We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven”

Mountbatten - The Viceroy's Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$45
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Named in honour of the 1st Earl Mountbatten of Burma, the last Viceroy of the British Indian Empire, Mountbatten ��� The Viceroy���s Lounge is an upmarket Indian restaurant based in the pleasant town of Bishops Stortford. More upmarket than your average Indian restaurant, Mountbatten has an air of fine dining elegance more often experienced in European restaurants, the spacious dining room sleekly decorated in neutral tones and light wood, the tables dressed in pressed white linen. As you may well expect, the Mountbatten menu is nothing if not extensive, offering a wide range of Asian dishes, including a generous number of vegetarian options. In addition to a wide range of curries, both mild and spicy, you���ll find delicious Tandoori grills and less obvious specialties from the less mined regions of India, a real taste of Indian cookery with a gourmet restaurant touch. Need proof that this is probably Bishops Stortford���s best restaurant? Celebrity chef Jamie Oliver���s parents are regular visitors.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Haven”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Having been very badly treated and let down at The Yew Tree in Manuden we were tired and hungry after a long day and needed to find somewhere where we could sit down and try to find alternative accommodation.
We happened to chance on the Mountbatten purely by chance and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of food and service with a high standard of décor.
If I were to be in the area again it is certainly a restaurant I would visit again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    49
    10
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Ambience”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Always good, staff attentive. Food is well cooked and not overwhelming. Excellent choice of dishes and cooking styles. Everyone I've recommended has enjoyed it too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Africadivingagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful & rude service”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We visited here on my birthday & booked very early so we could take our 2 children 5.30pm. We were the ONLY people in at the time.
We sat ordered a starter & some drinks & twice the waiter tried to take our main order but we wasn't ready - we wanted to chill out & take our time.
The manager then came over at 6pm & said we need to be done by 7 as the table was booked again. We said no we booked at 5.30 so we could take our time & relax & didn't want to be on a time limit. This should have been said to us over the phone if that was the case. At least that way we could have had the choice to book elsewhere.
The restaurant was totally empty. The manager then came back & said we 'could stay' till 7.30pm. We said no thank you and asked for the bill straight away. ( which should have been complimentary I feel)
We told them this was my birthday meal & we were out as a family but they didn't care.
I personally think it was because they didn't want my children there - 6yrs & a 11month old. Never have I experienced such rudeness from a restaurant. We left at 6.20 & went to another restaurant that was accommodating to our family.
We order take aways once a week from here & have always recommended them - never again. I will be telling everyone about how shocking this restaurant and it's staff are.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrslikemyfoodalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Definitely one of the best restaurants I've been to in a long time! Very recommendable.”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Thanks!
Very Friendly Staff!
Great (!) food!
Lovely new looking restaurant in the green with plenty of parking space.
Enjoyed every minute.
Will definitely visit again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best indian takeaway, possibly ever!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

After recently moving to bishops stortford we have been searching for an indian takeaway. After trying a few others in the area we tried the Mountbatten and were not disappointed!

We ordered a takeaway on a bank holiday, expecting it to be a long wait, were pleasantly surprised to find it only a 15 minute wait. The food was unexpectedly good, the tarka dhal had great flavour, naan and pilau pretty good. The crowning glory was the lamb dansak with really succulent lamb (it literally just melts in the mouth) and with a good level of spice and the karahi chicken was so moist and full of flavour.

We will be returning again and its likely to become our regular indian! Would definitely recommend for a takeaway, or to sit in for a special occasion.

Helpful?
Thank rosierosa89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountbatten - The Viceroy's Lounge also viewed

Hoddesdon, Hertfordshire
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
 
Cheshunt, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Mountbatten - The Viceroy's Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing