We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great venue for drinks and dancing”
Review of The Waterlounge - CLOSED

The Waterlounge
Price range: US$13 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: The Waterlounge is the perfect place to enjoy a drink, share food and simply relax. Discover an eclectic tapas style menu, made only from fresh local produce, a fine selection of wines, speciality beers and a cocktail list that offers a unique twist on a classic theme. We love music and regularly host our most talented local bands and musicians.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great venue for drinks and dancing”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Mezzanine area in The Waterlounge (which we hired out) was the perfect location to begin my friend's hen party celebrations on a Saturday night. For the £50 reservation fee, we were provided with several platters containing a variety of nibbles (bread, feta and olives, crudites, dips, potato wedges, vegetable samosas and sticky beef). A lovely waitress (Millie?) regularly offered and brought us drinks, and our entire party was given a free shot each which was a really nice thought. We then went downstairs to the basement bar, where we were able to dance to the live music with people from all age groups! No one complained about us being loud or over the top, even when the bride-to-be tried to chat up the friendly doorman (Cyrie?) The atmosphere, the decor and the staff were exactly what we wanted for our night out, and I would definitely visit this bar again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graceygroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great cocktails!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We have visited as a group of 5 or more ladies for a few cocktails and tapas on a Thursday night. The cocktails are always excellent, and there is usually a buy one get one free offer. The tapas range from the traditional offerings to things that are a bit more modern (mini burgers!) but everything is always yummy. The service is good, although slower as the night goes on and the bar fills up!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AllyPally79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Midweek Meal and Cocktails”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Great place with cool decor & feel. Had one of their Tapas platters to share and it was fantastic. We also sampled their cocktails and they were very good and very strong!

Just a shame it was a bit quiet but then again it was a Tuesday early evening. Will be visiting again at a weekend to see what the atmosphere is like when busy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank EnzD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“something for over the over 30's”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have been here a few times with friends and it is really nice.
Its nice to be able to go somewhere in Stortford that doesnt feel like you are at a youth club! It has a lovely feel about the place, very informal and comfortable, which sofas and lit with lanterns.
The tapas is very good and think reasonable priced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Homeandeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Night out for the over 35,s”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

With so many venues now catering for the 18-25 age group it was a pleasant change to find somewhere that caters for the over 35,s. The majority of customers were in this age bracket, all in smart casual dress and enjoying being able to talk to each other without shouting. I felt very comfortable here. Although I did not eat the food being served look very appetising and presented well.I will be going back

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Waterlounge also viewed

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing