We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow a great find”
Review of H@ME & Eat

H@ME & Eat
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We believe we have something for everyone and a few surprises thrown in to make it interesting! If you dont like shopping but the other half insists on bringing you along, you'll be fine at HOME&EAT .....leave them to shop whilst you hang out in our restaurant in front of the fire, a cup of tea or coffee and a read of the papers! Perfect compromise!Breakfast, Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Loose Leaf Tea, Locally Roasted Coffee and Homemade cakesLook out for our evening events, Jazz Nights, Live Music
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wow a great find”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Really Kool place to relax and eat some great home made food .... Picked some great plants and a chair for the home ... Thanks

Helpful?
Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieP92, Owner at H@ME & Eat, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Thank you very much for your review and really please to hear you found some great pieces for your home
Hope to welcome you back soon
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    61
    20
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The best breakfast in town!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Relaxed and welcoming atmosphere, the restaurant is nestled in an Aladinn's cave of furniture and home ware. The staff are fabulous, the food is amazing, lots of great breakfast choices, afternoon tea with home made cakes with vintage tea sets. I'm hooked! Ask the team members and they can open the side door for buggies/ wheel chair access.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieP92, Owner at H@ME & Eat, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
wow! thank you so much! We show our reviews to our staff as this always helps with us improving as customer feedback is essential to us. It will be lovely to show them this one as they are all very hard working. We are building our team and employing more and more people so this is great to hear
Hope to see you again in store soon
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quirky Find.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Well what can I say about Home & Eat its in the title homely relaxing atmosphere with Fantastic home cooked food and "To Die for mouth watering cake".
I recently celebrated my birthday at Home & Eat having afternoon tea with my friend and baby daughter, it was amazing well worth the money and the staff where so friendly making sure that my Little Girl had everything she needed.

The shop is fantastic selling all sorts of quirky bits and bobs beautiful furniture and bespoke design service.

Home and Eat is truly one of a kind I love its quirky originality and the fact that it caters for all ends of the budget scale offering value for money and friendly service.

All in all fantastic find that i enjoy visiting I am looking forward to visiting the new shop they are opening in Hertford.

Keep up the fantastic work Home and Eat Team.
Laura Trevor and of course Isla-Mae. xxx

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieP92, Owner at H@ME & Eat, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your birthday with your friends and family. Its always lovely to have little ones in and have a kiddies corner with books/colouring pencils/puzzles etc to help keep them occupied so mums and dads can have a bit of chill time
we look forward to welcoming you all back very soon
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Yummy cake and coffee and even toys for the kids. Then on the way out you can buy something fun for your house. A great place!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Strawdolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieP92, Owner at H@ME & Eat, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are family friendly and hope we have something for everyone including the kiddies to keep them occupied. Out Home store stock changes and new stock brought in weekly so there is always something different to look at
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top Choice”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Breakfast , lunch, tea and cake. Home and Eat is always fun and great value. The atmosphere is unique as it's always glitzy, buzzy and interesting and changes daily. I've even lounged on a Chesterfield over lunch tea and cakes for five hours with my best friend and why ever not? She has an hours journey to get there and won't go anywhere else. The evening functions are excellent. There is one complaint - there aren't enough of them. Looking forward to the new extended even glitzier venue. Bravo the staff, designers and management. Good stuff !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank V0yager66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieP92, Owner at H@ME & Eat, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
I really enjoyed reading your review of us, thank you so much. This is exactly what we have in mind with our chesterfields for people and friends to gather and sit back and chill
Im also really pleased you have enjoyed one of our evening events. We try to host an event once every other month and hope to do more next year so watch this space
Thanks again and look forward to seeing you again very soon
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed H@ME & Eat also viewed

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to H@ME & Eat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing