We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food, so much better than a pizza chain ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il giardino di Stortford - CLOSED

Il giardino di Stortford
Price range: US$0 - US$42
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A rustic hideaway in picturesque Bishop's Stortford, Il Giardino Di Stortford is a family-run Italian restaurant. Filled with rustic beams and a crackling open fire, the cosy dining room is reminiscent of a quaint, continental bistro. The diverse Il Giardino menu features a range of sumptuous antipasti, meats and fish.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely food, so much better than a pizza chain ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Great food, not fast, but fresh and with great service - again. Meat, fish, risotto all really good. If you want chain style pizza go elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank Sigmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    16
    6
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere and great service and all the food was all perfectly cooked. Fish special was devine. I would highly recommended. A must when eating out it bishop's stortford!

Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I had dinner at this lovely Italian family run business I found the service impeccable . I was very satisfied with food and the quality .I found it very clean and modern and a nice relaxing environment to be in the staff couldn't do enough for you . I do have one small complaint ,that there could be more choice on the menu as it did find it hard to choose but I ordered sea food spaghetti and was very happy with it I would of expected maybe some simpler dishes for the fussy eaters .. but overall very good I will be coming back .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paulrJ2761TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great place for a party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Having had some excellent meals here over the past few years, my father decided to hold his 80th birthday celebration at Il Giardino's and they did not let us down. As well as the wonderful food, cooked well from great ingredients, the staff were their usual very friendly selves with excellent service. They catered very well for the 30+ guests and couldn't do more to help us celebrate in good style, including making room for a jazz band and looking after them.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank timq1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Family dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Had a fantastic dinner last night with great wine. The food was excellently presented and the portions were great especially for 3 big grown men. Well done on turning this restaurant around. It is nice having a good quality restaurant to go to again. Thank you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PatG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il giardino di Stortford also viewed

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing