We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad end to a good trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“bad end to a good trip”
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Booked through laterooms as we decided we didn't want to travel back to London so late at night and totally now wish we had saved ourselves the £61 (£45 for the room and £16 for the return shuttle for two). First issue was that reception didn't answer the phone the first time we called and we couldn't figure out where to get the shuttle from Stansted, it was 10 minutes later they did answer. When we did get to the hotel we were advised we could only have a smoking room as the hotel was full. As Kiwis thsi was very surprising and disappointing as I wasn't even aware you could still smoke in hotel rooms, she told us it wouldn't be too smoky but for non smokers it was pretty disgusting. We were given an executive room, I'd hate to think what we would have got if it wasn't full. Room was freezing and no heating provided, luckily there were two double beds in the room and we piled on the other duvet. I was glad to leave in the morning, especially when the shuttle driver didn't even say hello. The place was cheap enough but I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    158
    113
    51
    51
See reviews for
111
164
40
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavern, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Days Inn Stortford is not the Hilton by any means but for the price of £75 for 2 nights this is good value and I would not hesitate to use this hotel again.
Location is superb if you have an early flight/late arrival from/to Stansted.
The shuttlebus is £4 each way and leaves every half hour.
The drivers are pleasant and cheerful.

Room was spacey and therer were a double bed and a sofa bed, perfect for two mates traveling togheter. Flatscreen Tv and coffe- and tea ammenties were nice. Bathroom also spacey, plenty of hot water and good waterpreasure. Some minor issues with noise in the shower tap and a couple of mould staines, but it didn't bother us. I contacted the hotel in advance to ask them to reserve a smooking room for me, and this was no problem.

There's not much to do in the area. You have to take a taxi if you want to explore Bishop's Stortford, but we never did that. A snackshop, KFC and Burger King located adjacent to the hotel. And do not confuse with Days Hotel on the other side of the road.

Staff were pleasant, rooms were more than good enough for the purpose of getting a good nights sleep. For £75 for 2 nights this is a bargain.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HansenStavern_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

The hotel is quite new and the rooms were clean. There are fast-food restaurants and minimart next door in the motorway services.

Hotel was close to Stansted airport about 8 mins drive, we were only staying over night as our flight was very early in the morning. The shuttle bus helped a great deal. The receptionist was very friendly, as was the shuttle bus driver.

We paid £37 per room + Shuttle bus £10 so what a great price for 4 persons.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Nice, clean, friendly hotel. Great if you have a flight the next day from Stansted. Went to dinner at the nearby Three Willows Pub - which was excellent. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire. UK
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

Since staying in this hotel we have laid a formal complaint with days inn due to the filthy bathroom which we have video proof of, easily cleaned. The staff member on duty could not have cared less, telling us to "write feedback". The saving grace of this hotel, and the reason it gets a 3 for service, was the lovely manager who arrived just as we were checking out, and gave us an immediate refund and changed all of our future bookings to the days hotel on the same site - which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bishops Stortford hotels

Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2009

I booked this at the last minute and was not too optimistic. However it more than exceeded my expectations.
Other reviews indicated that the shuttle bus is hard to find.. not so. The coach park is well sign posted and a quick call to the hotel confirmed the right bay. The driver was a wee star... friendly and pleasant. The trip to the hotel is free and 2 pounds for the return journey.
The timetable for the shuttle will not suit everyone but I am sure that staff would be able to recommend an alternative means of getting there if you gave them a call.
The journey time from Stansted to the hotel is about 10 minutes.
I was very tired when I arrived and not in the best of moods. I was checked in and in my room within about 5 minutes even though there were other guests to be checked in before me.
The room was spotlessly clean, a good size and warm. A nice touch is being able to control the heat in the room - much better than the 'too hot, too cold' arrangement in other establishments.
There's a bed, a sofa bed, tv (terrestrial channels only) a desk and chair. There was the usual selection of tea/coffee/mini pack of biscuits and a very unusual and very very welcome sachet of hot chocolate. More of that would be nice.
The bathroom was clean and well maintained and the shower powerful enough to wash away a days travelling.
There's no restaurant in the hotel but as it's located in a motorway services area, there are a few eating places within about 100 yards. There is nothing in the 'top class dining experience league' but the food is warm, fast, filling, reasonably priced and served with a smile.
In the hotel itself there are a selection of snacks available to buy at reception and a microwave for the more adventurous.
The staff at the hotel are exceptional. They are welcoming, efficient and friendly and have not been infected with that patronising and insincere attitude that seems to pass for customer service these days. They seem to be genuinely nice people! They make it very easy to like the hotel.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a convenient, value for money, quiet , clean and friendly hotel. It's by no means luxury but having stayed in a few high profile and 'luxury' hotels recently, I would recommend this one above them all. I left in the morning well rested and in a very good mood. If the staff read this, thank you!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siobhan_io
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Bute, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2009

We stayed at this Inn between flights and paid £45 for a double room. Breakfast was extra at £4.95 each for a continental. I see the previous review paid less with breakfast included. I can only assume this was a special offer which we missed
I can't fault this hotel, The rooms are lovely, well decorated, clean and modern with everything in good working order. The flush on the toilet is quite startling as it is the same as an aeroplane toilet in the way it flushes and is very loud. Not much really to complain about though and we had a very pleasant night there.
Also we were surprised to find that they have smoking rooms and that they are up to the same standard as non smoking rooms.. Something for smokers to note.
The shuttle bus cost us only £2 each to return to the airport in the morning and was free for our pick up the previous evening.
The staff we met, the lady on reception and the shuttle bus driver were very friendly and welcoming, chatty and down to earth. Definitely both a big asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anmariekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Stortford
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
530 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel London Stansted Airport
Novotel London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,207 reviews
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn London Stansted Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn London Stansted Airport

Property: Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Address: Birchchanger Green Service Area Dunmow Road | Welcome Break Service Area, Bishops Stortford CM23 5QZ, England (Formerly Days Inn Bishops Stortford M11)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Bishops Stortford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bishops Stortford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn London Stansted Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 minutes’ drive from Stansted Airport, this Days Inn is accessible from the M11 and provides free parking for guests. It offers rooms with private bathrooms and free Wi-Fi. Rooms at Days Inn Stansted Bishops Stortford include a TV, along with tea/coffee facilities and a hairdryer. Guests can make use of ironing facilities, and bathrooms provide toiletries. Continental breakfasts are available, and guests have access to the range of dining options at the motorway service area. Bishops Stortford Rail Station is a 10-minute drive away, while Bishops Stortford Golf Club is nearby, just 5 minutes’ drive away. Mountfitchet Castle can be reached in 10 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn London Stansted Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Bishops Stortford m11 Hotel Bishops Stortford
Bishops Stortford Days Inn
Days Inn Bishop's Stortford
Bishop's Stortford Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing