We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect family holiday! "Better then Centre Parcs"”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portscatho
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pollaughan Holiday Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portscatho
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Well what can I say...this has been the best holiday I have ever had!

On arrival we were greeted by the lovely Valerie who showed us to our cottage, The Farmhouse, and my Husband and I were so surprised at how gorgeous it was. Real 'home from home' We had books, toys, fudge, a bottle of wine, shortbread biscuits, a cream tea, bouquet of flowers and little chocolate bunnies left on our beds.

Everything that you could possibly need for children was already here, potty, toilet seat, bath toys, bed guard, stair gate and a pushchair!

The Farmhouse is so spacious and has an open fire which we enjoyed relaxing in front of a number of evenings.

The children couldn't wait to see farmer Tim every morning to feed the animals, and we got to keep some eggs every day which are delicious! My Daughter even told me that this holiday is "better then centre parcs!"

The locals are so friendly, and the rose land is such a beautiful part of the country, with rolling landscapes, clean beautiful beaches perfect for relaxing or rock pooling. Well stocked local shops and some fantastic restaurants nearby.

I want to go back already! In fact, I want to move there permenantly! :)

Thank you Valerie and Tim

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Court_naomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

We have stayed at Pollaughan 4 times so far. We love it. The cottages are all very comfortable and very well equipped. All have fantastic views and their own private gardens.The attention to detail is great: books to read, toys and games for the children, DVD's to watch, comfy super-king sized beds, en suite bathrooms, squashy sofas, log fires, fully equipped kitchens, it's all provided.

Tim and Valerie are excellent hosts, there for you when you need them but never interfering. Valerie's cooking is superb and it is a real treat to stay 'self catering' and yet be catered for ! We nearly always have dinner delivered to us and have the luxury of an excellent meal, a bottle of wine and then a short walk to the sofa to watch TV with a coffee !

The farm itself is safe for children to wander round and to play. Each morning the children are invited to help feed the animals and collect eggs. Our son has made several friends each time we have visited and he often talks about his holidays here. Thank You Tim and Valerie.

Our abiding memory however, is that Pollaughan Farm is simply a fabulous place to relax and unwind. You can visit the tourist attractions, beaches, go on a walk or just sit and look out of the window at the gorgeous views of countryside and sea. You really feel like you have had a holiday when you come here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank liscolsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We tried moving our own furniture in piece by piece, but Tim and Valerie found it. Then we tried booking the house all year round, but the building society said that, on the whole, they'd prefer it if we paid off our mortgage. So I guess, that if we absolutely must, we're going to have to learn to share Pollaughan Farm with everybody else.

In the Roseland you'll find one of those classic English holidays that you thought had vanished some time around when we last won the World Cup Final. Coastal landscapes, night skies that go on or ever, hidden beaches and cottages that are straight out of the Famous Five, but with wi-fi and better telly. 



Then there's Tim and Valerie's encyclopedic local knowledge, to help you make the transition from holidaymaker to resident. They're faultless hosts, as relaxed as the countryside around them.

And if their patience has a limit, we haven't seen it yet despite presenting them with burned out barbecues, lost crabbing tackle, and the odd escaped chicken.



The morning animal feeding with Farmer Tim, the courtyard set up of the comfortable and well thought out barn conversions (the best we've seen in years of Cornwall holidays), the lake with its teeming wildlife , the fields for exploring or just chilling out, make it a faultless family holiday destination.

Out of the school break season, it's perfectly positioned for grown-up holidaymakers - walking, cycling, canoeing. You know, all the things you said you were going to do after the Olympics. 



PF has already become part of our family tradition and we'll be booked up for many years to come. See you there - but just not that cottage on those weeks thanks very much...

Room Tip: All the cottages are great - high standards. Select by the number of rooms you need and you really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

My family had an absolutely wonderful stay at Pollaughan farms. Even though the weather didn't cooperate for our trip, the farm was still beautiful and relaxing. The two toddlers on our trip absolutely loved feeding the animals every morning (so did I!) and are still talking about Farmer Tim. Though I usually find myself homesick at the end of a long vacation, I actually found myself feeling a little heartbroken have to leave Pollaughan and go home! I loved being greeted by sheep bleating and chickens clucking, and watching out for the little ducklings that wandered about freely outside our cottage.

Our group took up 3 of the cottages (Willows, Meadows, and Fallow) and each house looked just as pictured on their website. Plus, the cottages were stocked with tons of children's toys and books and little potties for our currently potty training tikes. I had brought books and toys with me, but I didn't even take them out of the suitcase.

It is difficult to find child-friendly accommodations especially for such a large group as ours (16 in total!) and we considered ourselves extremely lucky to find such a gem at such a great price. I would absolutely stay here again, though unfortunately because it is such a long journey from the US, this might not be any time soon. Sigh.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank askmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We had the most fabulous holiday here, could not fault it. The cottage was perfect for both adults and children, we had all the equipment and toys we needed for the two babies and little girl in our party and Tim and Valerie were so helpful throughout our stay. The finishing touches when we arrived were lovely and thoughtful, plus the cottage was spotless and the bed was so comfortable we considered taking it home with us! I loved the green ethos of the Farm, made easy with separate bins concealed in the kitchen, the provision of eco friendly detergents and a recycling area on site. Everything was extremely well thought out, the children being catered for with the animal feeding and the safe garden to play in, where as the adults get the benefit of the lovely kitchen and living space to relax in. The Roseland is a beautiful part of the world and we loved exploring the local beaches. We felt as if it was a home from home and can highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just had our 7th - or is it 8th - trip to Pollaughan and realised that we had never shared our experiences. We are lucky enough to be extremely well travelled - both for business reasons and by having family based in many continents - but there is something very special that brings us back here time and time again. As others have said there is the quality & comfort of the accommodation, the location and the eco-credentials. But more than that, it's the ideal balance of attention to detail, the little personal touches, noticing what is important to you plus a remarkable ability to leave you to your own devices in just the right way that make Tim, Valerie and Lowenna the most charming of hosts. (not to mention Mungo, Dottie and other friendly animals)
Our two children have grown up with Pollaughan: This is a great - and safe - location for children to wander, potter, play and explore - for our city centre kids to be out of sight somewhere in a field, on a trampoline or on the tennis court is a core part of this holiday. Each visit brings something new - often on a recommendation from Tim and Valerie - and the opportunity to repeat our favourites.
This last trip was made even more enjoyable by the Jubilee garden party complete with our own flotilla on the duck pond (bring your own boat made from recycled materials!)
Comfort, community and constant attention to detail make this a top recommendation

Room Tip: All 3 barns are lovely and have their own charms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdwardsInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We cannot recommend Pollaughan Farm enough. The barns are beautifully decorated, well equipped and extremely comfortable, especially the beds. We have been staying here at least once a year for several years now and always have a fantastic time. The only difference on the last two visits is that we took our baby daughter. The first time she was just 2 months old. This time she was almost 7 months. Valerie and Tim always provide lots of baby equipment so you don't have to use up valuable space in your car. This time there was a cot, a three wheeler buggy, a highchair, changing mat, baby bath, reclining chair AND lots of toys. They really think of everything.
It's those little touches that make this place so special. Another great thing if you have small kids is the morning animal feed run. Farmer Tim feeds the ducks, chickens and goats every morning and your little ones can help. Even though our daughter is too small we still went along as she loved watching. And we were lucky enough to see two lambs that had been born just 3 hours earlier.
Valerie and Tim are very welcoming and the farm is situated in one of the most beautiful parts of Cornwall with so much to do nearby from gardens to beaches. The barn we stayed in also has a lovely garden which is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the splendid view.
We had a fantastic week with sunshine every day. We'll definately be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mopster99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pollaughan Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pollaughan Holiday Cottages

Address: Pollaughan Farm | Portscatho, Portscatho TR2 5EH, England (Formerly Pollaughan Farm)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > Portscatho
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portscatho
Hotel Class:4 star — Pollaughan Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pollaughan's luxurious self-catering cottages have been lovingly restored with this very special environment in mind. The relaxing little farmstead is a peaceful escape and paradise for wildlife lovers .Daily animal feeding for small children to enjoy,an All Weather Tennis Court,Home Cooked Suppers and Breakfasts delivered to your cottage, relaxing environment for small children with everthing here to allow you to pack light, plenty of space and peace for adults and couples to unwind and explore....open all year ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pollaughan Holiday Cottages Portscatho, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing