We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to stay somewhere in Devon...look no further!”
Review of Percy's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Percy's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virginstow
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you want to stay somewhere in Devon...look no further!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I wanted to get away for the weekend and decided to try out Percy's Hotel. From the moment I arrived until the time I drove away I was well looked after and found myself completely relaxed.

Travelling alone can sometimes be difficult and daunting but not at Percy's; the friendly, intimate environment was suitable for everyone, and it made for a really fabulous time. I was staying in the Lavender Room and I certainly made the most of all of the facilities, including the double Jacuzzi hot tub, the coffee machine and the fluffy dressing gown. Nothing was over the top (no shower cap, cotton buds and shoe shiner on offer) however the comfort was certainly there and I did not find myself wanting for anything.

After a stroll around the grounds and sitting quietly by the ponds for a while, watching the fish and birds go by, it was time for the main event; the award winning 4 course dinner. What a treat it was! Tina's cooking/chefing is out of this world and the majority of ingredients used is local, fresh and very well flavoured. As a veggie of 25 years it is easily one of the best meals I have had at a restaurant; well seasoned, good ingredients, great presentation and just the right combination of carbs and veg. I completely trusted the fact that there was no contamination happening behind closed doors and, having spoken to Tina (and having read her book) she is someone who can use good ingredients well and understands how foods work together. The 4 course meal was fabulous and I was left completely satisfied and not uncomfortable.

The nights sleep was the best I have had for a long time with a really comfortable bed, good heavy curtains to limit the light (but not unnaturally blacking everything out so you woke up not knowing what time it was) and total peace and quiet.

Waking up to my alarm (something I don't often do!) the slow start, and no requirement to check out early, meant I could get to breakfast without having to wake up 40 mins before hand to shower and pack...instead it was a leisurely start, where I could leave the packing until I was ready.

And what a breakfast! Delicious! Fresh, tasty and well prepared. Every flavour bursted in your mouth and it set me up for the day!

On leaving I couldn't resist buying Tina's cookery book (which she signed for me) in an attempt to recreate some of her ideas. I also treated myself to a beautiful sheep skin rug-maybe not very veggie friendly some might say, but at least I know that the animals will have been lovingly looked after by Tina and Tony.

All in all I would recommend Percy's to anyone needing a relaxing get away or just a meal out with a difference, someone wanting luxury but not pretentiousness whether alone, in a group or in a couple. You really won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Peace and quiet, fantastic food, friendly staff, friendly animals, nice walks in the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PercysOrganic, Owner at Percy's Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you Emily so much for such a brilliant review. It was a great pleasure to meet you and to talk with you. So pleased that you were able to enjoy the grounds as well as the food. We look forward to seeing you again in the not-too-distant future with your friends and remember - if you have any questions about recipes or tips just drop me a line or call and I shall be more than happy to advise.
Best Wishes and have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    9
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
15
103
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gatlinburg TN
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

To find a gem like this in this part of England is not easy, but boy is is worth it! Being from the states, we found the countryside beautiful, even driving on the wrong side of the road! Spent 4 glorious days there....playing with the animals, walking in the woods, seeing a horse get broke for the first time.....and so much more! We were treated like royalty by Tina and Tony. They are very nice and down to earth. The food was some of the best that I have ever had.....period! Wonderful presentations of just fresh, flavorful food. Great bacon and lamb, which are directly from their working organic farm, and the organic greens that graced every plate were delicious. The wine list is varied and Tony always has a good suggestion to pair with the evening meal. Full bar is available too. Be prepared to gain a few pounds, I know I did! Our room was comfy and clean and it was great to have a fridge. The bed was heavenly! I don't know if we will ever return to this part of England, but if we do, it will be to go back to Percy's!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travels4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina2105, Owner at Percy's Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a glowing review. Serious apologies for the narrow, winding roads to get here but pleased that you were able to master the other side of the road without incident. Should you visit again, we shall dig out some exhilarating walks on Dartmoor for you to work up an appetite and soak up the views before sitting down to dinner. Good luck with all your future travels. Very much hope to see you both again in the future. Take care, T & T BW.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just returned from a 2 day stay over the bank holiday weekend. A very pleasant and relaxing break. As others have mentioned Percy's is a working farm and comes with the associated charms (you will be welcomed by a tail wagging Labrador and perhaps a goose!). The accommodation is contemporary, spacious and well equipped (the double whirlpool bath is a real treat).
The food is excellent, with a huge emphasis on organic and sustainable sources many of them local. The menu is a set 4 courses changing daily. We have no criticism of this, just let tony know if there is something you don't eat in the morning and they will adapt the menu. The hosts Tony and Tina will make you feel exceptionally welcome and provide as much assistance as they can. Someone has previously commented on Tonys manner, I simply can't believe it. He is friendly, knowledgable, welcoming and has a great dry sense of humour (if you want to be pandered over like a tourist in Florida then go there instead!).

We would recommend Percy's to anyone. A great weekend indeed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina2105, Owner at Percy's Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Many thanks indeed for such a great review. We cannot always guarantee the weather over the Bank Holiday weekends, but we do try to get everything else right as far as possible. So pleased you enjoyed what we try to achieve and very much look forward to seeing you both again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Often to you to nice places, nice hotels with nice food and you feel uncomfortable. The people are are so far up their own rears, you feel on edge and dont relax.

Tina and Tony and Percy's couldnt be further from that. Relaxed atmosphere, but nothing is too much trouble. Food that is simply devine. Reasonable wine prices.Rooms which are very nice (not cutting edge) but very clean.

We had an issue in the room, but Tony sorted it... and the most important thing was .. he cared. In fact, that is the reason i give this review such a good mark. These guys care about you when they visit them.. that in my books goes a long long way

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisseyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina2105, Owner at Percy's Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hello ChrisseyBoy - thanks for the great review and reference to the wine prices as well. We do try to do our homework on the wines (the bi-annual tastings are a real chore...) in fact we had a tasting just last week and have some tremendous new wines on the list. Very much look forward to seeing you both again when you are in the area. T & T BW.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopsteignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We went to Percy's for 2 nights not entirely sure of what to expect, but willing to give it a try, and this is what you need to do if you want to get the best out of the place. Percy's is also a working farm with the restaurant being located in the farmhouse and the rooms in a restored barn across the car park. On arrival we had to wait a short time in the comfortable lounge as Tina and Tony were both busy on the farm (it was lambing time), but this was part of the charm of the place. We walked around the estate (wellies available for borrowing) and found the whole place very tranquil, especially with the lambing going on.

We knew that the menu was a 'no choice set menu', but were happy to put our trust in top chef Tina. Tony went through the menu when we arrived to ensure we were happy with it and would have changed something if there had been a problem. The food was fabulous with scallops and fish on the first night and local lamb on the second night. Everyone eats at a single sitting and it was nice to sit and chat with other guests in the lounge before dinner. Although there were only 3 tables being used, it felt very comfortable and the meal flowed through the evening without feeling rushed or slow.

Percy's has a personal feel with Tony serving all the drinks and food both for dinner and breakfast. It was also very nice that Tina took the time to come round discuss what was going on with the farm and about how they source the organic food.

We had a very enjoyable weekend and were well rewarded for being open-minded and taking a chance on something a little different to the normal hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina2105, Owner at Percy's Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thanks very much for taking a chance on us. Glad you enjoyed the experience. Lambing all done and dusted now and the little beauties are growing well. We both really appreciate your lovely comments. Hope all is well with you and hope you are enjoying the mixed summer weather.
Very much look forward to seeing you both again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at Percy's last Saturday and had a great break. It is so peaceful and you are made to feel very welcome (the dog even took us for a walking tour of the estate!). The food is all organic and is absolutely amazing, I can't remember a better meal anywhere. Breakfast the following morning was equally impressive. This is such a relaxing place and I can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBean123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina2105, Owner at Percy's Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Many thanks for the glowing recommendation - very much appreciated. Really pleased you enjoyed the food - it makes all the hard work that much more rewarding! Hope to see you again in the future. Best Wishes from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We dined here but did not reside.
The whole atmosphere did nothing to make for a relaxed meal.
All dinners were gathered in the lounge and then ushered all at once into the dining room.
There was no choice at all on the menu and service was painfully slow.
Tony, our host appeared either painfully shy or miffed that we didn't order any bottles of wine.
At no time were we led to feel at ease.
However, the aim of our visit was to sample excellent food. We were not at all disappointed but will not return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Weymouth27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina2105, Owner at Percy's Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to dine at Percy’s. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal. We are however acutely disappointed that you were unaware that we offer a no-choice menu. We have made every effort to state this clearly on the restaurant page of our web site. We did ask you at the point of booking, if you had any dietary requirements, food allergies or dislikes and prepared a menu for you according to the information you gave us. At Percy’s, we do not cook in advance and re-heat – everything is freshly prepared and cooked to order, our vegetables, herbs and salad leaves are picked just an hour or two before service and we generally encourage diners to eat at 7.30 or shortly thereafter. On the evening you dined with us we had our own organic loin of lamb as a main course. This is a whole loin of lamb, cooked in one piece and then carefully sliced into portions. We do not cook individual portions of this. Your reservation was for 7.30 as were the other eight bookings we had on the evening of your visit.

The second point you made was about the service being ‘painfully slow’. This was certainly not the case. The wait was due to the fact that we were waiting for the other eight diners to arrive before we started dinner service, which they duly did, at, shortly before or shortly after 7.30. The wait you had was before dinner due to the fact that you arrived approximately 45 minutes early for your 7.30 reservation. Had you requested a table for 6.45, we would not have taken the booking, as this is not how we are geared.

We have three lounges, one downstairs in the bar area and two upstairs. You chose to sit upstairs by yourselves with your drinks before dinner. The other eight diners all sat downstairs and chatted to each other, which is a normal everyday occurrence at Percy’s.

Tony has never been accused of being ‘shy’ and was certainly not ‘miffed’ by the fact that you only drank mineral water and a cider for the duration of the evening.

Considering the circumstances, we feel that your criticism over the service is a little unfair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginstow
5.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
4.3 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
12.2 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
20.5 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Percy's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Percy's Hotel

Property: Percy's Hotel
Address: Coombeshead Estate, Virginstow EX21 5EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Virginstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virginstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 50-acres of stunning countryside, streams and woodland, the panoramic views extend over both Bodmin moor and Dartmoor. This luxury privately owned country hotel offers peace and tranquility in a relaxed and informal environment with extensive organic kitchen gardens and 50 acres of pasture & woodland. Unpretentious dining, free Wi-Fi and parking. Dogs welcome in some of the rooms.Hotel awards include South West Small Hotel of the Year for two years running and runner up for Small Hotel of the Year for Great Britain. Each of the 7 en-suite bedrooms has its own unique character. All of the rooms are spacious and are equipped with king size beds, Egyptian cotton linen and fluffy towels and robes as standard. What they do share however is a homely ambiance infused with luxurious touches and comforts. Every room includes complimentary Wi-Fi access, flat screen TV, DVD player, designer toiletries and much more besides. There is a range of room types available, from Standard, Superior and Deluxe options as well as one suite.Among the many restaurant awards, an article written by by Giles Coren gave Percy's 9/10. Diners are well looked after and are treated to a culinary experience to remember. Specializing in modern British cuisine, everything is cooked to order beautifully presented. Flavoursome rather than fussy, all dishes are made from the very finest locally sourced or homegrown organic ingredients. Lamb & pork are reared on the Estate and the kitchen garden provides vegetables, herbs, salad leaves. The two orchards provide apples which are juiced and offered to guests for breakfast.The peaceful surroundings and excellent grounds make Percy's an ideal venue for special celebrations and private hire. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Percys Hotel Virginstow
Percy's Hotel Devon/Virginstow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing