We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay, very friendly welcome...”
other travellers have booked this property
Spellbrook Farm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spellbrook Farm
B & B to right of shot Irises in our large wildlife pond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Spellbrook Farm
B & B to right of shot
Irises in our large wildlife pond
Bedroom 1
Winston and William
Tez the turkey
Entrance arch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Reigatetr...
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay, very friendly welcome, beautiful garden”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed here with 3 generations of our family and the interconnecting rooms were just perfect. We liked the flexibility of having generous breakfast ingredients provided so we could eat early or late. The rooms were comfortable and well furnished and the children enjoyed having the run of the garden. The donkeys were a big hit! Margaret was very welcoming and friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and flexibility of accommodation
Liked least: Aircraft noise
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boycie296
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

this is our second stay at spellbrook, first November 2015 for 1 night and this time Saturday night 16th July 2016
On both occasions we were greeted by Margaret who is very friendly.
We have now stayed in both of the rooms available. They are very spacious.
They are in a separate building to the house and look out onto the garden, very private.
It's very quiet and my wife and I both had a good nights sleep. Breakfast is self catering. There is a fridge with bread, butter, jam, honey, orange juice, milk. Also toaster and coffee with cafetiere. Also cereal.
Very good value for money.
We visited the pub the Three horse shoes pub which is about 200yds down the road.
Also can recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay. It is always lovely to welcome guests back again.

Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C
Newport, Rhode Island, United States
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is a perfect spot for a base to see what is in and around this area. We stopped by with my 92 year old mum and 17 year old daughter and the accommodations worked very well. The gardens are very fragrant, the ducks who come by are friendly and the brook running though the grounds, "Spell Binding " . We found this to be very charming and the lady of the house could not have been more helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the ease of access for my mum who is 92
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Thank you so much Michael, you were fantastic guests. I have taken on board your suggestions and hope to see you again in the future.

Many thanks for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location, value for money and friendly owner.”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at this property at the start of a private castle tour around the UK with my son. The owner was very helpful and had even arranged some material to help with our trip. The unit was very comfortable and the side room with a single bed was great for my son. The unit was well equipped and it had a nice outlook in the countryside. Good Wi-Fi and comfortable beds. It was a good choice for our short stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and value for money
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Dear Ian

Glad you enjoyed your short stay. It was a pleasure to have you here and I hope the castle tour was really successful. We would love to see you again.

Best regards

Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isterlin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money with a warm welcome”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It is unusual for me to write a review whilst still staying at a place but this one deserves it.

Great value for money with a very accommodating host Margaret.

We are visiting family in the area and this is ideal as a location for jumping up to Cambridge or down to London. Great value for money with some very nice touches on arrival. Room has a fridge which Margaret stocked with Milk, Bread, Butter, fresh orange juice, chocolate croissants and perhaps most importantly a nice bottle of white wine!

Everything cleaned and tidied up on a daily basis.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
We loved having you here and hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferribyti...
North Ferriby
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great value Accomodation”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed as a family of 3 for 2 night in Mid May taking the room with extra bedroom for our daughter. It was ideal for taking the train to watch Hull play at Tottenham with great train links- the station is 5 mins away. The room was spacious with TV, microwave, toaster etc. breakfast was provided for you to have in your room with cereals, bread, milk, juice etc. lovely garden outside , plenty of parking. Didn't visit the donkeys but the dogs were friendly !
Margaret is a great host. Would recommend for a family of 3 looking to visit London or Cambridge etc. hope to be back when Hull are back in the premier league !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
It was lovely to have you staying here. Only a shame Hull didn't win the match on the day. Still, next time? Hope to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasabi7
2 reviews
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

It was a fantastic stay, place, location. Every thing was 5 stars. Margaret was a nice and helpful lady. She made us feel very comfortable.
Breakfast was lovely. We had many options. The power was cut for short time but it didn't really effect our stay. And Margaret offered a discount for us.
My children aged 2 and 5 years really loved rge place. It was very calm. We are looking forward to visit again. Highly recommended. And great value for money.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
You were a lovely family to host. Thank you for your understanding during the power cut. It doesn't happen often but is such a nuisance when it does. Please, do visit again in the future.

Best regards

Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing