We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best breakfast in town!”
Review of H@ME & Eat

H@ME & Eat
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We believe we have something for everyone and a few surprises thrown in to make it interesting! If you dont like shopping but the other half insists on bringing you along, you'll be fine at HOME&EAT .....leave them to shop whilst you hang out in our restaurant in front of the fire, a cup of tea or coffee and a read of the papers! Perfect compromise!Breakfast, Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Loose Leaf Tea, Locally Roasted Coffee and Homemade cakesLook out for our evening events, Jazz Nights, Live Music
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Relaxed and welcoming atmosphere, the restaurant is nestled in an Aladinn's cave of furniture and home ware. The staff are fabulous, the food is amazing, lots of great breakfast choices, afternoon tea with home made cakes with vintage tea sets. I'm hooked! Ask the team members and they can open the side door for buggies/ wheel chair access.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yvette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieP92, Owner at H@ME & Eat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

wow! thank you so much! We show our reviews to our staff as this always helps with us improving as customer feedback is essential to us. It will be lovely to show them this one as they are all very hard working. We are building our team and employing more and more people so this is great to hear
Hope to see you again in store soon
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 198 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Well what can I say about Home & Eat its in the title homely relaxing atmosphere with Fantastic home cooked food and "To Die for mouth watering cake".
I recently celebrated my birthday at Home & Eat having afternoon tea with my friend and baby daughter, it was amazing well worth the money and the staff where so friendly making sure that my Little Girl had everything she needed.

The shop is fantastic selling all sorts of quirky bits and bobs beautiful furniture and bespoke design service.

Home and Eat is truly one of a kind I love its quirky originality and the fact that it caters for all ends of the budget scale offering value for money and friendly service.

All in all fantastic find that i enjoy visiting I am looking forward to visiting the new shop they are opening in Hertford.

Keep up the fantastic work Home and Eat Team.
Laura Trevor and of course Isla-Mae. xxx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieP92, Owner at H@ME & Eat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your birthday with your friends and family. Its always lovely to have little ones in and have a kiddies corner with books/colouring pencils/puzzles etc to help keep them occupied so mums and dads can have a bit of chill time
we look forward to welcoming you all back very soon
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Yummy cake and coffee and even toys for the kids. Then on the way out you can buy something fun for your house. A great place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Strawdolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieP92, Owner at H@ME & Eat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are family friendly and hope we have something for everyone including the kiddies to keep them occupied. Out Home store stock changes and new stock brought in weekly so there is always something different to look at
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Breakfast , lunch, tea and cake. Home and Eat is always fun and great value. The atmosphere is unique as it's always glitzy, buzzy and interesting and changes daily. I've even lounged on a Chesterfield over lunch tea and cakes for five hours with my best friend and why ever not? She has an hours journey to get there and won't go anywhere else. The evening functions are excellent. There is one complaint - there aren't enough of them. Looking forward to the new extended even glitzier venue. Bravo the staff, designers and management. Good stuff !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank V0yager66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieP92, Owner at H@ME & Eat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

I really enjoyed reading your review of us, thank you so much. This is exactly what we have in mind with our chesterfields for people and friends to gather and sit back and chill
Im also really pleased you have enjoyed one of our evening events. We try to host an event once every other month and hope to do more next year so watch this space
Thanks again and look forward to seeing you again very soon
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Such fabulous choice and range of unusual and usual goods to buy. Also superb restaurant food although a little cramped. Loved the whole ambiance of the place though

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janice658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieP92, Owner at H@ME & Eat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time and writing us this review. I have noted your comments at being a little cramped, during our busy times and especially if we have some large group tables in we do get quite busy. We are constantly moving furniture around to make it better and more user friendly so I hope next time you visit it will be better for you and I very much look forward to hearing you feedback - be sure to let us know what you think in person n the day
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed H@ME & Eat also viewed

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to H@ME & Eat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing