We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Just what I needed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jolly Brewers Travel Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jolly Brewers Travel Lodge
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just what I needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

I don't like poor standards, (and I've stayed in some in Bishops Stortford), and I don't like all of the fuss of a posh hotel. The Jolly Brewers proved to be just the ticket.
The rooms were modern and clean, the pub was warm and friendly, and the staff were excellent.
I'll be back

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    17
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
8
15
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stansted
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Rooms are uncomfortable and loud. Not clean. The pub is open until the early hours in the morning and the traffic and buses pass all night. Heating and hot water are not reliable. We also had an issue with smothing nasty biting us over night. Certainly not worth the money. No breakfast and they claim to be near a leisure centre, this is over a foot bridge next to the station and membership is needed. Day tickets can be bought, at least a hot shower can be found at the leisure centre.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Christiane666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bishops Stortford hotels

essex
Level Contributor
82 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

I booked for one night without reading reviews so before i went there i read them and was really concerned and wondering if i should go there.However i was very pleasantly surprised..we had a twin bed room , very clean, comfy beds with lovely pillows,clean bathroom lovely shower.nice white towels and toiletries provided..ample tea and coffee and biscuits.our friends had 2 rooms booked and were pleased with theirs too.nice pub friendly atmosphere, very near to the Rhodes complex,also the town was a short walk.The only thing that i missed was not being able to have breakfast there, apart from that a most enjoyable stay. There was noise occasionally from traffic and people going past in the night but being on a main road you expect this.

Room Tip: we had room number one, no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martysfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Great value for money. Unusual pub motel, modern rooms, old pub with all the benefits of both.
My wife and I loved it Clean and tidy Very friendly and helpful staff. Best place for us we will always use when we visit our daughter in bishops stortford

Room Tip: room 6 is big and best value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

I was a little shocked to see how close the pub and rooms were to the road with people spilling out onto the pub forecourt and children running feral amongst the cars and by the rooms. ( this went on until late evening). The pub may not be affected by the Stanstead flight path however, it is still the noisiest place I've ever stayed. LOUD music until late, people arriving home noisily until the early hours and because of its position on the main road there were scores of pub and club goers passing by. The carpets were worn and filthy, the wall had big holes in and the shower barely worked! I haven't sleep a wink and would never return. Waste of money!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank Penzumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

no frills but no fuss and great value
rooms and beds good size and bathroom just what I needed after a horrible business day
parked outside my room and later went into the pub , was made very welcome, and enjoyed every minute.
Recommend it

Room Tip: ,phone the pub 01279836055 and talk to James who was very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansted
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed for three nights which included a weekend. The staff are OK but superficially friendly if you can find them. The rooms are not in a 'quiet location', the main road with buses and cars run all night so do not expect to sleep, the road is next to the rooms. There is a night club 5 minutes walk away and at the weekend all you hear all night are the drunks. The rooms have showers but the basin for the shower was not clean it needed a good scrub. The beds are quite hard and there are no duvets but sort of thick blankets. No breakfast and no food in the evening. If all you want to do is sleep avoid we found better places in the middle of the town. Vastly over-priced for what it is.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christiane666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Stortford
1.5 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton London Stansted Airport
Hilton London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Brewers Travel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Brewers Travel Lodge

Property: Jolly Brewers Travel Lodge
Address: 170 South Street, Bishops Stortford CM23 3BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Bishops Stortford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bishops Stortford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolly Brewers Travel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Jolly Brewers Travel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing