We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exceptional food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coach and Horses

Coach and Horses
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“exceptional food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

a group of us ate here recently and we all found it to be very good indeed everyone really enjoyed the food they had and the service was outstanding im not sure about an earlier comment been made about not being baby friendly the staff could not have been more accommodating with my great nephew all in all a very good evening out.
thank you to all the staff and the owners of the coach and horses we'll be seeing you again soon I hope.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    126
    61
    28
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Hadnt been to coach and horses for a year or so. Decided to try it when we had a family get together. Lovely looking interior but that is where it ended. To be short and sweet the food was poor. I had the cheese burger which i found to be half hot and half cold , dry and the one piece of lettuce really made it look unappetising. Two weeks before i had the same meal at frank and bennys and belive me what a difference. There was 7 of us and i know that nobody was satisfied with their meal in fact the salad (1 piece of sad looking lettuce ) gave us all a good laugh. We are not the complaining types but im hoping that the amount of food we left and the fact we decided not to have puddings should have spoke for itself. We still left a tip for the hard working waitress who we couldnt fault however none of us will come back which is a pity.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely meal with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We had a super meal in the outside area. I shared the tapas planks with my friend and it was delicious! Efficient and friendly service in a lovely setting - I love the decor of the outside! Thank you

Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
190 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We called in to have a family meal. We found a nice table outside under the cover as it was a nice evening and ordered our drinks and food. The service was excellent, and whilst waiting for our food the heavens opened so we had to go inside as we were getting wet. The staff found us a table in the mayhem that had erupted due to the storm. The staff were brilliant and handled it all without any panic. When the food turned up it was hot and tasty.

All in all a great place for a meal with good food and excellent staff and service.
We will be back

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally_Steve_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I'm a chef with in the company and been told you should try this place out glad I did now, took my mum out for lunch we arrived at the pub and walked inside and first impressions was good we got seen to our table and browsed the menu I went for a mixed grill of the special
menu my mum went for a baguette we waited 15-20 mins and the food arrived and was very happy cooked just to my likening my mum enjoyed her meal to plus big portions to would come back here again.

Helpful?
3 Thank Guy1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coach and Horses also viewed

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing