We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at lunch”

Lakeside Restaurant
Price range: US$13 - US$39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Close to London's Stansted Airport and overlooking a picturesque lake, the Lakeside Restaurant is housed in the scenic grounds of the Great Hallingbury Manor Hotel. The restaurant itself is elegant yet friendly, and offers exciting twists on classic and modern dishes.
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Avoid at lunch”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Because it was close to Stansted I decided to go for lunch after waiting for a colleague to arrive after a long delayed flight. The Good Food Guide was complimentary. Beware of lunch. This was midweek in early December, but apart from a small group of office-workers on some kind of seminar break, with a little buffet laid on for them, there was no evidence at all of the 'Good Food Guide' style menu. In fact, the finest dining on offer was a steak. If not, bonjour burgers and sandwiches. The jovial manager bade us 'bon appetit', and in truth this was decent room service fare for eg a Holiday Inn. But in the deserted dining room, with quite absurd delays for us, the only customers, it felt a regular let-down. Who knows if this is in fact a decent place in the evenings, but daytime diners better take a detour unless they like canteen food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bravide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lakeside. No longer Antons”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

As it was our wedding anniversary, always book a good restaurant t celebrate. Previously, when this restaurant was ‘Antons’ remember the fine dining and great food we had enjoyed. So booked for Sunday lunch on the 14 October. Almost knew what we both were going to order, after looking at their on line menu. With wine etc. expected to pay over £50 each for our meal.

Arrived just before 2pm, to an empty and cold room. Although the tables were laid, my impression was that it was closed. Then someone called out from the kitchen ’yes, what do you want’. I replied ’I have booked a table for lunch, is this the main restaurant?’ ’yes, sit down and I will come out later’ was the reply. I’m sorry but this is not the kind of service I would expect from a good restaurant charging high prices. It seemed more like a café serving breakfast at £4 a head plus £1 for tea. So we walked out.

As a local I know plenty of good places to eat around Bishops Stortford. So we went to the Host in the town centre, and had a great lunch. For less than the Lakeside were going to charge.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackjHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
195 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Nice Food”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We went to celabrate a family occaisson, and found the food to be well cooked and tasty. The portion sizes were big, the only downside was the drinks prices, not sure if this is the hotels drink prices.

will definatly return at some stage this year

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally_Steve_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“sadly no longer Anton's”
Reviewed 15 May 2011

This was my favourite restaurant i've been several times, in the evenings, weekends, sunday lunch etc.. but sadly Anton has left.
The prices have come down & food good so still worth a visit, but not the same now ...

Visited October 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food and impressive presentation...”
Reviewed 27 January 2010

Great food and impressive presentation . The prices are high but reflected in the quality of the ingredients. The one dissappontment is the atmosphere and decor. The furniture and paintings look like something from an Argos catologue.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jjjall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakeside Restaurant also viewed

 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Lakeside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing