We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but...”
Review of Woodlands Lodge

Woodlands Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bishops Stortford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodlands Lodge
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Clean but...”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Not the traditional English B & B it looks like, but it was spotlessly clean. I arrived late (- even later than expected having been taken around BS by the Sat Nav which took me to the wrong end of Dunnmow Road) - and left very early so can't comment on the breakfast. In my efforts to find the place I rang them but gave up on the difficult conversation in which the guy didn't understand me and I couldn't understand him. It was cheap and did have an en suite but the plumbing was shocking. I suspect that the shower which was clearly marked 'this must not be connected to the mains' probably had been connected to the mains because it was either scalding hot or freezing cold. I gave up on the idea in the end. It was very convenient for Stanstead..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    7
    7
    18
See reviews for
10
5
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The location is fine no problem with that although a more visible sign could be useful especially when arriving at night (maybe a light above the sign). It was cheap so I wasn't expecting much but I would've at least like to have had an ensuite bathroom rather than having to share 1 that didn't lock in the corridor (I checked by the way and there was no mention that the bathroom wasn't ensuite on the website. Staff were friendly enough but their knowledge was basic. I was shown to my room but something basic like what time breakfast was got forgotten. I arrived fairly late so I asked where the nearest store was. The best answer I got once I'd convinced him the pub wouldn't still be serving food was turn right and drive for about 7mins (if I'd done that i'd have gone right through the town as it isn't that big! Cleanliness was satisfactory and the bed felt fine although luckily I'm a sound sleeper otherwise the noise from upstairs would've kept me awake (very thin walls and ceiling - all couple take not if you're bothered)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgmtnluk15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We booked to stay here two nights - one when departing from Stansted and again upon return before driving up to Darlington. Be aware - the picture on Tripadvisor is not of the property. We booked here due to its close proximity to the airport, the advertised £5/day parking charge and the 'chargeable airport transfer'.
There is a car park; no problem. But it's £8/day (upon closer inspection of the booking confirmation it does say this, but it also says £5 in a bold 'additional information' paragraph.) We asked the proprieter about the airport transfer - he said 'you can get a taxi. It will be about £15 but I don't really know as I don't get taxis.' Hmm.
The rooms are very basic (no toilet roll, shower either scalding or baltic, broken curtain rail), but you get what you pay for and we only paid £45.
Turns out on a Bank Holiday taxi drivers charge time1/2, so the 'airport transfer' (self-booked) was £18. We parked in a residential street to avoid the £8/day parking charge and came back (on the bus, in the rain) to a parking ticket...oops (but cheaper than the parking!)
As we didn't want to stay in the hotel again and we felt let down and misinformed we returned there to speak to the proprieter. We pointed out the misinformation. No cancellation, no refund, no apology, no customer service...After 15 minutes wrangling the man said 'you need to speak to my manager' (who wasn't there). We requested that the manager phoned us to discuss our dissatisfaction and under no circumstances should he simply charge the second night's stay to our credit card without even having the courtesy to phone. We have yet to receive a phone call, and yet to check our credit card bill.
DEFINITELY not recommended.
(Did this hotel change hands in 2009-ish? Decent reviews in 2009, big gap, terrible reviews in 2011.)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bishops Stortford hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We spent a night at the Woodlands Lodge Inn. It is very convenient for Stansted, a couple of miles up the road but you would not know it - the aircraft noise is distant but minimal. The Inn offers really good value for money. Our room was cosy with an en-suite, lots of hot water, tv, tea making facilities and a large bed which was a bit lumpy but we slept well.
The breakfast room was a bit spartan but a continental breakfast was included and we enjoyed toast, cereal, fruit and some cheese and cold meats. The staff were friendly and helpful.
If you are looking for a one night stop, this place is ideal. It is basic but suited our purposes , and as I said before - good for what we paid. I would recommend it - and Stansted is just up the road. There is also a largish enclosed car park in the front of the inn.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front overlooking the entrance and car park. It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I stayed overnight prior to an early morning flight at Stansted. The location of the B&B is good- 10 mins away from the airport..However I only stayed 7hrs and that was plenty. There are two things I expect from any decent hotel/bnb 1)a decent bed 2) A reasonable shower... This had neither. The mattress is really old- you can feel the spring coming through. I resorted to making a cocoon of the duvet, in order to have something comfortable to lie on. 2) the 'power' shower does 2 temperatures; freezing or boiling. Not what you need to be dealing with at 0330! Other downside..noisy road outside; no lightbulb in bedside lamp; NO TOILET PAPER provided!!
Seriously stay somewhere else!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRKCJs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

After reading other reviews we were a little aprehensive but we need'nt have worried -- it was good value for money and spotlessly clean. We had a family room which was spacious,warm and clean.Large bathroom with spotless towles and even an air freshner! Lots of tea,coffee and milk supplied. A few things need "tweaking" ----- reception and breakfast rooms are a little bleak and dreary ----- only one pillow on beds ---- chipped breakfast cereal bowls ----- sink plug in bathroom needed replacing --- cereals in wrongly labelled boxes --little things which would make a big difference if attended to. Proprieter was pleasant enough. All in all good value for money --- you get what you pay for!

Room Tip: All rooms will be near a busy road but there is double glazed so no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyfeetbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Stortford
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,512 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton London Stansted Airport
Hilton London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
506 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
1,967 reviews
4.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Lodge

Property: Woodlands Lodge
Address: Woodlands Lodge Dunmow Road, Bishops Stortford CM23 5QX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Bishops Stortford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bishops Stortford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing