We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jolly Brewers Travel Lodge
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I booked for one night without reading reviews so before i went there i read them and was really concerned and wondering if i should go there.However i was very pleasantly surprised..we had a twin bed room , very clean, comfy beds with lovely pillows,clean bathroom lovely shower.nice white towels and toiletries provided..ample tea and coffee and biscuits.our friends had 2 rooms booked and were pleased with theirs too.nice pub friendly atmosphere, very near to the Rhodes complex,also the town was a short walk.The only thing that i missed was not being able to have breakfast there, apart from that a most enjoyable stay. There was noise occasionally from traffic and people going past in the night but being on a main road you expect this.

Room Tip: we had room number one, no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martysfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

Great value for money. Unusual pub motel, modern rooms, old pub with all the benefits of both.
My wife and I loved it Clean and tidy Very friendly and helpful staff. Best place for us we will always use when we visit our daughter in bishops stortford

Room Tip: room 6 is big and best value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

I was a little shocked to see how close the pub and rooms were to the road with people spilling out onto the pub forecourt and children running feral amongst the cars and by the rooms. ( this went on until late evening). The pub may not be affected by the Stanstead flight path however, it is still the noisiest place I've ever stayed. LOUD music until late, people arriving home noisily until the early hours and because of its position on the main road there were scores of pub and club goers passing by. The carpets were worn and filthy, the wall had big holes in and the shower barely worked! I haven't sleep a wink and would never return. Waste of money!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank Penzumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

no frills but no fuss and great value
rooms and beds good size and bathroom just what I needed after a horrible business day
parked outside my room and later went into the pub , was made very welcome, and enjoyed every minute.
Recommend it

Room Tip: ,phone the pub 01279836055 and talk to James who was very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed for three nights which included a weekend. The staff are OK but superficially friendly if you can find them. The rooms are not in a 'quiet location', the main road with buses and cars run all night so do not expect to sleep, the road is next to the rooms. There is a night club 5 minutes walk away and at the weekend all you hear all night are the drunks. The rooms have showers but the basin for the shower was not clean it needed a good scrub. The beds are quite hard and there are no duvets but sort of thick blankets. No breakfast and no food in the evening. If all you want to do is sleep avoid we found better places in the middle of the town. Vastly over-priced for what it is.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christiane666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I booked to stay here the night before flying from stansted, its a quirky little pub with the accomadation in chalets outside and there is parking the rooms are spotlessly clean we had a couple of drinks in the pub which does not do food in the evening but it is only 5 minutes walk from the town centre where there are plenty of places to eat. It is only a 10 minute drive to the airport as well so convenient

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarets3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

These rooms are situated in a lodge alongside the Jolly Brewers pub. Excellent compact accomodation with comfy beds very clean bathroom and all the comforts of home. The pub is a little tired but what you expect from an old world pub. Manager is very welcoming and I couldnt fault the rooms. Great for town ..just a few minutes walk from the centre. Parking is right outside your room and there is no need to go into the pub if you dont want to as there is no formal check out. You just leave when you want. I will stay again when I next visit the family

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busycitybreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Stortford
1.5 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
561 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
443 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grange Guest House
Grange Guest House
#4 of 10 in Bishops Stortford
47 reviews
0 mi away
The Chase Inn
The Chase Inn
#1 of 1 in Bishop's Frome
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Brewers Travel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Brewers Travel Lodge

Address: 170 South Street, Bishops Stortford CM23 3BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Bishops Stortford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bishops Stortford
Price Range: £58 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolly Brewers Travel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Jolly Brewers Travel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing