We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent continental breakfast, friendly helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
A Sunny Island
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Excellent continental breakfast, friendly helpful staff”
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We stayed here the night of 10th September. When we arrived at the services we went to the wrong Days Inn, there are two on the site, Days Hotel and Days Inn (we were staying at the Inn) which if you are staying in the Inn, you drive past the petrol station, keep going straight then you will see a marking on the road (faded) saying lodge and yyou turn left. On arrival check in was prompt and efficient (we were given our room key and a slip each to mark down what we wanted for breakfast). Our room (17) was on the ground floor, a short walk from reception. It had a double bed (very firm) and a sofa bed. The room had good lighting, a tv, tea/coffee making facilities, hanging/shelf space, hairdryer and trouser press. The windows do open. In the bathroom there is a bath with shower (fixed head) over, but quite powerful. The room itself was very large.

The next morning I noticed that a previous guest had left a pair of jeans which had fallen next to the sofa bed (I did inform reception), also that the shower/bath wash by the bath was out of supplies (I always travel with my own). The tv and mirror did have smears on them from where they had been cleaned and there was dust evidence around the lights by the bed.

Breakfast in the morning (continental, there is an option to upgrade to English and eat it at the service station opposite), but you collect breakfast on a tray from reception. It was a very good choice, you tick one item from each list. Our breakfast (2 people) selection was 2 crossiants, 2 boxes of cereal (there was a choice of cereals), milk, butter (you could have margarine), jam, walnut and honey yoghurt (muller's which are lovely, different flavoured yoghurts available), piece of fresh fruit, also fruit (we had mandrains in juice these were packaged with a spoon so we took them away to eat later), you could have cheese. We had one water and one oj. If you are not on a breakfast package you can buy a continental breakfast for £4.95.

Overall we would choose to stays at a Days Inn/Hotel if we were in the area again.

On the Friday evening we ate at the Three Willows pub. I will write a seperate review for them, but lovely meal (do book in advance though or turn up at 6 pm when they open and hope they can fit you in). Directions leave the hotel, at the first roundabout take first exit and at the second roundabout take 3rd exit...go straight along the road, there is a sharp bend, but carry on straight and you will find Three Willows on the right side. The food was lovely, our meals were fillet steak with chips and peas, also monkfish which was in a very light batter with sautes and salad (you have a choice of chips, sautes, boiled or jacket potato). Very friendly pub and extremely busy. We didn't have deserts, and a soft drink and bill was about 34.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quillingartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    157
    112
    51
    49
See reviews for
110
161
40
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaunas, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We have stayed at this hotel for our next day flight from London to Kenya and this was a good start for our holiday.

The location is close to Stansted airport, however you have to take the taxi which is approx. 12 GBP. The shuttle bus service is available in the morning and late afternoon which costs 4 GBP per person per one way trip. The location is quite and a bit remote so you have to use the taxi or the car if you want to go out for sightseeing / activities.

The hotel itself is very clean and the staff is friendly. There are fast food restaurants and minimarket next door, so dinning is no problem as long as you like fast food. The price we have paid (including breakfast) was high value for money.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone staying at Stansted airport for the next day flight. The price is very competetive compared to the other hotels in the vicinity.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gediminas_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Location: Flew into Stansted from Barcelona. Arrived in Stansted at midnight and was too tired to travel to central London. Made the decision to stay at Days Inn for the evening. Unfortunately, arrived too late to take the airport shuttle so paid 13 pounds for a cab to the hotel. The following morning used the airport shuttle, 4 pounds/person each way.

Hotel: You get what you paid for…we only paid 32 pounds for the night. We were not expecting luxury and luxury we did not get. The staff was kind and helpful. Breakfast was included. It was a very nice breakfast and a pleasant surprise. We were leaving the hotel at 6:00 am and they had our breakfast ready for us by 5:30am. The room was clean, smelled like an ashtray, but clean. I can’t complain it was only 32 pounds.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blessed16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed here overnight for our early morning flight at stanstead, a shuttle is provided to the airport this is 8.00 each per person. Room was very comfortable and clean. recpetion staff very helpful. Had a good nights sleep. Tea and Coffee facilities available in the room. Good value for money

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Booked through laterooms as we decided we didn't want to travel back to London so late at night and totally now wish we had saved ourselves the £61 (£45 for the room and £16 for the return shuttle for two). First issue was that reception didn't answer the phone the first time we called and we couldn't figure out where to get the shuttle from Stansted, it was 10 minutes later they did answer. When we did get to the hotel we were advised we could only have a smoking room as the hotel was full. As Kiwis thsi was very surprising and disappointing as I wasn't even aware you could still smoke in hotel rooms, she told us it wouldn't be too smoky but for non smokers it was pretty disgusting. We were given an executive room, I'd hate to think what we would have got if it wasn't full. Room was freezing and no heating provided, luckily there were two double beds in the room and we piled on the other duvet. I was glad to leave in the morning, especially when the shuttle driver didn't even say hello. The place was cheap enough but I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bishops Stortford hotels

Stavern, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Days Inn Stortford is not the Hilton by any means but for the price of £75 for 2 nights this is good value and I would not hesitate to use this hotel again.
Location is superb if you have an early flight/late arrival from/to Stansted.
The shuttlebus is £4 each way and leaves every half hour.
The drivers are pleasant and cheerful.

Room was spacey and therer were a double bed and a sofa bed, perfect for two mates traveling togheter. Flatscreen Tv and coffe- and tea ammenties were nice. Bathroom also spacey, plenty of hot water and good waterpreasure. Some minor issues with noise in the shower tap and a couple of mould staines, but it didn't bother us. I contacted the hotel in advance to ask them to reserve a smooking room for me, and this was no problem.

There's not much to do in the area. You have to take a taxi if you want to explore Bishop's Stortford, but we never did that. A snackshop, KFC and Burger King located adjacent to the hotel. And do not confuse with Days Hotel on the other side of the road.

Staff were pleasant, rooms were more than good enough for the purpose of getting a good nights sleep. For £75 for 2 nights this is a bargain.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HansenStavern_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

The hotel is quite new and the rooms were clean. There are fast-food restaurants and minimart next door in the motorway services.

Hotel was close to Stansted airport about 8 mins drive, we were only staying over night as our flight was very early in the morning. The shuttle bus helped a great deal. The receptionist was very friendly, as was the shuttle bus driver.

We paid £37 per room + Shuttle bus £10 so what a great price for 4 persons.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Stortford
0.1 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
530 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,655 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel London Stansted Airport
Novotel London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,202 reviews
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn London Stansted Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn London Stansted Airport

Property: Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Address: Birchchanger Green Service Area Dunmow Road | Welcome Break Service Area, Bishops Stortford CM23 5QZ, England (Formerly Days Inn Bishops Stortford M11)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Bishops Stortford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bishops Stortford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn London Stansted Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 minutes’ drive from Stansted Airport, this Days Inn is accessible from the M11 and provides free parking for guests. It offers rooms with private bathrooms and free Wi-Fi. Rooms at Days Inn Stansted Bishops Stortford include a TV, along with tea/coffee facilities and a hairdryer. Guests can make use of ironing facilities, and bathrooms provide toiletries. Continental breakfasts are available, and guests have access to the range of dining options at the motorway service area. Bishops Stortford Rail Station is a 10-minute drive away, while Bishops Stortford Golf Club is nearby, just 5 minutes’ drive away. Mountfitchet Castle can be reached in 10 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn London Stansted Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Bishops Stortford m11 Hotel Bishops Stortford
Bishops Stortford Days Inn
Days Inn Bishop's Stortford
Bishop's Stortford Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing