders serving the wedding were fantastic.

Whether going for a wedding, or just to visit historic Morristown, you will love your stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you had an opportunity to attend a wedding at our hotel and very pleased that you enjoyed yourself. A wedding at the Madison Hotel truly is special and I am glad it lived up to the billing. We appreciate the comment that it was one of the best hotel stays you have ever had and found the guestroom lovely and extremely clean. Please stay with us again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ. We look forward to you returning to your home away from home.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have to say that the Madison Hotel is absolutely my favorite hotel that I've ever say that. That says a lot. The service is beyond compare. The feel of the hotel is conveniently located in historic Morristown, New Jersey. The hotel is charming. We stayed in the suite but I'm sure all of the rooms are very well appointed. They served a wonderful buffet breakfast at no charge. All in all, I would not hesitate to recommend that you try this hotel as you first choice when staying in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjs21255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your business and the fact that you would not hesitate to recommend our hotel. We were thrilled to read you found the hotels service beyond compare and the complimentary breakfast wonderful. We look forward to having you as a guest again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morristown
1.6 mi away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Morristown
Hyatt Regency Morristown
#4 of 5 in Morristown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
1.2 mi away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#3 of 5 in Morristown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Morristown Inn
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
5.2 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hotel

Property: The Madison Hotel
Address: 1 Convent Rd, Morristown, NJ 07960-6922
Region: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morristown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
#1 Business Hotel in Morristown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Madison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Morristown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing