We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pollaughan Holiday Cottages
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Portscatho
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
The Rosevine(Rosevine)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftwood Hotel(Rosevine)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rising Sun(St Mawes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Idle Rocks(St Mawes)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tresanton(St Mawes)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nare(Veryan in Roseland)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
55
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimal feedingperfect hostsevery morningcream teasconeson arrivalfal riverthe wood burning stovebarn conversionunderfloor heatingbottle of fizzplaces to visitfurther afieldpeaceful locationmany thanksyoung childrena wonderful holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

This was our first time staying at Pollaughan Farm, however it certainly won't be our last. We stayed here with our 2 daughters who are 4 years old and 5 months old, and was our first family holiday with a newborn.

Tim and Valerie are excellent hosts. Our daughter especially enjoyed the routine of feeding the animals with Tim in the morning, she felt very grown up. It also felt like an extremely safe place, our daughter would often go off with her friend (or rather boyfriend as we like to tease) that she'd made to see the goats and horses. She also loved being taken across the fields to go an see Percy and Phillip (the donkeys).

Because it was my wife's birthday when we arrived Tim and Valerie had left her a little present in our cottage ready for our arrival, which was very sweet of them.

Valerie's cooking is amazing. Whilst we only ended up taking advantage of the breakfast, they were superb and we do regret not having tried one of her evening meals as well. Tim's local knowledge is obviously brilliant and he's more than happy to give you any advice or tips you could wish for on lovely places to go and most importantly whether a particular walk / place would be good for your children depending on their ages.

Whilst our other daughter was to young to get quite as much from it, she did often let out little squeaks of delight whenever we approached one if the many varieties of animals on the farm.

The accommodation was superb and the setting was brilliant. You also get a great 3G phone signal and the wifi was brilliant (always handy when trying to make plans and research places).

Part of me almost didn't want to leave a review. Not because Tim and Valerie don't deserve it, but because this place is already so popular I don't want to hamper our chances any further of being able to find available weeks over the coming years (especially as our daughter starts school in Sieptember). However that wouldn't be fair, either to Tim and Valerie or to all those unlucky people who haven't yet stayed at Pollaughan Farm.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bristolsaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We keep returning year after year to Pollaughan Farm, Our last visit in May this year was for 2 weeks and we go back September for another week! You really appreciate the tranquillity of Pollaughan and the amazing countryside the farm sits in. You can walk across the fields and come across a lovely beach or walk in the opposite direction and find the lovely Fal river, down the road is St Mawes and Portscatho both with great places to eat! The cottages are all furnished to the highest standard with all the comforts of home, complimentary WiFi is available if you need to look up information for the area and events taking place; Valerie makes a lovely Cornish cream tea which is ready on arrival along with other goodies. If you like Tennis, Pollaughan has its own full size outdoor tennis court and for the kids or adults that like to be big kids trampolines. The wildlife ponds that have been created have matured nicely over the last few years, they really are great to walk around in the day and early evening watching wildlife do it's magical thing like Mother Nature intended. If you need a total unwind from town or city life, Pollaughan is the place to go, it is one of the best places we have visited.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wiganuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My husband and I chose Pollaughan farm to take our two girls away for a Holliday. Our girls are 15 months and 3 years and both loved the stay. Tim and Valarie really are great welcoming hosts and could not do enough for you.

We stayed in the farmhouse and it was lovely, the house has a great secure garden and the toys provided were a very nice touch. The bed in the master bedroom in the farmhouse is Devine- both my husband and I agreed that we have never slept in a more comfortable bed whilst away.

The daily feeding of the animals was enjoyed by our girls and we cannot wait to return. We have stayed in many places- post and 'pre children' and pollaughan farm is a great escape. We enjoyed the local quiet beaches and found the local area had so much to for families and adults alike.

Thankyou for a lovely stay Tim and Valarie and we look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed at Pollaughan Farm with our two young children as part of our honeymoon, and it was the perfect family getaway. We stayed in Meadows cottage, which was large and spacious inside, with the added benefit of an enclosed garden for the kids to play in that overlooked the duck pond.

Everything we needed for a family holiday was supplied, such as a highchair, children's kitchenware, a variety of books and toys, and even a trampoline in the garden, all of which made for a happy and relaxing stay. As it was our honeymoon Tim and Valerie were even kind enough to leave a card and gift for us on arrival - a really thoughtful touch we greatly appreciated.

Indeed we soon found that nothing was too much trouble. We had delicious homecooked meals delivered straight from the Aga to our doorstep on days when we didn't want to cook, and we were lent a child carrier backpack for days out rather than us have to carry our buggy on and off the ferry. Feeding the animals with Farmer Tim was a particular highlight, which soon became a morning ritual and a daily highlight for our son, who progressed from not wanting to go near the goats to confidently feeding the largest of them within the week.

Combined with a perfect location close to beautiful beaches and unspoilt countryside, Pollaughan is a real gem.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Well what can I say...this has been the best holiday I have ever had!

On arrival we were greeted by the lovely Valerie who showed us to our cottage, The Farmhouse, and my Husband and I were so surprised at how gorgeous it was. Real 'home from home' We had books, toys, fudge, a bottle of wine, shortbread biscuits, a cream tea, bouquet of flowers and little chocolate bunnies left on our beds.

Everything that you could possibly need for children was already here, potty, toilet seat, bath toys, bed guard, stair gate and a pushchair!

The Farmhouse is so spacious and has an open fire which we enjoyed relaxing in front of a number of evenings.

The children couldn't wait to see farmer Tim every morning to feed the animals, and we got to keep some eggs every day which are delicious! My Daughter even told me that this holiday is "better then centre parcs!"

The locals are so friendly, and the rose land is such a beautiful part of the country, with rolling landscapes, clean beautiful beaches perfect for relaxing or rock pooling. Well stocked local shops and some fantastic restaurants nearby.

I want to go back already! In fact, I want to move there permenantly! :)

Thank you Valerie and Tim

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Court_naomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews