We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Delight in March”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portscatho
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pollaughan Holiday Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portscatho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekend Delight in March”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Four families from Bristol planned a secret trip for a dear friends big 50th birthday. The hosts Tim and Valerie couldn't have been more attentive! Cake and champagne, chocolates hidden in the rooms for the children, bottles of wine for each family.
Brilliant facilities and a great weekend!

Room Tip: All cottages are lovely and if travelling with other families there are plenty are options for rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValeriePenny, Owner at Pollaughan Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thankyou for giving us such a glowing review which is much appreciated - the layout of the cottages and the setting here at Pollaughan provides such a great enviroment for friends/family holidaying together as there is so much space to spread out both inside and out ! Knowing in advance it was a very special booking and a surprise for the 50th birthday girl meant we could pull out the stops and I believe that despite my being unable to be there that weekend Tim's first ever attempt at a birthday cake was a huge hit !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Peter Port, Guernsey
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We've just returned home from Christmas break in Pollaughan. One of the best Christmases ever. Warm & welcoming hosts, lots of farm animals for our 2 year old to get excited by, beautiful converted barn and close to lovely village pub. What more could you want?

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed for an all too short week with our 3 year old twins. The set up is great, huge beds places to wash sand off, buckets and spades to borrow, trampolines, trikes, wood burning stoves, and everything you could need in a kitchen. The animal feeding was a highlight, and Farmer Tim was very patient, as were the chickens. (there isn't a real zebra chicken, it's just speckled black and white).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodham, Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This was our third year at Pollaughan. As we're already Pollaughan converts it's hard to add to the reviews you can read for yourself on the site.

This year we had the added benefit of wall to wall sunshine.

Valerie and Tim continue to keep the cottages and farm in top condition. The farm has a new (second) pond, with ducks that seemed to lay endless eggs (we got one every morning after animal feeding).

We liked the flowers and scones on arrival. We stayed in the Old Farm house - which we like because it has a large lounge and a traditional farm kitchen. The other cottages have a second bathroom - the descriptions are really accurate on the web site so you can see what you are getting when you make your reservation.

Valerie tells me that next year there will be an additional room which you can rent in an annex to the main farm. So if you're staying and want grandparents to stay too it could be an ideal solution for you.

Room Tip: The web site descriptions are accurate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

This was our first time staying at Pollaughan Farm, however it certainly won't be our last. We stayed here with our 2 daughters who are 4 years old and 5 months old, and was our first family holiday with a newborn.

Tim and Valerie are excellent hosts. Our daughter especially enjoyed the routine of feeding the animals with Tim in the morning, she felt very grown up. It also felt like an extremely safe place, our daughter would often go off with her friend (or rather boyfriend as we like to tease) that she'd made to see the goats and horses. She also loved being taken across the fields to go an see Percy and Phillip (the donkeys).

Because it was my wife's birthday when we arrived Tim and Valerie had left her a little present in our cottage ready for our arrival, which was very sweet of them.

Valerie's cooking is amazing. Whilst we only ended up taking advantage of the breakfast, they were superb and we do regret not having tried one of her evening meals as well. Tim's local knowledge is obviously brilliant and he's more than happy to give you any advice or tips you could wish for on lovely places to go and most importantly whether a particular walk / place would be good for your children depending on their ages.

Whilst our other daughter was to young to get quite as much from it, she did often let out little squeaks of delight whenever we approached one if the many varieties of animals on the farm.

The accommodation was superb and the setting was brilliant. You also get a great 3G phone signal and the wifi was brilliant (always handy when trying to make plans and research places).

Part of me almost didn't want to leave a review. Not because Tim and Valerie don't deserve it, but because this place is already so popular I don't want to hamper our chances any further of being able to find available weeks over the coming years (especially as our daughter starts school in Sieptember). However that wouldn't be fair, either to Tim and Valerie or to all those unlucky people who haven't yet stayed at Pollaughan Farm.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bristolsaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiganuk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We keep returning year after year to Pollaughan Farm, Our last visit in May this year was for 2 weeks and we go back September for another week! You really appreciate the tranquillity of Pollaughan and the amazing countryside the farm sits in. You can walk across the fields and come across a lovely beach or walk in the opposite direction and find the lovely Fal river, down the road is St Mawes and Portscatho both with great places to eat! The cottages are all furnished to the highest standard with all the comforts of home, complimentary WiFi is available if you need to look up information for the area and events taking place; Valerie makes a lovely Cornish cream tea which is ready on arrival along with other goodies. If you like Tennis, Pollaughan has its own full size outdoor tennis court and for the kids or adults that like to be big kids trampolines. The wildlife ponds that have been created have matured nicely over the last few years, they really are great to walk around in the day and early evening watching wildlife do it's magical thing like Mother Nature intended. If you need a total unwind from town or city life, Pollaughan is the place to go, it is one of the best places we have visited.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wiganuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My husband and I chose Pollaughan farm to take our two girls away for a Holliday. Our girls are 15 months and 3 years and both loved the stay. Tim and Valarie really are great welcoming hosts and could not do enough for you.

We stayed in the farmhouse and it was lovely, the house has a great secure garden and the toys provided were a very nice touch. The bed in the master bedroom in the farmhouse is Devine- both my husband and I agreed that we have never slept in a more comfortable bed whilst away.

The daily feeding of the animals was enjoyed by our girls and we cannot wait to return. We have stayed in many places- post and 'pre children' and pollaughan farm is a great escape. We enjoyed the local quiet beaches and found the local area had so much to for families and adults alike.

Thankyou for a lovely stay Tim and Valarie and we look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portscatho
0.4 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Rosevine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.8 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pollaughan Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pollaughan Holiday Cottages

Property: Pollaughan Holiday Cottages
Address: Pollaughan Farm | Portscatho, Portscatho TR2 5EH, England (Formerly Pollaughan Farm)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > Portscatho
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portscatho
Hotel Class:4 star — Pollaughan Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pollaughan's luxurious self-catering cottages have been lovingly restored with this very special environment in mind. The relaxing little farmstead is a peaceful escape and paradise for wildlife lovers .Daily animal feeding for small children to enjoy,an All Weather Tennis Court,Home Cooked Suppers and Breakfasts delivered to your cottage, relaxing environment for small children with everthing here to allow you to pack light, plenty of space and peace for adults and couples to unwind and explore....open all year ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pollaughan Holiday Cottages Portscatho, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing