We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portscatho
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pollaughan Holiday Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portscatho
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amazing!”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We had the most fabulous holiday here, could not fault it. The cottage was perfect for both adults and children, we had all the equipment and toys we needed for the two babies and little girl in our party and Tim and Valerie were so helpful throughout our stay. The finishing touches when we arrived were lovely and thoughtful, plus the cottage was spotless and the bed was so comfortable we considered taking it home with us! I loved the green ethos of the Farm, made easy with separate bins concealed in the kitchen, the provision of eco friendly detergents and a recycling area on site. Everything was extremely well thought out, the children being catered for with the animal feeding and the safe garden to play in, where as the adults get the benefit of the lovely kitchen and living space to relax in. The Roseland is a beautiful part of the world and we loved exploring the local beaches. We felt as if it was a home from home and can highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just had our 7th - or is it 8th - trip to Pollaughan and realised that we had never shared our experiences. We are lucky enough to be extremely well travelled - both for business reasons and by having family based in many continents - but there is something very special that brings us back here time and time again. As others have said there is the quality & comfort of the accommodation, the location and the eco-credentials. But more than that, it's the ideal balance of attention to detail, the little personal touches, noticing what is important to you plus a remarkable ability to leave you to your own devices in just the right way that make Tim, Valerie and Lowenna the most charming of hosts. (not to mention Mungo, Dottie and other friendly animals)
Our two children have grown up with Pollaughan: This is a great - and safe - location for children to wander, potter, play and explore - for our city centre kids to be out of sight somewhere in a field, on a trampoline or on the tennis court is a core part of this holiday. Each visit brings something new - often on a recommendation from Tim and Valerie - and the opportunity to repeat our favourites.
This last trip was made even more enjoyable by the Jubilee garden party complete with our own flotilla on the duck pond (bring your own boat made from recycled materials!)
Comfort, community and constant attention to detail make this a top recommendation

Room Tip: All 3 barns are lovely and have their own charms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwardsInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We cannot recommend Pollaughan Farm enough. The barns are beautifully decorated, well equipped and extremely comfortable, especially the beds. We have been staying here at least once a year for several years now and always have a fantastic time. The only difference on the last two visits is that we took our baby daughter. The first time she was just 2 months old. This time she was almost 7 months. Valerie and Tim always provide lots of baby equipment so you don't have to use up valuable space in your car. This time there was a cot, a three wheeler buggy, a highchair, changing mat, baby bath, reclining chair AND lots of toys. They really think of everything.
It's those little touches that make this place so special. Another great thing if you have small kids is the morning animal feed run. Farmer Tim feeds the ducks, chickens and goats every morning and your little ones can help. Even though our daughter is too small we still went along as she loved watching. And we were lucky enough to see two lambs that had been born just 3 hours earlier.
Valerie and Tim are very welcoming and the farm is situated in one of the most beautiful parts of Cornwall with so much to do nearby from gardens to beaches. The barn we stayed in also has a lovely garden which is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the splendid view.
We had a fantastic week with sunshine every day. We'll definately be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mopster99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My fiancée and I have just had a thoroughly enjoyable 1 week break at this wonderful place. What a find! From the off, I felt this was going to be a very special holiday and I was not disappointed as the stay progressed. Tim and Valerie were extremely welcoming and accommodating and it's clear they are doing something very right. The set up was just gorgeous - everything that previous reviewers have commented on is true. It really is an up-lifting experience to wake up in such beautiful surroundings and to feel so alive. An added plus was that we were able to take our little dog (a miniature schnauzer) which made all the difference. All the more so because dogs are allowed onto the local beaches during low season (until Easter). The location of the farm is perfect as a launch pad into the immediate vicinity and further afield. Cornwall really has something for everyone - a county that must be one of the most idyllic in England. It's obviously a long drive from London but so worth the effort. We were without children but I cannot imagine a better place to come as a family (+/- pet/s). It appeared to me that there are several other B&Bs and farm-based accommodations in the area but I did not feel the need or desire to check them out. When you hit upon something so good, there's just no point really. I would definitely return - with or without children. My one and only gripe and I feel almost blasphemous in saying this, is that I found the bed in Meadows rather too soft and insufficiently supportive for my back. I do suffer with intermittent back pain and I need a really firm mattress. Unfortunately, I did wake up on occasions with a rather sore aching back as a result. However, this soon passed as we started our daily activity of coastal path walking etc. So just one tip: perhaps it's time to replace the mattress and/or entire bed in Meadows. I can't speak for the other cottages obviously. As I say, a minor gripe and this did not detract from the overall fantastic experience we had, in no small part due to Tim and Valerie's special brand of local Cornish magic. They truly deserve their success. The proof of the pudding is that my Finnish fiancée (currently living in Helsinki) now officially loves Cornwall and wants to move/live there! PS: I've deliberately left an Impossipuzzle in Meadows. Have a go. I did it in about 1.5 hours.... :-)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capri_lover2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed at Pollaughan for a long weekend and were delighted. We have stayed in many holiday cottages and Pollaughan stands out for many reasons: the quality of the accommodation, furnishings, beds, bathrooms but above all for the warm welcome (and I don't just mean the home-made cream tea on arrival!) We felt we had superior customer service to friends who stayed in expensive hotels in the area..I would recommend to anyone, families and couples, with or without children.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVBNorthamptonshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Pollaughan farm is THE BEST cottage we have ever stayed in. Tim and Valerie have got it very right.
Please do book here if you would like a holiday that will live with you for ever.

Room Tip: There all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithmale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Just returned from our 4th trip here. The place is brilliant, the cottages are lovely and well equiped and perfect if you have kids. Valerie and Tim lay everything on for you and nothing is too much trouble.

Each morning Tim or Valerie take the kids round to feed the ducks, goats, pigs and chickens then collect the eggs. Our two little ones (under 2 and 4) live for this and are eldest has done nothing but talk about this place since we first went over 2 years ago.

Valerie offers some catering which they deliver to your cottage and the food is fantastic. They put arrange of toys and garden toys in each property to keep the kids going between animal feeding times.

This place is completely setup to give you a fantastic holiday experience, with so much thought and love put into it by the owners.

I can not recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAPMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portscatho
0.4 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Rosevine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.8 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pollaughan Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pollaughan Holiday Cottages

Property: Pollaughan Holiday Cottages
Address: Pollaughan Farm | Portscatho, Portscatho TR2 5EH, England (Formerly Pollaughan Farm)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > Portscatho
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portscatho
Hotel Class:4 star — Pollaughan Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pollaughan's luxurious self-catering cottages have been lovingly restored with this very special environment in mind. The relaxing little farmstead is a peaceful escape and paradise for wildlife lovers .Daily animal feeding for small children to enjoy,an All Weather Tennis Court,Home Cooked Suppers and Breakfasts delivered to your cottage, relaxing environment for small children with everthing here to allow you to pack light, plenty of space and peace for adults and couples to unwind and explore....open all year ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pollaughan Holiday Cottages Portscatho, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing